Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Power Supply Design and Troubleshooting
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2009, 04:11 PM   #21
i4004
Badcaps Veteran
 
i4004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Hrvatska, Dalmacija
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

i cannot but always admire bonez' black/white world: if antec is shit, what is the psu in the first post of this thread?

ie compare this delta made earthwatts
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules/NDR...0/DSCF0036.jpg
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules/NDR...0/DSCF0041.jpg
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...print&reid=110
to the thing in the beginning of the thread...

or seasonic made 500w model
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...=print&reid=35

weirdlookinguy got it right.
and to the point that SOME antec models are not just "half bad"...they actually top of the class in the particular category...
look at those PCBs...

offcourse, next batch may be of totally different kind and category, so be sure to peek in the box thru those fan grilles..
<wink>
__________________

...Another city goes by, in the night...
i4004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 04:30 PM   #22
everell
Badcaps Veteran
 
everell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Williamsburg, Virginia
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,012
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

Considering that we are in the midst of an economic "depression", the politically correct term is "cost out".......you take a perfectly good high quality item, then see how much cost you can remove from the manufacture of it. Then say it is just as good!

This is not just a practice by the computer power supply manufacturers....it is everything. So, the greed bug has bit, manufactured items go thru "cost out", and profit is maximum. Problem is.......for us the consumer.......it means nearly everything breaks down sooner than in the past.

So I expect Antec is going thru "cost out", and CompUSA must have been doing it much sooner - looking at the psu in the first post. In the long run - just look at where CompUSA is today.

Funny thing is - when folks say such bad things about Antec, I thought they just misspelled the word Bestec.
everell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 04:42 PM   #23
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via AIM to 370forlife
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

I would have to agree that while antec had some duds in the past, not that the old CWT's were even that bad apart from the caps, their new units today are very nice performers. I have yet to see a failed ltec or taicon in a psu. They seem to perform pretty good, just as teapo.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by JFK
The American, by nature, is optimistic. He is experimental, an inventor and a builder who builds best when called upon to build greatly
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 04:46 PM   #24
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,846
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

my point is that one can find a delta and the like for less but get a nicer product. pay more, get less (other than BLING), i don't think so.
__________________


(Insert signature here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 05:01 PM   #25
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via AIM to 370forlife
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747
my point is that one can find a delta and the like for less but get a nicer product. pay more, get less (other than BLING), i don't think so.
The only problem is most of the units like these cater to you just fine. Other people with high power consumption graphics cards, lots of hard drives, sli setups, etc... need more connectors, longer connectors, more 12v amperage than those can deliver. Also get modularity on a lot of units, which is a plus for cable management, and sleeved cables I would hardly consider bling, they just look good.

Also, you may be able to get a 300-400W delta for $10-$30, but good luck finding a 650W delta for that much. The DPS-700FB's are getting harder and harder to find, not to mention their lack of cables. They still run about $50 to $60 on ebay.
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 05:49 PM   #26
i4004
Badcaps Veteran
 
i4004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Hrvatska, Dalmacija
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

>my point is that one can find a delta and the like for less but get a nicer product.

are you sure?
show us the prices and models, in comparison to antec deltas.

situation here is such that i just CANNOT find CWT made psu(any brand!) for acceptable price.
it seems they do only higher wattage and i'm not interested in that at all.

i'm also waiting for the bonez proof of recent antec psu with badcaps appearing in production after a certain period.
to that extent i think i'm waiting first pic of ANY psu dismantled by bonez, and i think it'll be a while...
<wink>

if antec was putting fuhyuv in particular period, or for particular series or two, that really means less to me....and if antec is putting that crap in today, i would like to know. i think we all would.
i4004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 06:13 PM   #27
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch
Can you explain that?

thnx
Yeah,
The reviews show them with at least some Japanese caps in critical areas.
If you buy one a year later they are 100% CH & TW caps.
.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 06:50 PM   #28
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,372
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by i4004

if antec was putting fuhyuv in particular period, or for particular series or two, that really means less to me....and if antec is putting that crap in today, i would like to know. i think we all would.
I wont forgive antec for that, because I bought an antec true power v1.0 380watt psu that died just a year later and then I got with rma a v2.0 true power same watts that is full of fuhyuv caps and now I have to recap it...

A friend of mine also had his hard drive killed along with all of his data that were stored on it by a similar antec as mine.

When you pay more than 100 euros (me 107, my friend around 118) for a psu you can't accept such behaviour... And they knew that these caps were bad, but they continued using them for years...
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 06:55 PM   #29
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via AIM to 370forlife
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch
When you pay more than 100 euros (me 107, my friend around 118) for a psu you can't accept such behaviour... And they knew that these caps were bad, but they continued using them for years...
CWT still uses Asia-X in their low-end units, I have a couple of those cheap Broadway com corp psu's that are low end old CWT's that still have 2009 date codes on the pcb's that are littered with Asia-X and FHY primaries.

Though, all their new designed higher watt units use UCC.

Last edited by 370forlife; 11-29-2009 at 06:59 PM..
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 07:54 PM   #30
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

I know Antec used Fuhjyyu in:

Antec PP-303X [Reviews indicate it came in Antec cases at least back to 1999.]
PP-412X, PP-510D [Came in Antec cases.]
Smart Power
Smart Power II
[All the SL-xxx and SP-xxx model numbers marked 'Smart Power' or not.]
True
True Power
True Blue
True Power II
Neo
AR300, AR350, [came in cases]
[I probably missed some.]

The when Antec realized they were getting known for crap they dropped CWT and picked up Seasonic as an OEM...
But they had Seasonic cost-down the Antec builds using OST caps which aren't much better than Fuhjyyu...
That move might have spoofed the general public but it didn't fool anyone here.

Now I'm finding 2009 built 650w Earthwatts with 100% LTEC and Taicon after seeing reviews that said they had at least some Chemicon.
.

I will never ever buy an Antec PSU new but when I see an Earthwatt for extra cheap I've been grabbing them because the recap is pretty easy and I'm rotating out the older low efficiency PSU's around here.
.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 10:33 PM   #31
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
Posts: 7,254
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

just had an antec basiq550? here full of blown crapxon.
had a mid 08 date.not acceptable!antec is not a brand i would buy new unless they were fire sale cheap.and would recap before using.owner of the 550 was pissed! he thought his new board,ram,ect was bad.as soon as i saw antec i told him to pull it and remove the cover.he was worried about the warrenty.hell with the warrenty you just get another like it and do a repeat!
he spotted the blown caps as soon as the cover was off. OH SHIT!
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 08:34 AM   #32
i4004
Badcaps Veteran
 
i4004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Hrvatska, Dalmacija
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

>CWT still uses Asia-X in their low-end units

could you name few brands where these low end cwts could be found?
i4004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:21 PM   #33
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via AIM to 370forlife
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by i4004
>CWT still uses Asia-X in their low-end units

could you name few brands where these low end cwts could be found?
Broadway Com Corp for one. They also use YueLin though.

I have this psu. I can post pics of the caps later, can't really when at school

The other CWT unit they provide on newegg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu
just had an antec basiq550? here full of blown crapxon.
Could be a delta, though they just recently changed the basiq's to delta. It is probably a FSP.
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:28 PM   #34
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via AIM to 370forlife
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

Solytech also uses them in their cheaper psu's.

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story2&reid=65

Sure it exploded, but no more than 35mv of ripple shows that asia-x does pretty good when they are new.
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:40 PM   #35
i4004
Badcaps Veteran
 
i4004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Hrvatska, Dalmacija
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

>I can post pics of the caps later, can't really when at school

sure, it would be interesting to see its guts...(not just caps but everything)
i4004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 02:43 PM   #36
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via AIM to 370forlife
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

BCC OKIA "550W" actually based on a really old 235W.

The original input caps are two "FHY" brand 200v, 470uf's.

Secondary caps from left to right:

(5vsb filtering)
50v, 47uf Asia-x
16v, 470uf Asia-x
16v, 1000uf Asia-x

(3.3V filtering)
10v, 1000uf Asia-x
10v, 1000uf Asia-x

(12V filtering)
16v, 1000uf Asia-x
16v, 680uf Asia-x

(5V filtering)
10v, 1000uf Asia-x
10v, 1000uf Asia-x

Original Secondary Schottky's
Left to right

3.3v - 45V, 20A

5v - 45V, 20A

12v - 20V, 16A



I replaced the secondary schottky's and the secondary heatsink, as it just seemed to lack so much substance. The new secondary schottky's are

3.3V - 45V, 30A

5V - 2x 60V, 30A

12V - 45V, 30A

Also added a input filter coil, two Y caps, and a X cap as well as a bridge rectifier and 200V, 680uf nichicon primaries.

(note how I had to bend the secondary schottky's every which way to get the new heatsink to fit in.)



Attached Images
File Type: jpg bcc 004small.JPG (62.2 KB, 189 views)
File Type: jpg bcc 009small.JPG (69.0 KB, 188 views)
File Type: jpg bcc 012small.JPG (68.1 KB, 188 views)
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 03:25 PM   #37
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,846
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

nice job!
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 06:07 PM   #38
i4004
Badcaps Veteran
 
i4004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Hrvatska, Dalmacija
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

so i presume cwt has two production lines: one for good and one for crappy psus...
hehe...

is that their logo, above the +5vstby trafo's optocoupler, near the fuse?
usually use such dark blue/green trafos?
i4004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 06:31 PM   #39
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via AIM to 370forlife
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by i4004
so i presume cwt has two production lines: one for good and one for crappy psus...
hehe...

is that their logo, above the +5vstby trafo's optocoupler, near the fuse?
usually use such dark blue/green trafos?
I'm sure that they have two factories, one that still has all the old tooling and everything to make the old units, one cranking out their new units. Just as SPI/FSP has 4 factories that vary greatly in quality. That symbol above the opto is probably the company that makes the pcb.

Ya, CWT started using dark green on their units. Don't know why.

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...tory4&reid=171
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...tory4&reid=170

Just a couple.

Last edited by 370forlife; 11-30-2009 at 06:38 PM..
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 06:46 PM   #40
i4004
Badcaps Veteran
 
i4004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Hrvatska, Dalmacija
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: COMPUSA 250 watt ATX power supply

yeah, stuff by old factory seems too cheap for my taste...while stuff from new one is too expensive...
so all in all i won't be looking for cwt stuff anymore.
i4004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?