Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2014, 08:13 PM   #1
bowtie20
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Bossier City, La
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Purchased bad TV to repair but it works

I know this is a very broad question but I just bought my second (won't power on) TV and when I bring it home it works just fine. I just want opinions from some folks with more experience than I have with TV repair because this is bound to be a common occurrence. And yes I'm pretty confident they aren't stolen. The first one was a 47" LCD Toshiba. I watched it for about a month just to make sure it wasn't an intermittent fault before I resold it. The second is a 32" LCD Sylvania I just purchased. Both sellers claimed symptoms typical of a bad power supply. One even claimed they had a surge that "fried" the TV. My thoughts are after the TV is unplugged for so long maybe it comes out of some kind of "protect" mode. Any suggestions on how to handle these would be greatly appreciated because I'd hate to sell someone a TV that's just waiting to go out again.
bowtie20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 09:55 PM   #2
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,974
Default Re: Purchased bad TV to repair but it works

don't double post.
__________________
Things I've fixed: anything from semis to crappy Chinese $2 radios, and now an IoT Dildo....

"Dude, this is Wyoming, i hopped on and sent 'er. No fucking around." -- Me

Excuse me while i do something dangerous


You must have a sad, sad boring life if you hate on people harmlessly enjoying life with an animal costume.

Sometimes you need to break shit to fix it.... Thats why my lawnmower doesn't have a deadman switch or engine brake anymore

Last edited by goontron; 09-10-2014 at 09:57 PM..
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 09:59 PM   #3
mmartell
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Windsor ON
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,730
Default Re: Purchased bad TV to repair but it works

Agree with goontron. I would take a hair dryer/cooling spray to the boards one at a time to try and induce the fault the owners were complaining about.
mmartell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 10:08 PM   #4
bowtie20
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Bossier City, La
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Purchased bad TV to repair but it works

sorry goontron I couldn't figure out how to delete it
bowtie20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?