Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Philips BA51RJF01021 Power Supply- How do I test it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Philips BA51RJF01021 Power Supply- How do I test it?

I am fairly new to actually trying to repair SMPS that don't have an obvious fault, like a bad cap or burnt whatever. I am about 4 for 5 and I would really like to get this one done. It is one of the more complicated I have worked on at this point. Schematic is attached to this thread. On initial diagnostic, Q601 was blown, capacitor C615 was low capacitance high ESR. After replacing both items, powered up slow with no excessive current draw. No output voltages on the cold side. IC601 had about 130V on VH(pin 8) and nothing else. After learning a little about the PWM, I decided the lack of Vcc seemed to indicate the Start circuit was not working. I replaced it and that brings us to where I am now. I now have voltage on the secondary side of the board. I just have no idea how to "trick" this board into thinking it's on. There is no 5V standby. I should have 3.3V, 21V and 13V on the main connector and 12V for the LCD. Instead, I have about 12.8V where I should have 21 and 8.9V where I should have 13. So before I do something I may regret, I thought I would ask the community and also have an excuse to upload the schematics. I have a sneaky suspicion that if I put this board in the set and gave it a go, it might work. I also remember that set from 2 years ago that I fixed 3 times because it "looked good", blowing the same FET and diode every time I turned it on. Because I am slow, okay.