Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2020, 03:52 PM   #1
pintglass
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Congleton
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 75
Default Rework station pcb design

Hi

I'm in the early stages of trying to build myself a rework station so I would like to keep things as simple as possible and also within reason cost wise.

Whilst doing some research on what others had done i came across a design that had been done in fritzing which i have attached. The person who designed this seems to have abandoned it as I am unable to contact him.

I couldn't get on well using fritzing so i have created a schematic from the fritzing layout.

There's quite a few component values that I'm not sure about, but for now if you guys can cast your expert opinion on whether I've draw the schematic correctly that would a great help.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Fritzing Rework station.pdf (219.9 KB, 26 views)
File Type: pdf Rework Station PCB1.pdf (26.7 KB, 29 views)

Last edited by pintglass; 01-23-2020 at 04:59 PM..
pintglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 06:03 PM   #2
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,582
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

Can I ask for the reason you want to design and build a rework station

Because you have struck some interest in me about this question about building one
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 12:45 AM   #3
pintglass
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Congleton
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 75
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

I've wanted to build one for ages's but never found the time, I mess around repairing game consoles and mobile phones so it would mainly be for that.

This is just a hobby for myself so an other reason is i enjoy making things and learning from it. At the moment I was just looking for some advice as to whether I've draw the schematic correctly, and as the original design is from an other hobbyist a bit of reassurance that the circuit wouldn't have any major issues, mainly on the A/C side.
pintglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 08:10 PM   #4
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,206
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

Do you know if the actual circuit is built and tested?
The TRIAC Gate drive/snubber R5 of 2.2K is way too high.
Read and study the ST application notes attached.
Power supply filter caps C5, C7 should be hihger value.
You should also have the 0.1uF ceramic close to VCC pin of each IC.
Thermo couple measurement circuit is also very questionable.
How well do you want to maintain the tempearture?
Study here:
https://www.analog.com/media/en/tech...otes/an28f.pdf
https://www.analog.com/en/analog-dia...ocouples.html#
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5aFSLzeLQ6c
Attached Files
File Type: pdf DM00451014.pdf (3.17 MB, 12 views)
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 12:16 AM   #5
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,036
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

Quote:
Originally Posted by pintglass View Post
I've wanted to build one for ages's but never found the time, I mess around repairing game consoles and mobile phones so it would mainly be for that.

This is just a hobby for myself so an other reason is i enjoy making things and learning from it. At the moment I was just looking for some advice as to whether I've draw the schematic correctly, and as the original design is from an other hobbyist a bit of reassurance that the circuit wouldn't have any major issues, mainly on the A/C side.
Consoles with large thick PCBs are very different to small delicate mobile phones.
I wouldn't even think about putting a phone on my Scotle (clone?) BGA rework station, it's far to large and powerful. I think you need to decide if you're making it for console/tv/laptop boards which will need a large bottom heater and large hot air/IR nozzle or for phones which will be a lot smaller and won't need nearly as much power.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 12:58 AM   #6
pintglass
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Congleton
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 75
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Do you know if the actual circuit is built and tested?
The TRIAC Gate drive/snubber R5 of 2.2K is way too high.
Read and study the ST application notes attached.
Power supply filter caps C5, C7 should be hihger value.
You should also have the 0.1uF ceramic close to VCC pin of each IC.
Thermo couple measurement circuit is also very questionable.
How well do you want to maintain the tempearture?
Study here:
https://www.analog.com/media/en/tech...otes/an28f.pdf
https://www.analog.com/en/analog-dia...ocouples.html#
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5aFSLzeLQ6c
Thanks for all the info.

According to the guys hackaday page he has tested it but I don't know to what extent.

https://hackaday.io/project/10541-di...rework-station

I would like to maintain the temperature as accurately as possible which i don't think this design will allow. I'm looking into changing the thermocouple circuit.
pintglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2020, 05:14 PM   #7
pintglass
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Congleton
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 75
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

Well I've been reading as much info on this as I can, but being honest alot of it goes over my head.
Anyway I was just going to order a few parts to have a mess around with but I'm unsure on the voltage rating of the ceramic snubber caps C1, C2 in my schematic.

Should these be rated for my line voltage peak?
pintglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2020, 07:33 PM   #8
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,582
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

You one of each of the following

https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-LCD-Dis...EAAOSwXRleLK3W

And one of these

https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Part-So...QAAOSwmdtd5Y2a

If you decide to use both of these items

Please let me know and I will help you hook it up

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 02-03-2020 at 07:36 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2020, 04:18 PM   #9
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,582
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

I thought about doing the same thing


If you buy one of these units
do a mod to and do a way with
air hose and pump and buy the soldering
iron and use the temperature sensor in it

Hook up you heater setup in place of the air pump and the heater in the handle

You would have a good temperature controller

ZD-939L


Hot air repair/rework stationwith LCD Display.
Features: internal air supply, stable temperature, comfort grip handle, interchangeable hot air nozzles for SMT devices.
LCD Display: "SET" Temperature & "Actual" Temperature of Nozzle
Selectable "C" or "F" Readings
Specifications:
Voltage: 110-130VAC 60Hz
Power input: 320W
Adjustable Air Flow: ~22L/minute(max)
Adjustable Air Temperature 150-500deg "C"
Sensor: Type K Thermocouple
Air Pump: diaphragm
Hose Length: 1m
Accepts most 22mm Nozzles.
Supplied Nozzles: ~10x10mm, 14x14mm, 2.5mm Dia & 4.5mm Dia.


You buy it here

https://m.reichelt.com/de/en/digital...LE=161632&&r=1

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 02-04-2020 at 04:26 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 07:35 AM   #10
pintglass
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Congleton
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 75
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

Thanks for the idea, but I don’t see how you would be able to control the rate of rise of temperature with this setup

I’m still doing more reading than anything at the moment and just making a circuit to use a
Ad8495 temperature ic which I think will be better than what I had in my schematic.

Last edited by pintglass; 02-10-2020 at 08:25 AM..
pintglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 11:09 AM   #11
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,036
Default Re: Rework station pcb design

I'm not able to see how a hot air station that's 320W can control a 600W top heating element.

Why not buy a PID controller, relay and thermocouple ?
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/220V-NEW-.../173982370797?
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?