Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Intro - Need Suggestions!

New member here

I found this form thanks to a member from another forum that posts link to this one often I'm not sure how active is he here, but it seems he lurks this forum very often!

I'm an IT person (I work as a service desk person), and have a side business on computers and networks. I became very confident at what I do, so I thought it's about time I go deeper into certain subjects. One thing I'd like to improve on (well, more like start on) is troubleshooting electronics.

This forum seems to have lots of knowledgeable and experienced people, so I hope I'm on the right forum! I could notice some interesting threads in the FAQ section that I think would help a lot if I get to find the time and read them.

In the meantime, I'd like to know what is the best way to start this? I have tried reading schematics of laptop boards, but I'm always stuck... this is a clear sign that I need to learn more! In fact, I was thinking of going through all this:

https://www.allaboutcircuits.com/textbook/

I will also start opening threads on troubleshooting motherboards I have, hoping that it will give me some hands on experience while going through theory.

So what would your suggestions be?

Re: Intro - Need Suggestions!

I would suggest you buy gold, but my psychic sense says that's not what you meant.

Perhaps you should use the search function for the motherboards you have and see if someones already had your problem? Even similar boards will help. When I'm troubleshooting I search the boards for problems since all electronics works about the same.
    sigpicThe Sky Is Falling

Comment

Haha, thanks

Yeah tried that already, and I could fine like a dozen of threads about a particular motherboard... nothing that seems to be related to what I was looking after however. Posted this in the Troubleshooting Laptops sub-forum.

Thanks again for the hint!

Comment