Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2013, 09:58 AM   #41
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

I think he stopped coming by when ratdude became a mod.
goodpsusearch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 03:58 PM   #42
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: WA State
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

^ Interesting theory, it was about 2 months after the fact
__________________
Buy quality, and you only cry once
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 06:29 PM   #43
D.T.
New Member
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: MN
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

I have a bunch in my FSP271 power supply in my Olevia TV that just failed.

I found 9 bulged ones and I'll try the rat shack tomorrow for the caps.

Found a new power supply on fleabay for $250 + $99 shipping.

2007 is the mfg date.
D.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 06:32 PM   #44
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,719
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Forget radioshack, they don't have quality low esr capacitors.

Use this site or go to digikey.com/mouser.com/newark.com if you want the repairs to last a long time.
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 06:34 PM   #45
D.T.
New Member
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: MN
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

No rat shack?? Looks like they use NTE caps.

I know about digi key & newark. I'll have to wait a week to get those.

How about the cap repair kits on Amazon for $20 bucks?

Last edited by D.T.; 11-30-2013 at 06:47 PM..
D.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 09:42 PM   #46
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,627
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by D.T. View Post
How about the cap repair kits on Amazon for $20 bucks?
If you can be sure they come from a reputable seller and are not fake or a crap brand etc then I'm sure they would be fine. But you might have to do a lot of research to find out for sure.

Personally I buy only from the big electronics suppliers where I know I'm getting the real deal.

Since you're in USA you might be well off just buying from Badcaps.net itself.
__________________
"Tantalum for the brave, Solid Aluminium for the wise, Wet Electrolytic for the adventurous"
-David VanHorn
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 05:59 PM   #47
Matt_R
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

I've discovered 5 bad Capxons in a power supply for an ISDN Gateway (Quintum Tenor DX series). There's one larger 400v 100uF that looks ok, but the low voltage ones are all dead.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3i413yji7iqn7ki/IMG_9745.JPG
https://www.dropbox.com/s/17dk7jsq7aabvx3/IMG_9740.JPG
Matt_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 06:10 PM   #48
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,627
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Yeah, replace the lot, CapXon are awful.
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 03:39 PM   #49
rjstute
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
City & State: Bemidji, mn
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2
Smile Re: Capxon Capacitors?

I just replaced a capxon in a power supply.

Had an interesting time diagnosing the problem. The mboard LED would light but the computer wouldn't power up. At first I thought the mboard or something connected to it was fried but when I swapped out the mboard it did the same thing. I then decided to test the voltages on the pwrsupply atx connector. All the pins tested properly except the purple 5v standby pin which was only showing 4v. I took the cover off and sure enough one capacitor had blown it's top. Funny thing about it, that cap that blown was the only capxon in the pwrsupply.

I replaced the cap, retested the pwr supply and put it all back together. All is good...
rjstute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 03:53 PM   #50
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: WA State
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Nice. Pretty lame though that the only CapXon in there was in the most critical application. Planned obsolescence!
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 06:40 PM   #51
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,627
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
Nice. Pretty lame though that the only CapXon in there was in the most critical application. Planned obsolescence!
I would not be surprised
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 07:48 PM   #52
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: WA State
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Pics would be great!
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?