Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2018, 09:21 AM   #1
mildew
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: st louis, mo
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

I'm not getting any power and there is no stand by light - it went out after a lightening storm. I figured the power supply board is the first place to start, but I'm not sure how to test for standby. At the very top of the board it shows: STB:8V ON:13V (see 1st pic below), but where exactly do I take those readings? I've already pulled the power board out so when I take the readings is it OK to test it outside of the TV?

I'd also like to check the mainboard but I'm not sure where to start with that one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (464.5 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (579.2 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (262.7 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by mildew; 11-05-2018 at 10:24 AM..
mildew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 10:41 AM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,055
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

Those exposed ODD number 1, 3, 5, 7 pins of the connector CNM803 you can see on the top of the board are the Standby pins for the power supply.
The MOV is not blown on the power supply board, Is the fuse still good?
More likely the surge came through the main board via the connected devices to the TV.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 11:55 AM   #3
mildew
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: st louis, mo
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

Thanks for the quick reply.

The power board fuse has continuity. So I need to measure voltage across pins 1 and 9 (see new pic of CNM803 below) and should I be expecting 8V or 13V? The legend makes me think 13V but it shows at the top of the board standby is 8V.

Do I need to reconnect the power board to the TV before testing this?

The strike did take out the cable box connected to the TV, but the DVD player was unharmed. I've also attached a pic of the mainboard.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (102.4 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (642.9 KB, 9 views)
mildew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 02:46 PM   #4
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,055
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

Pin 1, 3, and 5 are all connected together. You can run the power supply board by itself and it should shows about 8VDC, when the board receives the PS-ON control Voltage from the main board then it will kick up to 13VDC. So without power supply board connected to main you should see 8VDC between pin 1 and pin 9 (gnd).
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 04:33 PM   #5
mildew
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: st louis, mo
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

I just checked and with board not connected to the TV:
pins 1, 3, 5, 7 all had 12.72V


I guess this indicates the power board isn't completely dead like I originally thought. What should i try next?
mildew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 10:12 PM   #6
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,055
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

So connected the main board back in place and see if the Voltage will be at 8V or not, if it is still at 8V then you need to check the control Voltage pins, I.E. PS-ON, BLU-ON pins, it should change state when you turn the TV power switch on and off, you will need skinny probe tip to probe the EVEN number pins from the back side of the famale connector.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 10:15 PM   #7
mildew
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: st louis, mo
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

I put the power board back into the TV and the results are listed below. I noticed when i leave the ribbon cable going from the power board to the main board unplugged I get backlight, but when the ribbon cable is connected no backlight.

Pressing the power button doesn't seem to doesn't seem to change any of the readings.

1) 8.78v
3) 8.78v
5) 8.78v
7) 8.78v

2) 1.0v
4) .01v
6) .09v
mildew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 10:25 PM   #8
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,055
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

You need new main board.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 09:59 PM   #9
mildew
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: st louis, mo
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

Thanks for all the help. Is there any hope of tracking down the exact point of failure on the main board? Maybe it's possible just to replace the bad component?

When I went order the new main board I discovered that this Samsung TV has 2 versions (TS01 and US02) - see attachment below. The TS01 main board in my TV is much less common - only the authorized Samsung Parts website seems to carry it. And the TS01 main board costs 4 times more ($220) than the US02 main board.

What's the likelihood the US02 main board would work in my TV? The US02 main board seems to be available everywhere (ebay, shopjimmy, etc).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6.jpg (33.8 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by mildew; 11-08-2018 at 10:00 PM..
mildew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 08:30 AM   #10
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,237
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

What are the differences between the TS01 and the US02?? Do you have photos to share??
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 01:57 PM   #11
mildew
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: st louis, mo
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

When I bought this TV, the only difference I knew of was the TS01 used a Samsung panel. All the other features/specs are identical. You could find the TS01 on the shelf next to the US02 - both sold as model UN48J6300AF.

If you look at the attachment in my previous post it lists the parts for both versions.
Panels: different part numbers
Main board: different part numbers
Power supply: same part numbers
TCon: different part number

See link below for a pic of the 2 main boards side by side. There are additional pics of my TS01 main board in my earlier posts.

https://i.postimg.cc/d0Gdq6Pv/7.jpg
mildew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:32 AM   #12
tvtimmy
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: milwaukee,wi
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC/60HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 598
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

You need the correct mainboard. Mainboard, tcon, and panel all go together. Usually.
tvtimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 09:19 AM   #13
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,237
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvtimmy View Post
you need the correct mainboard. Mainboard, tcon, and panel all go together. Usually.
+100
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 02:31 PM   #14
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,098
Default Re: Samsung UN48J6300AF TV - no power, no standby

https://www.shopjimmy.com/samsung-bn...j6300afxza.htm
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:33 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?