Gigabyte P35 Boards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gigabyte P35 Boards

I spent the afternoon poking around these boards on their website. They are making a big deal out of polymer caps, so I guess they follow this board.

It appears if one wants to not have the ICH9R (raid) controller, and prefers the ICH9 (non-raid) version, then one cannot buy the Silent Pipe heat convection system. Pity.

Tom's Hardware has done some Intel processor testing using this board, and they seem to like it for stability. I have no experience with Gigabyte, so am posting it here. It looks like GA-P35-DS3L might be a real nice board for a hundred bux. Combine it with DDR2-800 (or faster) and an E6750, it should be a hefty machine for a modest outlay.

Anybody have thoughts on Gigabyte for general reliability?

Re: Gigabyte P35 Boards

Gigabyte seem to be quite decent. Just make sure that you get the newest firmware update.

In the past Gigabyte was a typical company that used bad caps. However now they use good caps and advertise it (they must have lost a fair amount of business due to general reliability issues that were caused by using bad caps).

Comment

Gigabyte cleaned up their act big time after the great P51 electrolyte fiasco.
      Some of their more recent boards use KZG but those are chemi-con and probably still thought to be good outside of places like badcaps.net.
      I've had two of the i865 variety and I was quite happy with them.
      Mann-Made Global Warming.
      - We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
      Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
      -
      You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
      -

Comment