Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 02:03 PM   #1
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Hanspree HSG1075

brothers, what you see in the picture is a dismantled hanspree hsg1075 28inch lcd monitor. As you can see I have removed all covers on the back. This monitor only displays white when powered on, sound works perfectly fine. No splash logo displays, just bright white. Any direction on which board is bad and needs replaced? Somewhat proficient PC tech here (not TV). No apparent damage to any boards, no loose connections.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hanspree hsg1075.jpg (711.9 KB, 50 views)
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:04 PM   #2
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Seattle
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,297
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

It could have just been a loose ribbon cable going from the main board to the panel. Did you try re-seating it to see if it gets a picture?
__________________
Buy quality, and you only cry once
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:07 PM   #3
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

I can remove the black tape covering the ribbon cable connectors and try that, I haven't yet. Thank you, I'll post again once I test that!
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:15 PM   #4
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

Ok, I removed the black tape that was covering the ribbon cable connectors between the large green board with video inputs and the small green board (tcon I believe), unfortunately after re-connecting the ribbon cable the white screen still occurs.
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:28 PM   #5
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,364
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

At the bottom of the [picture there is a metal plate over the Tcon.
Can you post a really clear picture of the Tcon board.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:39 PM   #6
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

i hope this is what you mean. There is a thin plastic shield over the board that I didn't tear off, I can, if you can't see the board clear enough.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tcon.jpg (758.7 KB, 32 views)
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:41 PM   #7
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,723
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

Yes, that is the T-con board.

There is a device marked "M" and nearby "F100". This is the fuse. Measure the voltage on both ends of the device, relative to the chassis.
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

64 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 21 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 7 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 6 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 13 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 18 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:44 PM   #8
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

Just want to ask really quick, since I'm not as savy with TV's you mean using the voltage meter, positive on one side of the fuse, negative on the other? while the TV is unplugged correct? I don't want to get zapped
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:47 PM   #9
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,804
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

You need to check the voltage on the fuse with the TV POWER ON (hit the power switch), black on the metal chassis, red probe on each end of the fuse at a time.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:54 PM   #10
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

the search for the voltage meter continues, I have not abandoned the cause!
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:02 PM   #11
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

Voltage meter FOUND!
So, one final noob question, on this radioshack special voltage meter, (see attached) which setting is appropriate for this very tiny fuse? I am pretty cautious, maybe overly so with electricity I don't understand lol
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20121226_165913.jpg (847.6 KB, 19 views)
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:04 PM   #12
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,723
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

DCV 20V.

You are measuring the low voltage side. Shocks are not possible at the low voltages the t-con and video processor uses. The highest voltage on the t-con is 30V DC. The SELV level (safety extra-low voltage) specification is 60V DC. I have a 35V DC power supply. I can touch the output (and regularly do) with sweaty or dry hands and am not electrocuted yet.

However, do not touch any of the heatsinks (metal plates) on the power supply, as they can easily give a very nasty shock.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:10 PM   #13
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

with the negative tester on the metal chassis, and touching the red tester to each side of the fuse marked F100 (M) I saw no change on my voltage meter. 0.00 each and every time
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:11 PM   #14
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,723
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

OK, just to be sure, can you find a fresh 1.5V battery and test that? It should show around 1.55~1.6V if good. Just to check if meter is OK.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:12 PM   #15
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

update: my mistake, tv was plugged in NOT ON, now with the TV powered ON, i do see slight number changes on each side of the fuse, very slight, and still sometimes zero
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:15 PM   #16
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

battery test yielded 1.47 on the meter
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:16 PM   #17
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,723
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

OK, must be slightly discharged but that is fine.
So some how power is not getting to the T-con.

Can we have a closer image around the connector which goes to the T-con but on the main board side?
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:20 PM   #18
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

here is the tcon connection on the "big board" side
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tcon connector.jpg (1.01 MB, 43 views)
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:41 PM   #19
rhodesjo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Indiana
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

In the picture it looks like the connector isn't plugged in all the way, that just happened when I pulled the tape, I pushed it back in and retested just to be sure. Still 0.00 mainly on the fuse
rhodesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 04:44 AM   #20
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,723
Default Re: Hanspree HSG1075

In this picture,
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...0&d=1356560428

Do you see the grey device marked 4R7?

Can you test the output voltage here relative to the chassis of the TV?

Also, let's make sure the chassis test is good; I just have a feeling. Set your meter to 200 ohms. Probe from the metal shield of the connector on the main board to the chassis of the TV -- you should see under 3 ohms.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?