Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2005, 01:42 AM   #1
stretch0069
Screwed Up Super Moderator
 
stretch0069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: OKC
My Country: oooo ess aaaaaaaaa
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 2,526
Send a message via ICQ to stretch0069 Send a message via Yahoo to stretch0069
Default Monitors and resolution

Ok...I just found out that I have 19" CRTs and not 17". Hey...my eyesight is so bad anyway.

Anyway....I've been running at 1024x768 for ever. Tonight I just changed it to 1600x1200.

DAMN!

Its a bit weird, but I'm thinkin' I like it.

So...what are y'all runnin'?



EDIT
I just realized.....hi-res porn..... uh-huh...can ya feel it??




now back to our regularly scheduled
__________________
"Its all about the boom....."

Guns kill people like spoons made Rosie O'Donnell fat.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled drinking.

"Fear accompanies the possibility of death.....calm shepherds its certainty"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat
AWD is just training wheels for RWD.

Last edited by stretch0069; 04-07-2005 at 01:46 AM..
stretch0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 01:51 AM   #2
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,409
Send a message via ICQ to Topcat Send a message via AIM to Topcat
Default

1920x1200 @ 85Hz Refresh (16:10 aspect ratio) on a 24" Sony truflat CRT. It's GORGEOUS!! No replacement for real estate on a monitor!!
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Owner & Forum Administrator!!

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 09:03 AM   #3
stretch0069
Screwed Up Super Moderator
 
stretch0069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: OKC
My Country: oooo ess aaaaaaaaa
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 2,526
Send a message via ICQ to stretch0069 Send a message via Yahoo to stretch0069
Default

DAMN! 1920x1200??? I bet that looks cool as hell on a 24" CRT.

Ya know....now that I look at those LCDs...1280x1024 just doesn't cut it.

Maybe I'll keep dragging these CRTs around for a while longer.
stretch0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 11:27 AM   #4
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,012
Default

1280x1024 on a 17" tft at home and in the office. i prefer to run tfts at their default resolution. it is dissapointing to see the sammy tfts with 1280x1024 default resolution also for 19". should really move up a step.

it took some getting used to though moving from 1024x768.

big problem in the office though with the old guys. nothing more than 1024x768 and large fonts on their tfts or they complain. need better glasses?
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 10:38 AM   #5
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 557
Send a message via AIM to Chris1992 Send a message via MSN to Chris1992 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris1992
Default

1280x1024 on a 19" crt Dell crapmonitor. M992 not P992. ~18mos old and probably has bad flyback already judging from the intermittent whine. And I ran it at 1600x1200 for a year with no problems....
__________________
The great capacitor showdown!
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 09:50 PM   #6
AK0R
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
City & State: Hiawatha, IA
Posts: 203
Default

1024x768 on my 15" Nanao CRT. I'm thinking it might be time to upgrade. Actually, I know it is. The monitor has been getting flaky lately (intermittent wavy horizontal lines, and occasionally collapsing down to a single horizontal line in the middle of the screen), but after all, it is 13 years old. Not too bad, considering it started life on my 386 system, then my 486, then my P1, and now finally, my new(er) P4.
AK0R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 07:07 AM   #7
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 557
Send a message via AIM to Chris1992 Send a message via MSN to Chris1992 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris1992
Default

yes... it's time to upgrade.... I would suggest any Samsung CRT
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 07:33 AM   #8
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
yes... it's time to upgrade.... I would suggest any Samsung CRT
so would i....never look back (and i was highly against tfts for a long time)
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 11:20 AM   #9
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
Posts: 7,417
Default

actually samsung cant make a good crt to save their life.
the chassis is good but their tubes are crap.2 years max and going soft.
google blue label samsung and see.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 11:41 AM   #10
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,012
Default

fuck...i read samsung TFT....see what 1280 x 1024 is doing to me.....

Last edited by willawake; 05-24-2005 at 11:43 AM..
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 02:19 PM   #11
Gimpmaster3201
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

1280 x 1024 on a 19" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 930SB, very nice monitor.
Gimpmaster3201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 10:29 AM   #12
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 557
Send a message via AIM to Chris1992 Send a message via MSN to Chris1992 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris1992
Default

Ah. I've not had bad experiences with Samsung Crt personally, and their chassis is great. In that case, get a Mitsubishi Accusync LCD9V. I've read they're good but no $$ ATM.
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 10:50 AM   #13
bushytails
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 217
Default

I tend to go through monitors about once a year... either they fade to black over a couple months, or they start making pretty crackling noises and promptly let the smoke out.

Current monitors are a Viewsonic PS775 (17", with bnc inputs) on the left and a Gateway EV700 (also 17") on the right, both running at 1024x768.

Previous monitors... sony trinitron, faded to black. Princeton graphics something-or-other, crackling noises and died. Another gateway EV700, faded to black. older than that I don't remember.

In my spare monitor pile in the living room, a 17" trinitron with the anti-glare coating fucked up, and some other 17" monitor I don't remember and I'm too lazy to walk out there and check what it is.

I like both monitors of a dual-head setup to be the same size; hence why they're all 17", as that's what I can get cheaply usually...


--Randy
bushytails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 07:13 AM   #14
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 557
Send a message via AIM to Chris1992 Send a message via MSN to Chris1992 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris1992
Default

Man, Bushy, some bad luck! I have a crappy 15" crt that is aroung 7yrs old and still going strong. Need to put the new HSF on my m810lmr machine if I want to use it though...
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 07:40 AM   #15
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
Man, Bushy, some bad luck!
bad luck?

Quote:
I tend to go through monitors about once a year...
Quote:
as that's what I can get cheaply usually...
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 10:36 AM   #16
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 557
Send a message via AIM to Chris1992 Send a message via MSN to Chris1992 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris1992
Default

His monitors fail annually, which is why I said he had bad luck. His size decision was for price.

Quote:
I tend to go through monitors about once a year... either they fade to black over a couple months, or they start making pretty crackling noises and promptly let the smoke out.
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 06:21 PM   #17
VILE DISRUPTION
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Queensland,Australia
Posts: 47
Default Re: Monitors and resolution

my res:
Comp w/ 21'': 2048*1536 75hz or 1600*1200 85hz (monitor is 7 years old)
Comp w/ 17'': 1024*768 85hz (monitor is 4 years old)
sometimes these ultra high resolutions take a bit of getting used to.

Quote:
I tend to go through monitors about once a year... either they fade to black over a couple months, or they start making pretty crackling noises and promptly let the smoke out.
check your line voltage? because i had 4 lightbulbs blow within 1 day and found my line voltage was at 249VAC instead of 240VAC. now i use a line regulator and it has been
+|- 1 VAC ever since.
__________________

Stats Reset Every Month.
My Forums

Last edited by VILE DISRUPTION; 07-17-2006 at 06:22 PM.. Reason: Small addition
VILE DISRUPTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 07:09 PM   #18
Shroomie
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
City & State: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 356
Send a message via AIM to Shroomie Send a message via MSN to Shroomie
Default Re: Monitors and resolution

EV700s are great. They're only OK monitors but there's a massive flow of them since they've been around since the Gateway 2000 era and are still used today. Two cabinets, a few colors, same insides I believe.

I've got dual 17" CRTs here, 2304x864. (I can't run 2560x1024 at higher than 60 Hz, which gives me an awful headache!) Left one's an IBM C71 (2237) from 1998, the right one's a ViewSonic E70 from...2001 I think, that has a blue tint whenever the colors are manually adjusted. Both of them were free.
__________________
You know there's something wrong when you open up a PSU and are glad to find Teapos.
Why I don't buy cheap cases!
Shroomie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 07:17 PM   #19
moddolicous
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: Monitors and resolution

On my dad's comp, we run 800x600 w. 120 refresh rate and my brothers and I both run 1024x768 (for now) with 85refresh rate. All three are crt's (2 sony trinitrons, and mine is some envision garage sale thing). All 17". I'm getting a new screen (lcd) for my desk as there is no room with my current screen.
moddolicous is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 05:45 AM   #20
Spacedye69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Spacedye69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
City & State: Greenville, OH
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 675
Default Re: Monitors and resolution

Just got my first LCD. HP vs17. 1280 x 1024 @ 60hz. So much better than my 17" crt, even if it is cheap with boring specs.
Spacedye69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?