Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2009, 03:46 PM   #1
dvorav
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Czech Republic, Europe
Posts: 35
Default Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Hello everyone,

I have got broken Samsng SynsMaster 720N. There is no picture when turned on. But there is also power led is blinking.
All caps seem fine, they are Suscon's (I don't know the quality - yet). Can bad caps do the blinking? Or is it probably something else? I have checked solder joints as well - all little bit oxidised, but I don't think it is the main source of the problem.
I'll be glad to see your opinion.

dvorav
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF2582.JPG (757.8 KB, 163 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF2588.JPG (944.6 KB, 91 views)
dvorav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 04:01 PM   #2
dvorav
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Czech Republic, Europe
Posts: 35
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Further testing showed, that monitor can't be even turned off - it is turned on permanently.
dvorav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 05:13 PM   #3
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Have you checked the power supply output voltage? The blinking power LED may indicate a fault condition.

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 05:52 PM   #4
Bobdee
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
City & State: WALES UK
Posts: 461
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

I have same symptoms on LG Flatron, after about 1 minute of flashing on/off, my bridge rectifier is cooking,but the odd thing is when I check it , it checks out OK, but I have heard of faulty ones doing just that, might be worth checking yours out
Bobdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 08:56 PM   #5
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Mecca, CA
Posts: 1,305
Send a message via MSN to EGuevarae
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvorav
Further testing showed, that monitor can't be even turned off - it is turned on permanently.
I now have that problem with one monitor. The fault (in my case) is the video board. Also, I had that problem with a Proview 568, and it ended up being the caps at the video board. The voltages out of the PSU are stable?
__________________
There are 10 kind of people in this world: those that understand binary, and those who don't.
  • ASRock P43DE
  • Dual Core E6300 2.8GHz
  • 4gb DDR2-800
  • 500GB & 1TB SATA2 WD HDDs
  • 22x SATA DVD+RW
  • Windows 7 Pro
  • GeForce 8500GT PCIe
    2 x Vewsonic VP2130 21"
Badcaps.net Folding@home team member.
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:22 AM   #6
dvorav
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Czech Republic, Europe
Posts: 35
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

I have measured the PSU. The main capacitor has voltage around 100V against ground, it was stable. I haven't measured output voltage to the CCFL because Iím not sure about the voltage - 2000V is too high for my equipment to measure. Once the CCFL went on for short time, I suppose, that they are good. During the measurement LED stopped blinking for a while. There was such a high buzzing noise. Then it stopped. LED wasn't shining any more since then. But the buzzing noise continued to appear every 2 minutes or so.
Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
dvorav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 10:01 AM   #7
Scenic
o.O
 
Scenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: Duisburg
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 2,615
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

about 100V on the primary cap seems "a bit" too low...
seems like something's shorted out or something...

any components getting hot...?

i'd suggest to replace all caps at first. Su'scon isn't what i'd call reliable.. :S
__________________
The USA have Barack Obama, Bob Hope, Stevie Wonder and Jonny Cash.
We have Angela Merkel, no hope, no wonder, no cash.
Scenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 10:05 AM   #8
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Mecca, CA
Posts: 1,305
Send a message via MSN to EGuevarae
Post Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvorav
I have measured the PSU. The main capacitor has voltage around 100V against ground, it was stable. I haven't measured output voltage to the CCFL because Iím not sure about the voltage - 2000V is too high for my equipment to measure. Once the CCFL went on for short time, I suppose, that they are good. During the measurement LED stopped blinking for a while. There was such a high buzzing noise. Then it stopped. LED wasn't shining any more since then. But the buzzing noise continued to appear every 2 minutes or so.
Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
When I suggested to check if the voltages were stable, I was referring to the voltages in this output:


Your voltages are stable?
  • Between 5 & 6 (GND & BLON) there must be voltage with the monitor ON and with signal (VGA cable connected). That is the line that turns on the lamps.Normally 5v.
  • Between 6 & 1 (or 6 & 2) should be 5v also.

And one more thing: 100 v in the big guy seems too low to me.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF2582.JPG (48.6 KB, 349 views)
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 11:17 AM   #9
dvorav
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Czech Republic, Europe
Posts: 35
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by eguevarae
When I suggested to check if the voltages were stable, I was referring to the voltages in this output:

Your voltages are stable?
  • Between 5 & 6 (GND & BLON) there must be voltage with the monitor ON and with signal (VGA cable connected). That is the line that turns on the lamps.Normally 5v.
  • Between 6 & 1 (or 6 & 2) should be 5v also.

And one more thing: 100 v in the big guy seems too low to me.
Fitst of all, thanks for contributing.

1) When VGA cable connected, I was possible to turn it on (power LED was shining). Then I measured 3.21V between 5 & 6. After while the LED started blinking. I measured the 5 & 6 again obtaining 0.02V (almost zero). Thatís the problem.
Voltage measured between 6 & 1 was 5.08 - I suppose that is ok.

2) I was confused how to measure that big cap. I measured AC between legs and ground (now I know it wasnít proper) resulting in around 130V. But then I measured voltage between legs - 346V or so. It seems better.

And the conclusion is - bad signal board? Or maybe several caps on signal board are bad?
dvorav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 11:18 AM   #10
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Check the voltage on the big cap across the legs of the cap. You can't get a meaningful reading to ground. If you're running the monitor on 120 VAC, the voltage across the cap should be 165 - 170 VDC.

Don't bother trying to read the voltage out of the inverter. It's a high frequency, high voltage signal. It takes a special meter to get an accurate reading.

EDIT. OK, you already did that. 340V is about right if you're running it at 240VAC. I assume you're in Europe where the use REAL electricity, not the wimpy stuff we have here in the USA.

PlainBill

Last edited by PlainBill; 03-13-2009 at 11:21 AM..
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 11:19 AM   #11
dvorav
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Czech Republic, Europe
Posts: 35
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Well - I got it now (too slow ) but if output voltage from PSU isn't stable - it must be the PSU. But where is the source of that problem?
dvorav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 11:23 AM   #12
dvorav
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Czech Republic, Europe
Posts: 35
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill
Check the voltage on the big cap across the legs of the cap. You can't get a meaningful reading to ground. If you're running the monitor on 120 VAC, the voltage across the cap should be 165 - 170 VDC.

Don't bother trying to read the voltage out of the inverter. It's a high frequency, high voltage signal. It takes a special meter to get an accurate reading.
Thanks for remark.

I have realised I wasn't right. I'm running that monitor on 230V AC so reading 346V or so is meaningfull.

Edit: to: PlainBill Exactly Europe.

Last edited by dvorav; 03-13-2009 at 11:28 AM..
dvorav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 11:31 AM   #13
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvorav
Well - I got it now (too slow ) but if output voltage from PSU isn't stable - it must be the PSU. But where is the source of that problem?
A quick lesson. The power supply converts line voltage to DC, in this case it outputs 5VDC for the logic board and probably 12VDC for the inverter (which happens to be on the same board). The logic board feeds two signals back to the inverter - On/Off and Brightness. When the power LED starts blinking the logic board also instructs the inverter to turn off. That's why pin 5 dropped from 3.21V (On) to 0V (Off).

One question - was the VGA cable connected to a WORKING computer - one with an active output?

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 11:35 AM   #14
dvorav
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Czech Republic, Europe
Posts: 35
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

to: Scenic There aren't any components radiating extraordinary heat. But the caps may be bad. I'll try to exchange them.
dvorav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 11:50 AM   #15
dvorav
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Czech Republic, Europe
Posts: 35
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill
A quick lesson. The power supply converts line voltage to DC, in this case it outputs 5VDC for the logic board and probably 12VDC for the inverter (which happens to be on the same board). The logic board feeds two signals back to the inverter - On/Off and Brightness. When the power LED starts blinking the logic board also instructs the inverter to turn off. That's why pin 5 dropped from 3.21V (On) to 0V (Off).

One question - was the VGA cable connected to a WORKING computer - one with an active output?

PlainBill
Thanks for explanation.

If I understand it right, PSU giving 3.21V. Thus signal board evaluates the PSU signal as faulty and then turns the PSU and itself off.

I'm testing it on my PC from where I'm actually writing. VGA was connected to running secondary monitor - I used it as a source.
dvorav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 12:41 PM   #16
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvorav
Thanks for explanation.

If I understand it right, PSU giving 3.21V. Thus signal board evaluates the PSU signal as faulty and then turns the PSU and itself off.
No, the signal is going in the opposite direction.

Pins 1 & 2 are 5V from the PSU to the signal (logic) board 5.08V is right for this.
Pins 3 & 6 are Ground
Pins 4 & 5 control the inverter (the power supply for the backlights). 4 is brightness, 5 is On / Off

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvorav
I'm testing it on my PC from where I'm actually writing. VGA was connected to running secondary monitor - I used it as a source.
That would indicate the problem is on the signal board. For some reason it's not recognizing the VGA signal.

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 01:48 PM   #17
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Mecca, CA
Posts: 1,305
Send a message via MSN to EGuevarae
Post Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill
No, the signal is going in the opposite direction.

Pins 1 & 2 are 5V from the PSU to the signal (logic) board 5.08V is right for this.
Pins 3 & 6 are Ground
Pins 4 & 5 control the inverter (the power supply for the backlights). 4 is brightness, 5 is On / Off



That would indicate the problem is on the signal board. For some reason it's not recognizing the VGA signal.

PlainBill
Exactly.
Think of it like this :
The PSU has the inverter on the same board, but it does not know when to turn the lamps on or off. It pumps out 5v (5.08v in your case) to the Video/Signal/Main board for it's components to work, and internally, via jumpers, delivers between 12 and 14v to the inverter part of the board.
The VBoard process the signal input, and if there's valid signal, it send a signal (5v normally) back to the inverter to signal it that the Back Light should be turned ON (that's why normally this line is called BLON, BL_ON, or, in your case, ON/OFF). The line called BRI (Brightness) is used to control the intensity of the lamps when you modify the bright setting. It is variable.
If you remove the signal, the VBoard removes the signal from the BL_ON line and the inverter shuts off. This is under normal conditions. If the VBoard has any fault, and the V on the BLON line cuts or varies, the lamps would be turned off.
That's why I (tried to) told you in post #5. Now, with the readings you posted, it makes more sense. Nw we must give proper attention to the signal board. Post a picture and info on the caps present there, please, so we can continue the trip to the other side of the monitor.
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 02:37 PM   #18
dvorav
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Czech Republic, Europe
Posts: 35
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Thanks for patience with me. I have great regard for it.

I have taken some pictures of the Video Board. All caps are Su'scons. Although they are in good visual state, they may be faulty. Complete list and placement of the caps is attached.

Is there chance, that the problem is in faulty caps?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg VB.jpg (686.9 KB, 144 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF2606.JPG (596.0 KB, 89 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF2601.JPG (599.8 KB, 95 views)

Last edited by dvorav; 03-13-2009 at 02:45 PM..
dvorav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 05:48 PM   #19
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Mecca, CA
Posts: 1,305
Send a message via MSN to EGuevarae
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvorav
Thanks for patience with me. I have great regard for it.

I have taken some pictures of the Video Board. All caps are Su'scons. Although they are in good visual state, they may be faulty. Complete list and placement of the caps is attached.

Is there chance, that the problem is in faulty caps?
Well, in my case with the 568, they were G-Luxon, and I ended up changing all of them. Take a look at this thread
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 04:26 PM   #20
h4rdw4re
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Lukavac
My Country: Bosnia and Herezgovina
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Samsung SyncMaster 720N - power LED blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvorav View Post
Thanks for patience with me. I have great regard for it.

I have taken some pictures of the Video Board. All caps are Su'scons. Although they are in good visual state, they may be faulty. Complete list and placement of the caps is attached.

Is there chance, that the problem is in faulty caps?
Hi,
same situation here.
Power led slow blinking and won't turn on.
All capacitor look good, but I suspect to Video board.
Connect ON/OFF pin to 5V and backlight turn on, but blinking just like pwer led does, 5V voltage are stable, but on video board that voltage change its value from 5V to few mV, it seems that some kind of short circuit is there...
Now I'm trying to find what cause that situation...still not done replace capacitor on video board.
Any sugestions?
Do I go to the right direction (suspectiong on video board, nor power board)?
Sorry for my poor English.
Regards to all.

Ups, just saw that this post is more than 3 years old!
Sorry for that.

Last edited by h4rdw4re; 06-29-2012 at 04:28 PM.. Reason: Old post:D
h4rdw4re is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?