Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 09:47 AM   #1
dsnyder586
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Costa Mesa
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Toshiba 50HP won't start up

I bought this Plasma with the hopes of bringing it back to life-

If I unplug the ysus or zsus, it only clicks once then shuts down- but if I jumper the OVP it will stay powered on.

How can I check to find out if it is the power board or the ysus/zsus?

I read that I need to unplug the ysus and jumper 5v to check the ps, but can't find out what pins to jumper...

Thank you in advance!
dsnyder586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:31 AM   #2
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 26,249
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

What does it do when both Y-sus and Z-sus are plugged in?
__________________
Please do not PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

66 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 25 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 9 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 15 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 19 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:41 PM   #3
dsnyder586
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Costa Mesa
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

When they are both plugged in, on the panel it glows red light, then green for a split second then clicks off no lights. then cycles that same action every 13 seconds or so.

Thanks for your help!!
dsnyder586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:14 PM   #4
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 26,249
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

Is this different from when the boards are unplugged?
Have you tried with just Y-sus or Z-sus?
Does it use an LG plasma panel?
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:24 PM   #5
dsnyder586
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Costa Mesa
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

Hi Tom,

Thanks again for helping here-

Yes it uses an LG panel- apparently the power supply "checks" the ysus for power and will not stay on if there is no communication- I have read where you can fool the PS by putting a 5v jumper to the ysus, but can't figure out WHERE.

If I unplug the ysus OR the zsus, same thing- standby, green light, click, off then cycle 13 seconds later.

The only way I have been able to keep the power on is to jumper the OVP chip and unplug the Vs wires from the ysus connector and leave the others connected, or unplug the ysus altogether.
dsnyder586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:23 PM   #6
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 26,249
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

Have you tried unplugging the "Siene" board, which some models like this have? The TV should power up without the cable feature but everything else works.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:56 PM   #7
dsnyder586
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Costa Mesa
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

If you could kindly tell me what board it is, and what plugs to unplug I would be very appreciative!!!
dsnyder586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 04:01 PM   #8
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 26,249
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

I have not had the issue myself, just seen this fix mentioned, but I assume it's the board with the Cable Card slot and possibly cable coaxial connector on it. Does this TV use a separate board for those?
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 04:46 PM   #9
dsnyder586
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Costa Mesa
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

Tried disconnecting board that had the coax- no difference. Do you happen to know what the LG equivalent of this model is or if it was rebranded under another name?
dsnyder586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 04:54 PM   #10
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 26,249
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

Plasma panel model -- should be PDP50X3 or something? Will be marked on panel. Is it a 720p or 1080p set?

Similar models could be 50PCxD where x is a digit 1..7
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:59 PM   #11
dsnyder586
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Costa Mesa
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

Pdp50x3
dsnyder586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:53 AM   #12
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 26,249
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

So a similar set would be 50PC3D.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:48 AM   #13
dsnyder586
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Costa Mesa
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

Ok, the 50PC3d is CLOSE, but the PSU is different- do you know how to bypass the ysus so that the PSU can be checked? If I unplug the ysus it won't stay on, and I understand that means I have to "fool" the PS into thinking the ysus is giving it feedback.
dsnyder586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:50 AM   #14
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 26,249
Default Re: Toshiba 50HP won't start up

That's because Toshiba probably made their own PSU for this model, and LG made their own too.

Check the Vs voltage on the Y-sus connector, it's labelled. You expect around 185~195V for this LG panel. Even if it cuts out, just seeing it for a second is fine.

BTW, just to make sure, you are removing "this" seine module:
http://assets.shopjimmy.com/media/ca...sj75001605.jpg

Last edited by tom66; 12-13-2012 at 11:54 AM..
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?