ga-7vrxp rev 2.0

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ga-7vrxp rev 2.0

Need your help I have no experience in soldering when I tried to change the atx connector on my 7vrxp I burnt one of the leads and a few years later I stubled upon this website from a local forum. Then it sparked interest for my old board.

I have a little idea on electronics but very much a newbie on that regard.

It would boot and show posts and then the screen will go blank.

My motherboard's atx connector burned with my antec psu which came with my antec tower.

The pad that burned is pin number 8 and it's is the power ok signal.

I thought that the brown thing I removed was a diode but think I am wrong and it is a ceramic capacitor. If that is so I might have mounted it the other way around.

the yellow circle is the ground pin 7
    the maroon circle is the thing that I thought at first was a diode where it came from and where it is now
    the green circle is the power ok pin 8

I am going to recap it but I would like to know if the trace that I soldered on is correct, I just guessed it and which way should I install the thing I removed as marked by the brown circle.

I might have messed up the board but it works for a while

by the way I changed one 1000uF 6.3 capacitor to a licon because I managed to crush it while removing the atx connector.

I thought I could do it but I happened to burn the pads.

Thank you
    Attached Files

Re: ga-7vrxp rev 2.0

What do you mean with I happened to burn the pads? If you managed to burn both cpu and chipset thermal pads, you fried both mobo and cpu: they are dead, beyond any repair. If not, the explain your words.

Your board revision is 1.0 or 1.1? I ask because first revisions had trouble with agp graphic boards: they were unable to drive them correctly and often failed to post. According to Linux-Kernel ML, Gigabyte fixed this in the 2.0 rev by adding a capacitor (follow the link for details).