Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2013, 07:37 PM   #1
MdPhoenix
Member
 
MdPhoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Forest Hill, MD
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Good evening all.

I followed everything in this thread:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=21865

And have come up empty handed. I tested all coil packs on the inverter board and have ~2.2k between S1 and S2 and between S3 and S4 on each.

I've checked all three fuses (I even took them off the board to check them) and they're fine.

After reading through the thread again, I've realized that I have a slightly different problem.

When the power button is pressed, after about 5 seconds, I get a "Please Wait" which flashes momentarily, then goes out. The power light goes out as well, then the TV comes back on. I'm thinking maybe I have a power supply issue? Looking at the caps, they all appear intact. I've repaired many a monitor and have found by reading here that often, it's not an obvious cap which has blown, but a smaller, if I remember the term, "startup cap"? which has gone bad? From the constant power on/off cycle the TV is going through, am I on the right track?

Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated.
MdPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:50 PM   #2
Dgtech
Junior Advisor
 
Dgtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Pittsburgh, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

I just had the same problem with an NS-LCD32. I had to replace the main board and it fixed the problem. You might want to research some threads with that model number too as the failure sounds familiar to what I had and what answer I found in a thread.
__________________
The strong-minded rise to the challenge of their goals,the weak-minded BECOME HATERS

Dgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:56 PM   #3
MdPhoenix
Member
 
MdPhoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Forest Hill, MD
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Thanks! I'll start checking pricing. Any other suggestions?
MdPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:09 PM   #4
Dgtech
Junior Advisor
 
Dgtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Pittsburgh, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

These mainboards are not cheap at all. Good luck.

Check all of the regulators on the mainboard if it's easy to get to. The set that I worked on had a cage around it that was a pain to remove and once removed, I was afraid to power it up because it may have connected the ground from one circuit to the other.
Dgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 05:40 PM   #5
MdPhoenix
Member
 
MdPhoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Forest Hill, MD
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

I found a few on Ebay for between 75 and 150. I didn't pay for the TV so it may be worth it. I've already had the main board out with all the shielding off. I'll pop it out again and see what I can find with the components.

Thanks again!
MdPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:10 AM   #6
Bafury
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: sanford
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

I have the same tv, with the same " please wait ' problem.. I checked the inverter transformers, and i think they're good. I'm not sure if I was suppose to test them when the set was plugged in or not..

I do have the service manual for this set, so if you're interested in it, let me know.. If you do figure out what the problem is then post it for the rest of us..

teeveegeenee@gmail.com

I'm thinking main board
Bafury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 01:00 PM   #7
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,927
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Check the transformers with the TV unplugged, also report the readings as shown in that link.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:16 PM   #8
Bafury
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: sanford
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Budm

thanks for replying.. have a question for you. I uploaded pictures of my multimeter.. Can you tell me the correct setting it needs to be on to test the transformers, and where the leads go to test? Really grateful..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2013-05-26 16.50.46.jpg (347.3 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 2013-05-26 17.02.33.jpg (330.4 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 2013-05-26 17.03.24.jpg (301.2 KB, 12 views)
Bafury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 08:37 PM   #9
Daddyfixit
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Toronto, Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Hi all I have to thank you all for sharing what you do, but I'm having a problem with my Insignia NS-LCD37 also. Having said this, everyone talks about the red light on then going to green, but mine goes to blue, and I see nothing but black? I have read as much as I could about similar models but, I'm not sure where I stand in comparison to others with similar models.
The TV worked great for over five years but now no longer powers up, I only have that red light stating that I'm plugged in and when I hit the power I don't see anything but the blue light on and no sound. I have it apart but I definitely don't know where any main fuses are or know exactly how to check the transformers. All my caps look super clean and I went as far as I could testing my main ac board. The values didn't all match so I condemned that board, ordered it, installed it and no luck. Transformers are what I'm assuming but the ohm test you've posted to test doesn't match what I read, but still not sure as to which direction I need to go in my case. Any help will keep my daughter and wife's faith in the daddy can fix it phrase alive . Please advise
Daddyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 08:49 PM   #10
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,927
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

@Bafury, set the meter to 2000 Ohm scale (you can see the Omega sign in the Ohm mode section).
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=21865 Post 5 gives you the pinout.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 08:51 PM   #11
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,927
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

@Daddyfixit, post good clear pictures of the back side of the TV so we can see how all the boards are connected together, use 'GO ADVANVCED' to upload the pictures.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:08 PM   #12
Daddyfixit
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Toronto, Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

So S1 - S2 = 2.2 Ohms and the rest all read the same all across all 8, pic is the second one. So what do I check next?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tvlcd 1.jpg (10.7 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg tvlcd2.jpg (7.9 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg tvlcd3.jpg (8.4 KB, 7 views)
Daddyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:11 PM   #13
Daddyfixit
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Toronto, Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Are my pics clear enough? The 1st is both ac and video(?) card and the last is the ac board I pulled out and replaced all ready.
Daddyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:40 PM   #14
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,927
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

OK, the picture's resolution is way too low, it is not focused and I cannot blow it up bigger to get better inspection. The second picture is the backlights inverter board, I will need to closed up pictures around the white connector, also need the board P/N then I may be able to get better pictures from shopjimmy.com
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:43 PM   #15
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,927
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Does your board look like this?
http://www.shopjimmy.com/insignia-vk...t-inverter.htm
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:53 PM   #16
Daddyfixit
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Toronto, Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Are these better?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg alcd.jpg (12.4 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg blcd.jpg (10.5 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg clcd.jpg (11.3 KB, 4 views)
Daddyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:57 PM   #17
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,927
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Can you do higher resolution? The white connector is the one where it has bunch of wires that go back to the power supply board, I am trying to see all the fuses on that inverter board. I have to be able to read the printing on the board, if you look at the pictures and you cannot read the printings, then it does not help.

Last edited by budm; 06-21-2013 at 09:59 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 10:00 PM   #18
Daddyfixit
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Toronto, Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

There's a few differences in the board, very similar but not identical
Daddyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 10:13 PM   #19
Daddyfixit
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Toronto, Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

Sorry is this better?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg largetv.jpg (1.99 MB, 11 views)
Daddyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 10:20 PM   #20
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,927
Default Re: Insignia NS-LCD37 - One Second to Black - Another one

OK, is this the one?
http://assets.shopjimmy.com/media/ca...006928-top.jpg
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?