Badcaps Forums

Badcaps Forums (https://www.badcaps.net/forum/index.php)
-   Major Manufacturers Boards (https://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   ASUS now makes boards for Intel? (https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=67207)

Behemot 01-23-2018 11:39 PM

ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
Had couple IntEl boards in my hands lately, all of them had those reversed polarity marking crap for caps. So A(u)S(h)US makes boards for them now or what?

goodpsusearch 01-24-2018 06:47 AM

Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
Foxconn

Behemot 01-24-2018 07:09 AM

Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
Never seen that on Foxconn board before so why would that be Foxconn?

goodpsusearch 01-24-2018 09:01 PM

Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
1 Attachment(s)
From Dell Optiplex GX280

jiroy 01-25-2018 07:07 AM

Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
There was an announcement from Intel that it will stop manufacturing boards since some years . To read more on this issue :

https://www.pcworld.com/article/2025...m-factors.html


https://gizmodo.com/5978232/intel-to...p-motherboards

Topcat 01-25-2018 12:50 PM

Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Behemot (Post 799560)
Had couple IntEl boards in my hands lately, all of them had those reversed polarity marking crap for caps. So A(u)S(h)US makes boards for them now or what?

I've seen a few of those as well. After 15 years of recapping, you learn to check any/all boards before starting a job....I've done full recaps a few times before realizing I had them all installed backward... :facepalm:

goontron 01-25-2018 06:00 PM

Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
^ MMMmmm Popcorn!

Topcat 01-25-2018 10:29 PM

Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by goontron (Post 800085)
^ MMMmmm Popcorn!

Never fired one like that, always caught it before that point....but it sure made a lot of extra work for myself correcting it.

Behemot 01-25-2018 10:38 PM

Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
These were fortunatelly capped OK, but it's professional deformation to always check it thoroughly…that's how I noticed it.

momaka 01-28-2018 09:55 PM

Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Behemot (Post 799560)
Had couple IntEl boards in my hands lately, all of them had those reversed polarity marking crap for caps. So A(u)S(h)US makes boards for them now or what?

Yeah, I noticed that as well maybe a year or two ago as well. But since the boards came out of OEM PCs, I assumed they were made by ASUS and I completely ignored the memo that some of them actually said "Intel" on them. I happened to realize that when browsing yesterday on eBay and found this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-DG35E.../192438966982?

As I always inspect eBay boards for badcaps, spotting the "backwards"-installed was one of the first things I noticed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jiroy (Post 799917)
There was an announcement from Intel that it will stop manufacturing boards since some years .

Ah, another mobo maker removed from the equation - how boring!
So what do we have now? Only ASUS, MSI, and Gigabyte? I could swear that some recent MSI and Gigabyte motherboards look almost like exact copies of each other, so maybe we are down to two manufacturers only? If so, that's sad times then. :\

Quote:

Originally Posted by Topcat (Post 799991)
I've seen a few of those as well. After 15 years of recapping, you learn to check any/all boards before starting a job....I've done full recaps a few times before realizing I had them all installed backward... :facepalm:

:lol: Lol that must have been a major RAGE-meme moment when you realized that. :)

I had to do lots of ASUS motherboards when I started recapping, so naturally I got used to seeing the "backwards" cap placement quite often - in fact so much that sometimes I had to check the cap orientation on my non-ASUS boards, as I almost did one backwards, thanks to ASUS :redface: ... *almost* So far, though, I have never powered up a board with caps installed backwards by mistake - if there was one, I always caught it on time.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.