Badcaps Forums

Badcaps Forums (https://www.badcaps.net/forum/index.php)
-   General Computer Discussion (https://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   wd diag error message (https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8628)

willawake 01-06-2010 02:14 PM

wd diag error message
 
i am just testing a wd hdd for installation wd2500aajs sata client supply
the dlgdiag 5.04f make some error at end of extended test
it pass quick test though

it make sector relocation error 0226

unable to correct the errors found

warning command issued while DRQ set

any idea bout this shit? rma?

i am testing a second for client, same model and will advise too
perhaps he is a masochist, wd die early and then he buys more wd?

i4004 01-06-2010 02:24 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
and what should he buy, maxtor?
seagate 7200.11?
meh...

check the SMART to see if there are any reallocated sectors...if so, rma...if they accept that...heh

washu 01-06-2010 02:28 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
It means it found one or more bad sectors and cannot remap them to spares. Likely it has run out of spares which is a very bad sign if the drive is relatively new.



RMA it.

acstech 01-06-2010 02:28 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
I agree with i4004. Computer equipment any more is a crap shoot. Might as well buy WD as anything else.

RMA time.

willawake 01-06-2010 02:39 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
other drive did the same. these are brand new.

i4004 01-06-2010 04:32 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
try windows version (perhaps that old dos version is a dud for these new drives)
http://support.wdc.com/product/downl...&sid=3&lang=en

as they say:
http://support.wdc.com/techinfo/gene...rcodes.asp#v28
"226 Sector Relocation Error Failure to relocate a sector during drive repair. The drive has to be replaced."

oh yeah, also see what SMART says via programs such as everest, or speed fan, etc.

if everything STILL points to reallocation error, rma...

i wonder if my hdds would pass those dldiag tests..i never did them...hehe...

willawake 01-06-2010 05:06 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
yeah i agree. maybe a software prob.
usually i run full test on any new drive.

i4004 01-06-2010 05:20 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
i do keep an eye on SMART, though.
nothing reallocated on my hdds.

SMART also has parameter "Reallocation Event Count" for which wiki says the following;

"Count of remap operations. The raw value of this attribute shows the total number of attempts to transfer data from reallocated sectors to a spare area. Both successful & unsuccessful attempts are counted."

also see "Current Pending Sector Count"

"Number of "unstable" sectors (waiting to be remapped, because of read errors). If an unstable sector is subsequently written or read successfully, this value is decreased and the sector is not remapped. Read errors on a sector will not remap the sector (since it might be readable later); instead, the drive firmware remembers that the sector needs to be remapped, and remaps it the next time it's written."

---------------------
if dldiag was right, then you should see something there.

NxB 01-06-2010 07:22 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
Its out of sectors to remap to. You can try hdd regenerator, its on hirens or http://www.dposoft.net/. If the drive is new I'd replace it. I've done this to old customer drives that failed so I could use them.

stj 01-06-2010 09:20 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
try emailing wd if you have the same fault on 2.
it could be a software bug, or it could be a known bad batch of drives.

acstech 01-07-2010 11:46 AM

Re: wd diag error message
 
I've seen this lack of quality control spanning most computer components throughout the industry. It isn't just hard drives. People can say "oh I got a few of these and they worked," but that only means the ones they got worked. I've personally built the same system, with the same components 3x and got different results on each one.

The QC anymore is, for all intents and purposes, non-existant. They push to get the product out the door, problems or not. Most people just put up with it, problems or no. If it's completely DOA they send it back and get a replacement. Better to replace a few than be second one out the door on the latest thing.

So what are we left with? Building a computer any more is a crapshoot. You've got unstable motherboards, overpriced or shoddy PSU's, fans that die, capacitors that blow up, drives that get bad sectors, etc. Ever take a look inside a Dell? See the decent capacitors in there? That QC extends to other components too! Funny how they get the "good stuff" and we get the crap. That is, unless you want to pay more. Arguments can be made for building a PC, but it's getting pretty thin. Like I said, QC just isn't there for components you can buy. I've been in this for 12 years and I have seen quality take a nosedive. It used to be I could build a computer that would be more stable than anything the likes of Dell could produce, for about the same money. Now, with a 20% and growing failure rate, what's the point? I don't make money at it any more. I'm stuck with Chinese crap, unless I want to blow the budget.

So now it's either use server grade components, buy a Dell, or shoot the crap with Chinese sh*t.

Sorry to steal your thread Will. I'd say keep after 'em until they give you one that works. Hopefully they're not making you pay shipping.

i4004 01-07-2010 12:20 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
good choices can still be made.
but otoh you can also have weird things like my friend recently had: his gb mobo started having sata controller issues...off to buy another mobo(this time asus) and it won't boot.
ok, he returns that one, he gets another one(anopther shop) msi, this time.
won't boot.
2 in a row?

then he removes the cpu and puts it back again, and mobo starts to work.
hihi....

crapshot indeed.

otoh, i got 2 biostar mobos and both work "out of the box".

Toasty 01-07-2010 01:10 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
>>other drive did the same. these are brand new.<<
Check for BIOS updates. Sounds like a controller problem.

willawake 01-07-2010 01:53 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
ok i tested them in my comp and the two new ones passed the extended test and even the user's original hdd which was going pingpingping in his comp passed too and was read fine.

so now i am looking at either mobo problem or its the shitty psu (opened it and it looked crap). will do more testing tomorrow.

ratdude747 01-07-2010 02:35 PM

Re: wd diag error message
 
well then no shit sherlock! (sorry, willa). bad psu= controller voltage issues. try another psu.

Toasty 02-02-2010 03:28 AM

Re: wd diag error message
 
Any progress Willa? Or has the office move taken over...?? :)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.