Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2020, 06:52 PM   #21
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,712
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

just adding in my 2 cents. the schematic of your idea in the first post is almost exactly like how we implement the trace together system for malls, buildings, places etc. in singapore so the infected and their contacts can be quickly found and isolated to reduce spread. so the idea is definitely sound and it works in reducing the spread of covid-19.

the proof is in singapore's flat and non-existant curve. we are an island of 5.5 million people and we currently have 5 straight days of zero community cases and then followed by one day of 1-2 cases, then the pattern repeats over and over again. so well done in doing your part to help flatten the curve in your home!

and yes singapore too is a covid fortress where no one can come in without first testing negative. thats why singapore is cracking down hard on illegal immigration lest illegals bring covid in here. vietnam was doing so well in containing covid-19 but an infected illegal immigrant from china ended up causing the danang outbreak and ended vietnam's clean sheet of zero covid deaths. ah well... when u snooze against covid, u lose... lol!

i should get out more and stop working from home like chicken little... i may go out and see if i can figure out a proper detailed schematic of how singapore does the trace together system in buildings to compare and see if improvements in implementation can be done but no promises! if u dont hear back from me, it means im not quite done figuring it out yet. im not going to post in this thread anymore until i have something better to post. lol!
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2020, 07:59 PM   #22
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,650
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

All my network / internet stuff that is spanning anywhere from 300m to a few kilometers is done with wifi bridges. Look at Ubiquiti etc. I have some links going now for more than 10 years. All it ever happened was that the POE power supplies went bad. Or fiberoptic.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2020, 08:20 PM   #23
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,591
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

there are wifi routers that connect together easily .my one will do it . never tried that though i just use it for my internet connection .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 05:03 AM   #24
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,137
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

using wifi outdoors in some european country's is very illegal - check your laws.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 04:16 PM   #25
dicky96
Sun Seeker
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 902
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

We have that Ubiquity system here - it is how a lot of folks get their internet - from base stations around the hills/mountains

Strangely enough, the local guy I needed to hep me with this is currently ill with flu - not covid - which is why I posted here as the quotation for solution is now urgent and this is not my area of expertise

Thanks to all for advice - I do understand this topic is contraversial for some but in the case of our island communities it is essential we find a way to reopen our economies
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 07:44 PM   #26
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,650
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

If I would be in your shoes, I'd just slap a ubiquity system there and be done with it.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 08:38 AM   #27
dicky96
Sun Seeker
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 902
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

Yeah I found someone local who installs the Ubuiquity and he is qiving me a quote today
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 07:40 AM   #28
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,524
Smile Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by petehall347 View Post
seems a bit flawed as all hot people are not infectious .
Then I would say everyone need to stay home and just be safe

But I would hope that everyone is wearing the right type of face mask and and more than 6 feet apart from each other and limiting there exposure in other words only goes some where if you have to
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 02-17-2021 at 07:48 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 11:02 AM   #29
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 824
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

It's very simple. The maximum length of cable in one network segment is 100m.
Use POE and put 3 switches, if it is inside a building.
Powerline is also an option, although you have to test it. These adapters are not very reliable.
__________________
Useful conversions. I don't "speak" imperial. Please use metric, if you want to address me.
1km=1000m=100000cm, 1inch=2.54cm, 1mile=1609.344meters, 1ft=30.48cm 1gal(US)=3.785liters, 1lb=453grams, 1oz=28.34grams

Last edited by televizora; 02-17-2021 at 11:06 AM..
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 10:56 AM   #30
dicky96
Sun Seeker
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 902
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

No its an outdoor market

So I got a ubiquity omni directional antenna, and a directional dish shaped one - point the dish at the omni and it works
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 12:25 PM   #31
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 824
Default Re: Need LAN connection over several hundred meters - how to do this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicky96 View Post
No its an outdoor market
Then you have no other option, rather than either WLAN or eventually Powerline. Omni or panel antenna BS AP + panel or directional client AP-s.
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:08 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?