Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2018, 01:04 PM   #1
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,256
Default Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Display only blinks and than stays dead. Check open the PSU revealed it is dead.

There are three output rails: winding to feed the TEA1791T synchronnous rectification controller (this thing has no connection with primary side!), the output for the rectification transistor - this rail feeds the signal board, and than backlight rail.

Seems like the unit only pumps few cycles to the secondary so voltage rises a bit and than falls down as the caps discharge. I have about 15.5 V on a small cap on the primary auxiliary rail just after the diode which slowly falls, pumps again to 15.5 V and that repeats.

There is however oscillating voltage between like 18 and 19.6 V on the cap directly in front of the primary common PFC/PWM controller. Do not think this is normal condition. Cannot identify the controller right now, it has layer of lackquer, gonna have to try removing it.

I do see only 320V on the input cap though, there is no spike suggesting the PFC would be turning on, so maybe the problem lays in here?
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps, meters and more!
Hardware Insights - power supply reviews and more!
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 05:30 AM   #2
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,256
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

It's very difficult to read anything in here but it seems like the PFC/quasi-resonant flyback controller is NXP, possibly TEA1751T. According to the datasheet, the startup voltage is 21-23 V so when it's at 18-19.6 that's too low.

The path goes from the auxiliary winding on primary side through inductor to an SMD diode, capacitor and than there is "K415 C200" TO-92 bipolar transistor. The 15V feed leads to its collector, the oscillating 18-19.6V output is on its emitter. Collector and base has 1002 SMD resistor in between and base is also connected through an SMD zener to return.

So it seems like some amplifier with zener feedback? And this is to feed the Vcc of the controller.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 06:04 AM   #3
fred41
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
It's very difficult to read anything in here but it seems like the PFC/quasi-resonant flyback controller is NXP, possibly TEA1751T. According to the datasheet, the startup voltage is 21-23 V so when it's at 18-19.6 that's too low.

The path goes from the auxiliary winding on primary side through inductor to an SMD diode, capacitor and than there is "K415 C200" TO-92 bipolar transistor. The 15V feed leads to its collector, the oscillating 18-19.6V output is on its emitter. Collector and base has 1002 SMD resistor in between and base is also connected through an SMD zener to return.

So it seems like some amplifier with zener feedback? And this is to feed the Vcc of the controller.
I also have a dead power board, did you manage to find some datasheet, schematics, wathever informations about this card? Thanks
fred41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 09:18 AM   #4
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32,458
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

If we can see some good clear pictures of the boards and how they are connected together, that will be a good starting point.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 06:57 PM   #5
fred41
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead






If you need more detailled pictures or anything else, ask.

Thanks
fred41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 10:25 AM   #6
fred41
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
If we can see some good clear pictures of the boards and how they are connected together, that will be a good starting point.
Is it useful?

Thanks
fred41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 04:46 PM   #7
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32,458
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

SO, what Voltages do you have on that white connector of the power supply board that goes to the logic/main board?
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 03:43 AM   #8
fred41
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
SO, what Voltages do you have on that white connector of the power supply board that goes to the logic/main board?
Hi, Budm

Thanks for your answer

I have no light on the front power push button.

I tested the general 220v power switch on the back, and the fuse.

And to answer your question, I have 0v on each wire on the white connector, with the board plugged or unplugged:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uVT8g2OchQ


I have 335Vdc arriving to the "120F / 450V" capacitor, and I unsoldered it and tested it too:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IL7uwboCR70


Hope I done everything right, and made myself understood, English is not my first language.

Thanks
fred41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 10:31 AM   #9
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32,458
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

In your picture #2 on the bottom left, there is an IC (18-PIN?) there, can you read the P/N?
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 09:14 AM   #10
fred41
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Hi, I tried to take pictures and read the part references



n1 : NXP TEA1751T CDX12104 TXD14241

n2 : MPS1431 MP3398 E44H2168A

n3 : unreadable, but seems to be the same as n2

thanks
fred41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 10:14 AM   #11
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32,458
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by fred41 View Post
Hi, I tried to take pictures and read the part references



n1 : NXP TEA1751T CDX12104 TXD14241

n2 : MPS1431 MP3398 E44H2168A

n3 : unreadable, but seems to be the same as n2

thanks
OK, #1 is the one we need to find out if it has DC Voltage between VCC pin and Gnd for it run or not. Please see the spec sheet.
NOTES: You will be working in the HOT DEADLY side of the circuit so do not touch ANYTHING with your hands or body, you should at least plug the monitor into GFCI outlet.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf TEA1751T.pdf (267.9 KB, 1 views)
File Type: pdf AN10789.pdf (630.6 KB, 1 views)
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 11:24 AM   #12
fred41
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
OK, #1 is the one we need to find out if it has DC Voltage between VCC pin and Gnd for it run or not. Please see the spec sheet.
NOTES: You will be working in the HOT DEADLY side of the circuit so do not touch ANYTHING with your hands or body, you should at least plug the monitor into GFCI outlet.
Thanks a loot for your answer, but I'm not sure what GFCI means exactly, is it an outlet with ground? I live in France , and this is the default wall outlet we have :



Am I right for where to test?


Last edited by fred41; 05-16-2018 at 11:56 AM..
fred41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 11:42 AM   #13
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

GFCI means Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter. This is an electrical outlet with Reset button and a Test button on it that should a shock hazard be detected it would switch the supply to the receptacle OFF.
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 11:47 AM   #14
fred41
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew F. Ali View Post
GFCI means Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter. This is an electrical outlet with Reset button and a Test button on it that should a shock hazard be detected it would switch the supply to the receptacle OFF.
Like this?



I have one
fred41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 12:06 PM   #15
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

This is how our electrical GFCI outlets look like. The RED button is the RESET and the BLACK button is the TEST. So is a fault is detected the RED button pops up and disconnects the supply and to reset is to just push it back in. When the Test button is depressed the RESET button pops up and so we know the system is working.
Attached Images
File Type: png GFCI Receptacle.png (11.0 KB, 0 views)
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 01:32 PM   #16
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32,458
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

EURO GFCI outlet:
http://internationalconfig.com/icc6.asp?item=4721-10HG2
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 01:36 PM   #17
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32,458
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by fred41 View Post
Thanks a loot for your answer, but I'm not sure what GFCI means exactly, is it an outlet with ground? I live in France , and this is the default wall outlet we have :



Am I right for where to test?

That is correct pin out for TEA1751:
Pin 1 = VCC
Pin 2 = GND
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:29 PM   #18
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Thanks budm
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:30 PM   #19
fred41
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Acer B326HUL power supply dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
OK, #1 is the one we need to find out if it has DC Voltage between VCC pin and Gnd for it run or not. Please see the spec sheet.
NOTES: You will be working in the HOT DEADLY side of the circuit so do not touch ANYTHING with your hands or body, you should at least plug the monitor into GFCI outlet.
I measured 18.5Vdc - 19Vdc

And I didn't blew up the house, nor I burned myself...

Thanks everyone
fred41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?