Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2019, 10:50 PM   #1
junktv
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: USA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,849
Default I'm getting windows 10

Well I now have two pc's with windblows 10 home and never used it. What do I need to shut off and not do? The one will be used by an old lady and the I3 by me and will probably end up dual booting with a flavor of linux.

HP Slimline 270-p013wb intel G4560T
https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05492124

HP Slimline 270-p043w I3-7100
https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05591683
junktv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 11:08 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,221
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

you cant shut it off,
it's not added spyware, it's spyware that happens to run wondows software (to a degree)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 12:51 PM   #3
sofTest
Badcaps Veteran
 
sofTest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Norway
Posts: 346
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

There are guides out there for what to disable manually, but its cumbersome. I prefer to use a tool that gives me the controls speedier at one place. This page gives a list of some tools. Personally I've used the Spyboot one for some of my own stuff, without any problems. As always with these kind of tools, use with care. At least create a restore point before making changes. And it would be unwise to use more than one of the tools on the same PC.
__________________
------------
Be a mensch
sofTest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 01:38 PM   #4
junktv
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: USA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,849
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Kinda leery using 3rd party tools on the one but i'll check em out. She will be banking with it. I'm just going to be screwing around on the other. Figure better learn 10 since 7 EOL is soon.
junktv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 02:12 PM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,221
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by junktv View Post
She will be banking with it.
well your screwed then!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 02:35 PM   #6
showmelee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
City & State: Kansas City,Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
well your screwed then!
showmelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 03:32 PM   #7
sofTest
Badcaps Veteran
 
sofTest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Norway
Posts: 346
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by junktv View Post
Kinda leery using 3rd party tools
So am I, but I selected the Spyboot program, as they are well known for their other garbage clean-up software. The program can also do some tweaks that normally are only available in the Enterprise-version.

If such a company cannot be trusted, on par with other well known software manufacturers, you would be best advised to stay away from most readily available software. You would then be best advised to use open source code, examining the code and compile it yourself. That is, if you got a trustworthy compiler.

You best select your own level of paranoia.
sofTest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 03:45 PM   #8
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,706
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by junktv View Post
Figure better learn 10 since 7 EOL is soon.
But, 8.1 shouldn't be EOL for a good while!
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

Asus Strix GeForce GTX 970

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 05:54 PM   #9
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,452
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
But, 8.1 shouldn't be EOL for a good while!
2023. S2K12 R2 is the same interface and doesnt phone home....The standard edition with some mods, classic shell, and tweaking, its a hell of a good workstation OS....but probably not something a little old lady would be able to deal with.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 11:03 PM   #10
junktv
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: USA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,849
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
But, 8.1 shouldn't be EOL for a good while!
Nope not even. Why do they kill the good and keep the crap.
junktv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 11:08 PM   #11
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 656
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

make sure you turn off activity history it was introduced in version 1803, you can find it in the settings then privacy menu, there are lots of other options in there you can turn off too.

It took me awhile but I came around to 10 mainly after my boss scolded me for all the windows 7 computers having viruses which is because the overlords that be turn off the WSUS server so they never get updates and thus viruses. That said I am the last person in our tech group to be running Windows 7 on my main work machine.
__________________
My Computer: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asrock X370 Killer SLI/AC, 16GB Geil EVO X DDR4 3000, 500GB WD Black NVME and 2TB Toshiba HD,EVGA GTX 1080 SC, In-Win 303 White, EVGA SuperNova 750 G3, Windows 10 Pro
BigTroll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 01:55 AM   #12
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,190
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
But, 8.1 shouldn't be EOL for a good while!
You can't even get Drivers for 8.1 these days for some important things...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 02:24 AM   #13
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,528
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTroll View Post
my boss scolded me for all the windows 7 computers having viruses.
u should scold your boss back and tell him that isnt your fault or problem. its a pebkac issue with whomever is using the computer who isnt computer literate. most probably surfing pr0n on the work computers which is the main source of picking up viruses.

i mean u said u run win7 on your machine. so if others get viruses on their win7 machine but u DONT, then what does that prove?!
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 04:25 AM   #14
junktv
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: USA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,849
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
2023. S2K12 R2 is the same interface and doesnt phone home....The standard edition with some mods, classic shell, and tweaking, its a hell of a good workstation OS....but probably not something a little old lady would be able to deal with.
I tried to introduce her to android on a 8" tablet and it didn't go well. Then again I'm fairly android illiterate myself but getting better since I picked up a couple tablets and don't mind breaking them. Although the 10" lenovo seems decent and perfect for mobile computing, movies/music at camp and maps etc..

She used a pc every day for 30 years but didn't get how they work. She started with punch cards and ended on win7 or 8. She brought home backups of programs she wanted to keep one time on a floppy. Yup backed up the desktop icons perfectly. Good job momma lol.
junktv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 02:48 PM   #15
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,706
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
2023. S2K12 R2 is the same interface and doesnt phone home....The standard edition with some mods, classic shell, and tweaking, its a hell of a good workstation OS....but probably not something a little old lady would be able to deal with.
Even the non-Windows Server version, is much less frustrating than 10!

8.1 by default lets me keep stubborn Windows Defender turned off and I haven't recalled a storahci.sys issue (or its ilk) yet. I was happily using 8.1 in 2015!

10 by default, will keep installing a video driver without your permission!

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 01-30-2019 at 02:52 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 08:25 PM   #16
junktv
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: USA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,849
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Well I fired one up. Microsoft needs to line up and be beat with a rubber hose.
junktv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 10:00 PM   #17
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,221
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by junktv View Post
She used a pc every day for 30 years but didn't get how they work.
i hate that.

i remember long ago - win3.11 time.
i walked into a university computer room,
sat down and proceded to locate and copy all the different dictionary files from a special version of Word on the network server onto about 30 floppies.

the other students(i wasnt one) sat in silence watching me, thinking i was some super-hacker or something! lol.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 02:25 PM   #18
captainKKK
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
City & State: Katy, Texas
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: Low
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 128
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

..

Last edited by captainKKK; 02-09-2019 at 02:55 PM.. Reason: my opinion only
captainKKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 03:25 PM   #19
junktv
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: USA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,849
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

Added a new one to the mix. HP 570-p013wb i3-7100, 8gb ddr4 2400,1tb WD blue and mid case. I'm setting it up for me so playing around more.

Is there anyway to upgrade from 10 home to 10 pro free? It's what came on it and the xp pro are the only ones I have keys for. My 7 pro is of iffy origin and uses a oem key that I couldn't even download a copy of 7 pro with when I tried years ago.
junktv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 06:49 AM   #20
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,288
Default Re: I'm getting windows 10

i wont use 10 myself.
if i get a machine that cant run 7 or linux it gets sold.
that tends to be those craptastic convertible tablet things mainly.
when micro$oft was giving free 10 "upgrades" i figured it was not for the benefit of users!
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?