Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

LG 23EA53 black screen after one second, it works after 5 minutes, high pitched sound

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LG 23EA53 black screen after one second, it works after 5 minutes, high pitched sound

Hello people,

When I turn the monitor on I can see the image for a second, then the screen becomes all black.
    If I let it sit there and wait about 5 minutes, then I turn it off and back on again, it works normally.
    But there's a hissing sound all the time, very high pitched sound.

I've been using this monitor for about 5 years.

Due to all these signs I think this is a bad capacitor.

I attach pictures of the PCB with the capacitors so you can judge and advice me what to do. Does any capacitor look bulged? Only (and slightly) the 100v 33uF one.

Any help will be appreciated!

All the capacitors I've been able to identify:

1:
    2DQJ

2:
    3A
    VZH
    35V

3,4:
    3A
    16J
    Attached Files

Re: LG 23EA53 black screen after one second, it works after 5 minutes, high pitched s

I am in agree with you that the capacitor of 100v is slighly bulged. But remember that often capacitors could be bad with no visible evidence (bad capacitance or ESR).

Comment

Re: LG 23EA53 black screen after one second, it works after 5 minutes, high pitched s

The 33µf 100v, is the main filter for the led string voltage. It is likely bad, those little caps don't have much inside to make much of a bulge
      Last edited by R_J; 06-17-2019, 05:03 PM.

Comment

I replaced the 100v capacitor with a new one (it took a while to arrive).
        It didn't make a difference. Actually, I ended up removing all caps to check them and all were in spec.
        Put them back on, nothing changed except now I don't get the screen working for a single second.
        There's this hissing noise, pretty intense.
        I removed all caps and turned it on, the noise is still there.