Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2018, 12:37 AM   #101
al1415
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: leesville,la
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Digi-Key Part Number 296-41938-5-ND $2.02 plus shipping usps.
Part location and info
main board U712
Manufacturer Part Number
TPS54328DDA
Description IC REG BUCK ADJ 3A SYNC 8SOPWR
al1415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 01:39 PM   #102
midnightg35x
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: Iowa
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 33
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Quote:
Originally Posted by al1415 View Post
In the beginning on i had backlites when TV turned on, then when vizio logo go away just black screen. After plugging and unplugging and checking voltages i get only black screen and no backlites also no voltages going to T-Conn or LED driver board. On the main board their is A Synchronous Step-Down Converter location U712 Pin 2 was 1.3 volts now only .7 volts, also X201 has no voltage or the cap at connector for lvds cable to T-Conn no voltage where as before i lost backlites altogether i did have. I agree though issue is main board just what chip is the question. Could be U7612 breaking down under load maybe??
If U712 is a tps54328, pin 2 is the feedback. It should be at ~0.76V during normal operation according to the datasheet. I don't think that one is the issue. if the output voltage on that regulator is fine, I wouldn't worry about it.
midnightg35x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 05:07 PM   #103
enzodude
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: bako
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Just another data point- Same model and problems. Replaced eeprom with shopjimmy replacement. Same.
enzodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 11:53 AM   #104
enzodude
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: bako
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Replace main with a used ebay board. Now it comes on with Vizio logo and than goes dead. So the no backlight problem is definitely a main board issue.
enzodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 05:07 PM   #105
midnightg35x
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: Iowa
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 33
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Quote:
Originally Posted by enzodude View Post
Replace main with a used ebay board. Now it comes on with Vizio logo and than goes dead. So the no backlight problem is definitely a main board issue.
So the ebay board changed the issue, but did not solve it?
midnightg35x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 02:53 PM   #106
enzodude
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: bako
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightg35x View Post
So the ebay board changed the issue, but did not solve it?
Yes, Original main board had no backlight at all. Replacement would come up with Viz logo than backlight would go out. Also Swapped eeproms. No change.
enzodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 03:18 PM   #107
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,637
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

ok... so with the "new board" that gives you the logo, try disconnecting one of the tcon to panel cables and see what happens. Repeat doing the same with the other.... anything different from before?
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 02:58 PM   #108
al1415
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: leesville,la
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Just to throw in an update So far using leakseeker 89 I have found on main board Q210 bad which is on bottom side of board, going through downer boards that i have looking for a replacement transistor.
al1415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 01:39 AM   #109
midnightg35x
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: Iowa
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 33
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Quote:
Originally Posted by al1415 View Post
Just to throw in an update So far using leakseeker 89 I have found on main board Q210 bad which is on bottom side of board, going through downer boards that i have looking for a replacement transistor.
Looks to be a MMBT3904. Fairly common if you have spare parts or spare boards. I think I checked that particular transistor on my board with a multimeter and it was OK. I'm not sure what the leakseeker does or how well it works, so I cannot comment. On my board, it at least is not shorted because my thermal camera did not show any abnormal heat coming from it.
midnightg35x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 09:40 PM   #110
BeFreeTech
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
City & State: Port Orange
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Smile Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

I have the same P502UI-B1E TV with what I think is the same problem, but I'm new at troubleshooting new TV's.. The last time I worked on them they were mostly tubes.

My TV produces no display and gives no sign of LED illumination. It has no bloated caps, or other apparent physical trouble. When I power it up with the power switch the white "standby" light fades out. Then if it's turned on again the "standby" light flashes once, pauses then flashes 16 times, then goes out.

I replaced the power supply board because I had no 5v "standby" voltage loaded or unloaded, so figured must something on the board and since the board was inexpensive ordered one, but when the new one was installed I still had no 5v standby.

I also didn't want to spend $13 for the service manual. Maybe we split it?

Could it be that this model needs no 5v standby voltage? Like you I'm seeing the 24 volts, the 12v, and the 165 volts on the power board when it's plugged in. I'm sure these questions are neophyte level, but I have to start somewhere. Thanks for any help.
BeFreeTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 04:46 AM   #111
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,771
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Reading through this very long thread it appear from post #1 there is no 5v at the 5V point. Says no wire.

The checks that have been made are:-
Do you have approximately 400V across the two pins of the large capacitor on the power supply when you come out of standby

CN806
Pins 1 - 4 = 24V
Pins 5 - 8 = 0V

CN805 with backlights on
Pin 1 0V, Pin 2 = 1.5V, Pin 3 = 3.2V, Pin 4,5,6 = 0V
Pin 7 = 4.9V, Pin 8 = 4.2V, Pin 9 = 12.2V, Pin 10 No connection

On the led driver board
R8129 = 4.1V
C8067 = 1.8V

Do you have these voltages?
__________________
Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Last edited by dick_barton; 05-02-2018 at 04:48 AM..
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 04:46 PM   #112
Snipeye
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Utah
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Adding in my two cents: I've got a board that seems very similar to al1415 - I also traced that "unknown" enable signal back to the mainboard, transistor Q210 - and measured it as bad using my multimeter. I've ordered replacements from digikey, and I'll let you know if it works or not.
Snipeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 01:19 AM   #113
ARGO
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: FL
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

I have the same tv with same problem.
I have tried to replace eeprom - didn’t help.
I have tested t-con and panel by enabling test mode - panel and t-con works.
Now I’m sure that the problem in main board- it doesn’t enable 12V to t-con board and backlight.
ARGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 01:34 AM   #114
Brucetafer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Orlando Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

I just fixed one just like this with no power to the LEDS, and it ended up being a burned out power supply and cooked the ribbon cable as well. no idea how..

D9202 D9204 D9206 were all blown out on the cold side.

Last edited by Brucetafer; 07-19-2018 at 01:39 AM..
Brucetafer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 08:30 PM   #115
Snipeye
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Utah
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Update: I’ve replaced that transistor - no effect. I forgot to test the one I took out when it was out of circuit, but it probably was fine - seeing as it made no difference. All my voltages appear fine, so I do t think it’s the power supply. I went as far as removing the panel and testing every backlight individually, and they are all fine.

At this point, I’m fairly convinced it’s the main board - but I don’t know where/why. If I hold down my power button for a while (30 seconds or so?) my indicator light blinks on/off 30 times, waits a while, then does it again. Really debating buying that service manual. I need a list of things that would cause the enable signal to not be sent...
Snipeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 10:45 PM   #116
ARGO
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: FL
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Here is eeprom
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...&postcount=168
ARGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 09:15 AM   #117
Snipeye
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Utah
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

I’ve tried replacing the eeprom with one from shopJimmy’s site, are you suggesting that flashing it might work better?
Snipeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 10:19 AM   #118
ARGO
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: FL
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snipeye View Post
I’ve tried replacing the eeprom with one from shopJimmy’s site, are you suggesting that flashing it might work better?
No, result will be the same.
I left this link for future readers...😀
ARGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 04:08 PM   #119
Snipeye
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Utah
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Got it.
Is there a chance that this fault is caused by another eeprom somewhere on the mainboard, and could be fixed by flashing something other than u202? We’d need a functional one for reference...
Snipeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 05:42 PM   #120
ARGO
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: FL
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19
Default Re: Vizio P502UI-B1E has no backlight, no voltage from driver board to LED's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snipeye View Post
Got it.
Is there a chance that this fault is caused by another eeprom somewhere on the mainboard, and could be fixed by flashing something other than u202? We’d need a functional one for reference...
I have not seen any other eeprom on board.
ARGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?