Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can a small crack kill the whole panel?

hello all,

After repairing the LEDs on a 50" TV (Sharp LC-50LB370U) I managed to crack the LCD in the lower left corner as can be seen in the first pic @ post #67 seen here https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...0&postcount=67.

I have tried retesting all the voltages which were normal, and reseating the t-con cables, running with only 1 t-con cable connected at a time etc. but I cant get any picture to display at all on the screen.

My question is could a small crack like that kill the whole panel?
    Is there anything I can try before scrapping the TV?

thanks

Re: Can a small crack kill the whole panel?

There are plenty of cracked screen that display colours/strips/pattern across the screen so I would have thought there would have seen something on the screen.
    Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

Originally posted by dick_barton View Post
      There are plenty of cracked screen that display colours/strips/pattern across the screen so I would have thought there would have seen something on the screen.
      That's what I was thinking..I've seen screens with way worse cracks display at least something.

I went back a double checked my voltages and all were the same except for 1. DIM = 0 standby and 3.2v power on and is now 2.7v after fixing LEDs.

Also before the LEDs were fixed the black wires at -VLED2 and -VLED1 showed 0v powered on or off and now show 4.5v powered on.
      does this seem normal?

thanks

Comment

does those voltages seem about right?
        maybe a bad t-con?

thanks

Comment

I can confirm that a small crack can kill an entire LCD panel because I've done it before, and all that was visible was a very very faint vertical banding pattern.
          Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!