Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2013, 11:48 AM   #1
hienton2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 117
Default RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

I have this tv RCA 42PA30RQ.Tv has red led turn to green when on., But It has no picture.Power relay click and click couple times.Remove power connector to these Y and X board. No more click and click but power is on.

Look at Y and X board on the side of tv I found 3 IBGT RJP30E2 shorted On Y board.And 2 IBGT RJH30E2 shorted on X board.
My question : If I order these expensive Mosfets and replace will fix the tv.Buffer board looks ok.Any body know what cause these Mosfets shorted?

Thanks
hienton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 01:41 PM   #2
hienton2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 117
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

I do not see any crack on screen.with power connector unplug from y and X board. I see
Va and Vs reachs 200v and 60v then goes down to zero.any idea please.
hienton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:05 PM   #3
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,856
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

The FETs fail due to poor design by Samsung. Inadequate heat sinking.
To test buffer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51SZsfH60EY
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

64 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 23 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 8 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 6 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 18 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:29 PM   #4
hienton2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 117
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

Thanks Tom66. I aready order the Fets .8 dollars a piece. Hope they will fix tv.
hienton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:34 PM   #5
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,856
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

You do realise both boards cost less than $40?

You may want to test buffer as I indicated. Also, the FET drivers may need to be tested. This is why I usually just swap these boards not just the FETs. I see the FETs on eBay for $2~$3 each.

Remember to use new thermal paste.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:43 PM   #6
hienton2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 117
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

~2 ~3 eur or dollars? Show me one seller has that cheap on Ebay Please
Not from HongKong China
hienton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:47 PM   #7
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,856
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

Oh I saw $8 each but it's $0.80? That's a damn good price. Where'd you get them from? Those were mostly China at $2~$3.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:55 PM   #8
hienton2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 117
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

http://www.ebay.com/itm/3pcs-RJH30E2...-/120886916895
hienton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:00 PM   #9
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,856
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

So $8 each...
Just checked the prices, you guys get shafted in the US... in the UK the boards for the PS42B450 (same panel as 42PA30RQ) are 15~20 each.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:10 PM   #10
hienton2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 117
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

I like to buy some plasma stuff from England but a bit too far same as Hong Kong. I do want to wait too long( Merchandies must pass custome gate). Nice to know you.
hienton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:12 PM   #11
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,856
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

Where do you live? Thought this model was US only. Maybe I'm wrong.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:44 PM   #12
hienton2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 117
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

You are right . USA
hienton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 01:38 AM   #13
tw2005
Badcaps Veteran
 
tw2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
City & State: NT
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 2,448
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

SJ has heaps of parts, ymains $23, Xmains $29, Y buffer $32 or a complete all boards kit $124 42PA30RQ-K1 S42AX-YB09 panel


http://www.shopjimmy.com/catalogsear...lt/?q=42PA30RQ

Result RJP30E2 (Equivalent Transistors)

Struct Pc Uce Ucesat Ueg Ic Tj Tr Cc Caps
1. RJP30E2DPP-M0 N-Channel 360V 1.7V 35A 150 TO220FL
2. RJP30E3DPP-M0 N-Channel 360V 1.6V 40A 150 TO220FL
3. RJP60D0DPP-M0 N-Channel 600V 1.6V 45A 70 TO220FL
4. RJP63F3DPP-M0 N-Channel 630V 1.7V 40A 100 TO220FL
tw2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 02:24 PM   #14
hienton2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 117
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

I replace the Mosfets on Y and x Sustain board . Add more heatsink to be sure .
TV work ok.
hienton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 02:29 PM   #15
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,856
Default Re: RCA 42pA30RQ no picture

Glad to hear.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?