Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2013, 12:54 PM   #1
MLONG1107
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Lebanon, Ohio
My Country: united states
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Samsung LN40A630M1F Start Up Problems

I'm new to tv repair, please forgive me. However i did use the search function and the closest one that i could find to mine is this one : http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...=samsung+t-con

Symptoms: At Startup after being off for 1 hr or so with the cable box / PS3 powered on it will have a scrambled screen and restart it self multiple times untill the screen looks fine. Intermittently there will be a high pitched squeal.

Here's a video (horrible quality i know) of what happens.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-yOb0XgySg

If the ps3/cable is off, the tv turns on fine but when you power on the cable/ps3 the screen scrambles and restarts multiple times. Also i noticed when going from SD Channel (480) to HD Channel (1080) when cold the screen will scramble as well.

After it warms up it will work flawlessly for hours and hours until it is turned off for an hour or so and then turned back on.

I called Samsung about the issue and they sent out a technician. They replaced the main board under the Class Action Lawsuit. All the Capacitors were fine, but they replaced the board anyway.

It's getting progressively worse. At first it would restart only one time and be fine, now its up to restarting 6 or 7 times.

I don't want to start throwing parts in the tv if i dont have to. Any Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by MLONG1107; 03-04-2013 at 12:56 PM..
MLONG1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:06 AM   #2
Mt.Man
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Atlanta, GA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default Re: Samsung LN40A630M1F Start Up Problems

Have you had the cable box replaced? Samsung replaced the main and power boards, theres nothing left in the TV that would cause your problem. You might double check that the TV has the latest software. Most likely the cable box is the problem.
Mt.Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:31 AM   #3
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13,203
Default Re: Samsung LN40A630M1F Start Up Problems

"They replaced the main board under the Class Action Lawsuit" But they did not replace the power supply board?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:33 AM   #4
MLONG1107
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Lebanon, Ohio
My Country: united states
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Samsung LN40A630M1F Start Up Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mt.Man View Post
Have you had the cable box replaced? Samsung replaced the main and power boards, theres nothing left in the TV that would cause your problem. You might double check that the TV has the latest software. Most likely the cable box is the problem.
We have not had the cable box replaced. This issue happens with both a ps3 and the cable box, so i didn't think it would have to do with the box. How do i check for the latest software. i know for a fact it has never been updated. its never been connected to the internet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
"They replaced the main board under the Class Action Lawsuit" But they did not replace the power supply board?
I'm sorry i was wrong they replaced the power supply under the CA Lawsuit.

I was told that it may be the main board or the FRC board?
MLONG1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:39 AM   #5
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,130
Default Re: Samsung LN40A630M1F Start Up Problems

FRC (frame rate corrector, i.e. 100Hz/120Hz) is on the T-con and has a moderately high failure rate, but I would be considering the main board myself. It's a real shame Samsung simply swapped the PSU rather than the capacitors, as that simply gives it another 2 years or so with poor quality caps.
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

65 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 24 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 8 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 19 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?