Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2011, 09:34 PM   #21
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,630
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Since this thread is about Capxon, 'Home Fries' would be more appropriate.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:44 PM   #22
Digital Technophile
revrse engineer
 
Digital Technophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Sherburne, NY
Posts: 138
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Anyway you slice it, they aren't good for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!
__________________
If you voted for Obama in 2008 to prove you weren't a racist, you'd better vote for someone else in 2012 to prove you're not an idiot!
Digital Technophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 10:19 PM   #23
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,915
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

My high school had a shitload of those Samsung Syncmaster 906BW monitors. I don't think they are worth the cost of replacement caps. I would have liked to see them all start dying, but I graduated before that happened. There would be dark streaks to the right of any objects being displayed, but none completely died.
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 11:13 PM   #24
Digital Technophile
revrse engineer
 
Digital Technophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Sherburne, NY
Posts: 138
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lti View Post
My high school had a shitload of those Samsung Syncmaster 906BW monitors. I don't think they are worth the cost of replacement caps. I would have liked to see them all start dying, but I graduated before that happened. There would be dark streaks to the right of any objects being displayed, but none completely died.
Hmm, other than one measly, hardly noticeable dead pixel, this one's been rock solid/razor sharp for better than four years now (well aside from the caps). Never had any ghosting issues ever. Wow, many variables to consider. Non-owner users (students), possible lower end video, bulk lots vs. retail? I bought mine as a floor model, DVI, always leave the lamp powered on for at least an hour before turning it off, etc. Maybe I got lucky? Wait, I'm glad I got lucky, I never get lucky!

Well if they are getting rid of them, send some my way!!!!
Digital Technophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 07:04 AM   #25
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,627
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

I've pulled several dead CapXons from monitors... pretty damn useless brand in my opinion.
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 06:27 PM   #26
everell
Badcaps Veteran
 
everell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Williamsburg, Virginia
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,209
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Just recapped a couple of Bestec power supplies. One had CapXon caps and the other had Jamicon caps. As a comparison of esr:

2200 uF/16 volts Jamicon was .04, Capxon was .01

two of each 1000 uF/16 volts Jamicon was .09, Capxon was .03

Most of the small caps 22 uF and less, Capxon was just a little less than Jamicon on most of them.

Capxon versus Jamicon...........Capxon wins!
everell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 04:24 PM   #27
Rulycat
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: North England
My Country: United Kingdom
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 693
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Doesn't Jamicon only do GP caps though?
Rulycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 04:53 PM   #28
bbweather
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

d#$m, my vieusonic lcd tv is full of the crapxons. and the tv don't work. I'm going to replace the 2 that are blotted on my power supply, hopefully just these 2 are the reason
bbweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 05:06 PM   #29
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,627
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

No, ALL of them are the reason, because CapXon are junk.

Replace ALL of them, or the TV will just fail in another 5 minutes and you'll have to replace more. You won't save much money by only replacing 2 of them now - and you'll waste more of your time when the rest die.

Just replace the lot now and you won't have to worry about it again.
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 11:19 AM   #30
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,706
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent24 View Post
I've pulled several dead CapXons from monitors... pretty damn useless brand in my opinion.
But, LCD monitors seem to get hot inside and they usually don't at least have a tiny fan, so even Rubycons could get fried lol.
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

Asus Strix GeForce GTX 970

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:53 AM   #31
ammagamma
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Hello guys,

this is my first time on this forum, quite useful!

I'm trying to repair the dvd reader Sharp dv-sv92: it cannot be switched on. I detected the problem in the stdby switching TNY267PN. I replaced it, all ok, but during the functioning I touched the top of the capXon cap (4,7uF400V) and it was red-hot! It seems to be very week!

Now, there is another cap with the same characteristics and both are part of the power supply section of the dvd reader. Do you suggest to replace even the other cap? Which cap brand can I use for this application?

Thank you very much,

BR, Francesco

Last edited by ammagamma; 11-09-2011 at 11:56 AM..
ammagamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 12:45 PM   #32
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,719
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

If that capacitor was really red hot, the problem is most likely somewhere else - probably there's a short or too much voltage through that capacitor that shorts or kills the small capacitor.

Simply replacing the capacitor may not solve the issue.

Create a separate thread with your issue and post pictures there - someone may be able to give you more advice based on the position of the capacitor and the components around it.
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:40 PM   #33
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,627
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

If the capacitor's ESR has increased then it will heat up more, so it may be a faulty capacitor, or they picked one with ESR too high for that circuit in the first place.

Or they picked one which couldn't handle the ripple in the first place.

And\Or it's being heated up by something else nearby
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 09:29 PM   #34
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: WA State
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

I think they are decent in PSU's. Not good or bad, just meh. Better than Canicon...holy hell
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 03:16 PM   #35
ammagamma
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Hello,

thank you for replies. Sorry if I was OT.

However, I opened another post:

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...514#post195514

Many thanks to those will help me!

BR, Francesco
ammagamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:00 PM   #36
tbone8
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Michigan City, IN 46360
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Howdy all, newbie here and I cant start my own topic on this, but, I have an older samsung monitor with some bad capxon caps. I need 3 470uf, 25v and 2 1000uf 10 caps. What would be a better brand name and a good place to get them? Thanks! Tom
tbone8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:53 PM   #37
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: WA State
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbone8 View Post
Howdy all, newbie here and I cant start my own topic on this, but, I have an older samsung monitor with some bad capxon caps. I need 3 470uf, 25v and 2 1000uf 10 caps. What would be a better brand name and a good place to get them? Thanks! Tom
You can make your own thread in the computer display section. I've fixed a few Samsung monitors, and I usually use nichicon PW, Chemi-Con KY, Panasonic FC. But create your own thread so we can help you there
__________________
Buy quality, and you only cry once
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 11:07 PM   #38
theOracle
Senior Member
 
theOracle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Alabama
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V - 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 157
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCBONEZ View Post
>> rubyCON nichiCON chemiCON <<
>> i've always wondered the what the con meant <<

CONdenser - The old name for caps. [Still used in some places I think.]
apparently you are a million times smarter than me - I should have known this, yet I thought about it for weeks and could not come up with the answer!
__________________
__________________


the BIG 4

~~~ the top tier of low-ESR electrolytic capacitors ~~~

theOracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 07:55 PM   #39
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: WA State
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

We all miss PCBONEZ
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 11:55 PM   #40
theOracle
Senior Member
 
theOracle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Alabama
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V - 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 157
Default Re: Capxon Capacitors?

where did he go?

and where did willawake go?
theOracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?