Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2008, 09:49 AM   #1
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

I acquired a used 2350 from a client who got a new machine. It was still working well, so I opened it up to do a recap and psu replacement. It is a 2.2 GHz P4, 100 FSB, i845 chipset, nothing particularly special.

Surprise, surprise... the board is populated with Rubycon MBZ. In a Dell. Go figure.

Even more surprising was opening up the 200w Mitec PSU and finding more Rubycon. The box is at least 5 years old and powered up 24 hours. No bulgers, no nothing. I'm still tossing out the PSU, due to age, limited power, and 80mm fans.

I'm reinstalling XP Pro on this machine and giving it to my rocker daughter.
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 10:26 AM   #2
zandrax
Hit and miss
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
City & State: Trento
My Country: Italy
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgavin
I acquired a used 2350 from a client who got a new machine. It was still working well, so I opened it up to do a recap and psu replacement. It is a 2.2 GHz P4, 100 FSB, i845 chipset, nothing particularly special.

Surprise, surprise... the board is populated with Rubycon MBZ. In a Dell. Go figure.

Even more surprising was opening up the 200w Mitec PSU and finding more Rubycon. The box is at least 5 years old and powered up 24 hours. No bulgers, no nothing. I'm still tossing out the PSU, due to age, limited power, and 80mm fans.
I'm not a fan of Willamette Pentium 4s ad the SDRAM is obviously a bottleneck for them - add slow to slow. It should suffice for audio recording if equipped with at least 512 MB of ram - save money for a good external sound card, such as M-audio, Motu, Terratec and others.
The psu is old but useful for any Pentium 2 or 3 configuration: try to sell or even gift it.

Zandrax
__________________
Have an happy life.
zandrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 02:06 PM   #3
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

I threw the old PSU out.

100 FSB and SDRAM is certainly not the fastest horse in the race, but the board is stable. It is more than sufficient to run Linux based servers for my business, or to give to my rocker daughter to handle MySpace and fan mail.

The machine has a gig of SDRAM installed, and I figure the $40 (discounted from the bill) was well worth it. I was quite surprised to find MBZ on the system board. Especially on a 5-year old Dell.
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 03:59 PM   #4
gg1978
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
City & State: Jamestown, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 117VAC, 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 422
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

A 2.2 P4 is a Northwood, as Williamette topped out at 2.0.. I thought the 2350's took DDR RAM, not SDRAM... I know i845 came in both SDR and DDR varieties...
gg1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 01:16 PM   #5
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

My very old version of CPU-Z reported the memory as DDR-SDRAM.

I ran the latest CPUZ and it reports PC2100 DDR installed, and yes it is a Northwood. I rebuilt it from scratch a few days back. Runs just fine. Yes, I have to read it more carefully...



I'm picking up a P4 2400/533 chip to see if it will run in this board. The board is a Mitac 07W080 manufactured for Dell.
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 05:40 PM   #6
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

I worked on my in-laws Dell 2350 last week (in Cali).
Same board.

While I know the chipset supports 533-FSB it I could find nothing to indicate the BIOS does. Any mention of that board at Dell listed only 400MHz FSB.
-
Let me know if the 533MHz works and if so with what BIOS version.

~~~ Thanks.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 08:23 PM   #7
geforcefly
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

The Dell 2350 has the i845GL chipset, which supports only a 400MHz FSB. Your 2.4B P4 will run at most 1.8GHz.
geforcefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 09:38 AM   #8
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

The ge~fly is right.
http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/845gl/index.htm
I saw it was the i845GL but didn't look it up.
I assumed (wrong) that the FSB was the same the i845GV's I've been messing with.

.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 12:53 PM   #9
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

Quote:
Originally Posted by geforcefly
The Dell 2350 has the i845GL chipset, which supports only a 400MHz FSB. Your 2.4B P4 will run at most 1.8GHz.
Sorry, but CPUZ says otherwise. It is humming along at 2.20 GHz for both Core and Stock speeds. FSB is 400 Mhz and multiplier is 22x.
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 06:09 PM   #10
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

A P4 2400/533 has an 18x multiplier so what do you have in there?
P4 3000/533??
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 07:18 AM   #11
zandrax
Hit and miss
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
City & State: Trento
My Country: Italy
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

Quote:
Originally Posted by geforcefly
The Dell 2350 has the i845GL chipset, which supports only a 400MHz FSB. Your 2.4B P4 will run at most 1.8GHz.
Bgavin's cpu is not the 2.4B version, but the plain 2.4: Northwood-A core, fsb 400MHz, 22x multiplier, 512 KB 2nd level cache.
Among the 845 family the plain 845, the 845M and the 845GL supports only an fsb of 400 MHz, others supports both 400 and 533: what's your Dell's chipset, bgavin?

Zandrax
zandrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 06:42 PM   #12
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

I haven't over-clocked in years and so there are tweeks I don't know about.
I'm just trying to figure out what Bgavin did out of curiosity.
-
I don't question the chipset.
If the board is original it's an i845GL and 400FSB.
-

He said the FSB is at 400.
Makes sense with 22x multiplier to be 2.2GHz at 400FSB.
-

But he said he he was putting in a 2.4GHz/533 CPU.
That would be an 18x multiplier I think.
-
To get 22x with a 533FSB CPU then the CPU is more like 3.0GHz P4.

.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 06:54 PM   #13
zandrax
Hit and miss
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
City & State: Trento
My Country: Italy
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCBONEZ
But he said he he was putting in a 2.4GHz/533 CPU.
That would be an 18x multiplier I think.
-
To get 22x with a 533FSB CPU then the CPU is more like 3.0GHz P4.

.
Now it makes sense: yes, the 2.4/533 has a 18x multiplier. If bgavin iinstalls it on its Dell and the mobo recognizes it, it'l run at 100*18 = 1800 MHz. Chips are based on the came core, so the 1.8 GHz will be slower than the 2.4 one.

Zandrax
zandrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 12:30 PM   #14
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

This is the one with the Rubycons:

Name Intel Pentium 4
Code Name Northwood
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.20GHz
Package Socket 478 mPGA
Family/Model/Stepping F.2.4
Extended Family/Model F.2
Brand ID 9
Core Stepping B0
Technology 0.13 um
Core Speed 2192.9 MHz
Multiplier x Bus speed 22.0 x 99.7 MHz
Rated Bus speed 398.7 MHz
Stock frequency 2200 MHz

I was going to pump it up a bit, but gave it to my daughter instead. It is such a big step up from her old Coppermine, that she is thrilled.


*************

This one is a client's server:

Name Intel Pentium 4
Code Name Northwood
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz
Package Socket 478 mPGA
Family/Model/Stepping F.2.4
Extended Family/Model F.2
Brand ID 9
Core Stepping B0
Technology 0.13 um
Core Speed 1800.0 MHz
Multiplier x Bus speed 18.0 x 100.0 MHz
Rated Bus speed 400.0 MHz
Stock frequency 1800 MHz

Northbridge Intel i845G rev. A1
Southbridge Intel 82801DB (ICH4) rev. 01
Memory Type DDR
Memory Size 1024 MBytes
Memory Frequency 133.3 MHz (3:4)

Mainboard Model D845GBV

I am hunting for sSpec SL79B which is 533 FSB. This appears to be the only 2.40B processor for this board.

Can anybody explain 2.40A vs. 2.40B please? I found reference to Loadline A/B, but no more data.
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 01:33 PM   #15
zandrax
Hit and miss
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
City & State: Trento
My Country: Italy
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgavin
I am hunting for sSpec SL79B which is 533 FSB. This appears to be the only 2.40B processor for this board.

Can anybody explain 2.40A vs. 2.40B please? I found reference to Loadline A/B, but no more data.
I use Intel's Processorfinder service, which is a quite good source except for ES or special, minor production not listed (e.g. military versions).
The plain 2.40 is a Northwood, 400 MHz fsb; the 2.40B is a Northwood with a 533 MHz fsb (Intel adds a B to cpus having same core, same clock but superior fsb: do you remember the Coppermine Es and their 133 MHz counterparts, the EBs?); the 2.40B is a Prescott, 533 MHz fsb, 1 MB of L2 cache vs 512 KB of Northwoods and manifactured at 90 nm vs 130 (Pentium 4 page).

Zandrax

Last edited by zandrax; 02-10-2008 at 01:36 PM..
zandrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 01:42 PM   #16
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

Yes that's it.

You actually used a 2.2GHz/400.

You said you were going to use a 2.4GHz/533 and then started giving numbers for the other one..
Threw us all a curve you did..
We didn't see that sharp left at the front side bus.

.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 02:21 PM   #17
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

2.40 is 512k Cache, 0.13 micron process, (Northwood)
2.40A is 1M Cache, 90 nm process, (Prescott)
2.40B is 512k Cache, 0.13 micron process, Low power, (Northwood)
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 02:30 PM   #18
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

Or rather low volts..
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 07:29 AM   #19
zandrax
Hit and miss
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
City & State: Trento
My Country: Italy
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: Dimension 2350, Surprise, Surprise

Quote:
Originally Posted by zandrax
the 2.40B is a Prescott
I'll correct myself: the Prescot is the 2.40A, as PCBONEZ correctly wrote. Why I can't avoid typos ...

Zandrax
zandrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?