Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2020, 04:51 PM   #1
Mohntr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Catawissa Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

yec oil-con 0.5 uf 1500wvdc capacitor:

Hi, I pulled the cover on my old scope and was checking for swollen caps and I indeed found 1 that is swollen on the end where the single wire comes out. It also appears it has been hot and the plastic label on it has deformed/shrunk.
I googled the cap name and number and don't seem to be able to find a replacement. I have never seen a cap like these and assume it is NOT an electrolite ?
Could anyone offer advice on finding one or should I make it a paper weight? I was hoping to learn how to use it.

Thanks,

Mohntr
Mohntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 05:12 PM   #2
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,009
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

post a picture of it
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 05:19 PM   #3
Mohntr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Catawissa Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

Here is a picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FB_IMG_1579561990757.jpg (154.3 KB, 24 views)
Mohntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 10:33 PM   #4
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,398
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

It is highly likely the cap is ok, it is just the heatshrink on the cap has shrunk due to heat from the 3 thermistors next to it. I believe those are oil filled caps. If the scope is working leave those caps alone. they will likely out last the scope.

Last edited by R_J; 01-20-2020 at 10:47 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 11:38 PM   #5
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,817
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
It is highly likely the cap is ok, it is just the heatshrink on the cap has shrunk due to heat from the 3 thermistors next to it. I believe those are oil filled caps. If the scope is working leave those caps alone. they will likely out last the scope.
I'm inclined to agree.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 09:54 AM   #6
Mohntr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Catawissa Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

Thanks for replying. The scope is not acting right. It only works for the first 30 seconds or so when I turn it on. When reading the 0.25v internal calibration it is smooth then all of a sudden starts acting erratic and the line is fuzzy, I only opened the case to look for something obvious and that one cap had the deformed sleeve and the end not showing in the picture is swollen compared to all the others next to it.
I could snip one leg out of circuit and test with a meter, but I dont have an esr meter.
Mohntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 12:15 PM   #7
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,895
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

probably a bad diode in the HV circuits
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 09:31 PM   #8
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,584
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

Just lift a leg and test the capacitors' value and for leakage. I see oil-filled capacitors in oscilloscope HV section just don't last. Marcon's in Leader oscilloscopes are notorious for failing. Then they take out the HV rectifier and it's a mess.
If the trace is going fuzzy, then the focus voltage is likely sagging so I would suspect a power supply problem. The three MOV's next to it are typically a shunt-regulator for the high voltage but nothing hot enough to heat up a big can and shrink the heatshrink lol

P.S. When working with the HV capacitors, always discharge them first.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 09:53 PM   #9
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,398
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

If the cap is swollen at the end that is not shown in the picture, then replace the 3 of them.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2020, 06:37 AM   #10
Mohntr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Catawissa Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

Thanks for the info, I'll get a picture of the end of the cap after work this evening. I appreciate the help.
Mohntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2020, 12:52 PM   #11
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,584
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

The Marcon brand ones have a hard epoxy seal and no rubber bung.
These old axial caps have no safety vent, but I don't think the oil actually makes gas, unlike electrolytics. I'm not sure what the electrolyte actually is.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2020, 01:03 PM   #12
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,895
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

pcb's ??
like transformer-oil??
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2020, 01:28 PM   #13
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,584
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

Electrolytics can't go higher than around 450-500VDC, so for big HV caps I guess oil was used.
I haven't taken one apart, but yes oil like motor starting caps. Some Marcon's have a rubber bung, others have epoxy. The bumble bee capacitors were castor oil.

Three of 0.5uF 1500V C101, C102, C103 are the voltage-doubler and I see a fourth smaller one in OP's pic. I'd just change all of them, put in polypropylene parts from digikey or mouser.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf GOS3310_schematic_pg1.pdf (84.6 KB, 5 views)
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 12:40 PM   #14
Mohntr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Catawissa Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

https://www.dropbox.com/preview/Publ...?role=personal

Last edited by Mohntr; 01-23-2020 at 01:14 PM.. Reason: trying to make image appear i attached
Mohntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 12:56 PM   #15
Mohntr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Catawissa Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

https://www.dropbox.com/s/joisx5n6z3...22017.jpg?dl=0

another image, sorry for the two posts.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200123_122017.jpg (889.3 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 01-26-2020 at 05:13 AM.. Reason: Offsite image uploaded
Mohntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 02:19 PM   #16
Mohntr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Catawissa Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

C102 shows it is shorted to its case. I can not get a reading of any capacitance with my meter on Cap mode. All other caps I get a reading on cap mode.
I have not taken anything out of circuit.
redwire, may i ask where you found the schematic?
Mohntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 02:22 PM   #17
Mohntr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Catawissa Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

I was on Mousers website looking for the polypropylene caps and did not see them. Are they called something else by chance?
I'm learning electronics on my own, I have never seen these types of caps before so I want to get the right one(s). Thank you.
Mohntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 02:59 PM   #18
Mohntr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Catawissa Missouri
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

Is this a bad choice?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2pcs-Bishop...ss!63069!US!-1
Mohntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 04:00 PM   #19
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,584
Default Re: GW GOS 3310 oscilliscope

Those eBay caps seem expensive and for audiophile use.

I would consider:
Kemet axial 0.47uF 2000VDC 44mm long 33.5mm dia. Best fit. Mouser has them too.
Wima boxed PP 0.47uF 1600VDC 32mm height.
Kemet R76 series 0.47uF 1600VDC but 37mm high.

The boxed film caps would need HV lead wires added and I glue them to the pcb with some silicone. A bit awkward.

Low cost chinese film caps are called "CBB" but New Years so for 2 weeks shops are closed. I saw 474J 2000V 27mm lead spacing https://www.ebay.com/itm/CBB-Metalli...c/302297220783 $8 for 10.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?