Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Battling the Bad Capacitors > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2008, 06:20 PM   #21
Wizard
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,297
Default Re: Recapped mobo effecting RAM?

Second post:

More comment on VIA; once I get stuff ready to go in, then I'll turf my last VIA-based computer with intel at work also XP. This pc is last one to go. Then I'll have pile of VIA working boards to sell off.

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 04:56 AM   #22
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Recapped mobo effecting RAM?

I used to have a QDI Advance 3 motherboard (old Super Socket 7 board with VIA chipset) that came in with 3 bad caps. Replaced all of the 1000uf 6.3V caps on the board with Nichicon HE series caps of the same capacitance and voltage, and with 128MB of RAM installed on the board it would freeze up to the point that the cursor is stuck and the keyboard doesn't respond. Trying Windows 98 and Windows ME made no difference. I put the same RAM into another computer of the same era that used PC100/PC133 memory, and it didn't freeze there.

Putting in 1 stick of 64MB PC100 RAM solved the freeze up problems, but putting back the 128MB PC100 RAM the freeze-up problems came back. It was a bizarre case for me, so later I gave up and scrapped that motherboard for parts.
__________________
My gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition 3.2GHz six-core processor (Socket AM3)
16GB G.SKILL Value Series DDR3-1333 RAM (4x4GB dual channel)
ASUS M4A77TD motherboard
PowerColor AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB GDDR5 PCI-Express x16 3.0 video card (AX7870 2GBD5-2DHV2)
Samsung EcoGreen F2 HD154UI 1.5TB SATA-II Hard Drive
ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channel PCI sound card
Antec HCG-400 400W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS BRONZE Power Supply
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Antec Three Hundred mid-tower case

Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.