Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2022, 06:22 PM   #1
codycowgill
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Rexburg
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Lost christmas tree remote

I have a rgb "holiday symphony" 600 led tree that I got for free but it has no remote which basically neuters the tree with just one color option and no music. The original remote is as 433.96 mhz rf remote. Here is the fcc link: https://fccid.io/2APJZ-PDT0093V.

The manufacturer is Polygroup and are absolutely no help. As they offer no replacements to the most easily lost part. All they gave me was the model number of the remote and said google it and good luck. Of course nobody is selling them. Anyways I provided pictures of the reciever motherboard along with the rgb controller daughter board.

My question is if there is anything I can do to program a new remote or add a manual button? I see that both the motherboard and daughter board have unpopulated "flash socket" connectors.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1231221706.jpg (1.04 MB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg 1231221707.jpg (681.2 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg 1231221706a.jpg (469.9 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 1231221708_HDR.jpg (570.3 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg 1231221708.jpg (689.1 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 1231221718.jpg (911.4 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg 1231221718_HDR.jpg (673.6 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 1231221718a_HDR.jpg (411.3 KB, 10 views)
codycowgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 07:55 PM   #2
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,801
Default Re: Lost christmas tree remote

Probably the effort needed to reverse engineer a new remote would exceed cost of buying another set... looks like everything is embedded in the remote logic/firmware.

Buy another one, copy remote, refund?
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 08:14 PM   #3
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,541
Default Re: Lost christmas tree remote

i would touch the right chip with a damp finger to see if i can get it to change to something i like . but that's just me before it gets thrown into the spares bin .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 09:45 PM   #4
codycowgill
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Rexburg
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Lost christmas tree remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
Probably the effort needed to reverse engineer a new remote would exceed cost of buying another set... looks like everything is embedded in the remote logic/firmware.

Buy another one, copy remote, refund?
I have looked at this solution but nobody sells them that has a respectable return system. All that do are out of stock.
codycowgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 09:46 PM   #5
codycowgill
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Rexburg
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Lost christmas tree remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by petehall347 View Post
i would touch the right chip with a damp finger to see if i can get it to change to something i like . but that's just me before it gets thrown into the spares bin .
By "right chip" do you mean guess which one and short two pins on it?
codycowgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2023, 02:46 PM   #6
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,558
Default Re: Lost christmas tree remote

I looked at the Polygroup CW001 manual and it has a wireless and a wired option. So I don’t think they make different boards for that. The remote and the corded option seem to have only one button to operate? If yours came with both, the remote and the corded option with the button, I don’t think the remote does anything different what the corded button does.

Your pictures I see a 24v GND and a TX pin? Where does that TX pin go? I guess it would help to see how this is supposed to look wired all up.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2023, 03:07 PM   #7
codycowgill
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Rexburg
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Lost christmas tree remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
I looked at the Polygroup CW001 manual and it has a wireless and a wired option. So I donít think they make different boards for that. The remote and the corded option seem to have only one button to operate? If yours came with both, the remote and the corded option with the button, I donít think the remote does anything different what the corded button does.

Your pictures I see a 24v GND and a TX pin? Where does that TX pin go? I guess it would help to see how this is supposed to look wired all up.
This tree is not the cw001 unfortunately. The manual is here: https://usermanual.wiki/m/55285c14cf...b6d2e5a3e6_pdf

The tx line goes into the daughter board on one end and then other tx or data lines go out the other end.

Wonder if there is a way to just hook a different controller to the existing led lights? They are rgb lights but arent "pixel" type.
codycowgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2023, 05:09 PM   #8
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,558
Default Re: Lost christmas tree remote

Yeah… I’d put a different controller on that if you can’t find a remote.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2023, 09:34 PM   #9
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,986
Default Re: Lost christmas tree remote

cross-posted here: https://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/t...remote.191165/
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?