Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 04:35 PM   #1
MisterD
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Illinois
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 475
Default Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

This is the best I can do for now, for those that think I'm wasting your time (SORRY!) but for those that can and want to reply, any Ideas on this one?

Thanks In Advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3Gb3K13L15I85Gd5Kccc2fe142a10ff3218ed.jpg (29.4 KB, 36 views)
MisterD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:54 PM   #2
tom66
Savin' for TSLA
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 29,246
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

Bad panel! Don't touch it!

Any TVs which are dead etc? Those are the easiest to repair. Start tracing where voltages disappear, or something...
__________________
Please do not PM me with questions! Ask questions on the public forums.
Free service manuals: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ -- 72 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 26 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers fixed!

2 Pioneer KURO 9G, 11 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 5 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 10 LG LCD/Plasma, 17 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 1 Baird (China) LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 19 Vestel LCDs (Best->Worst)
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:38 PM   #3
MisterD
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Illinois
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 475
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

Thanks Tom66! So basically any LCD with any width size vertical lines is most likely to be a bad panel, is that usually the case? does this apply to Plasmas as well?
MisterD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:40 PM   #4
tom66
Savin' for TSLA
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 29,246
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

Yes. And yes.

I also saw a Samsung 50 inch plasma on sale on Gumtree (free ad site like Craigslist.) It was a bad panel but from the photo I immediately knew that the guy had broken it accidentally while trying to repair another fault. Half the screen was black apart from a few white lines I'll call "fuzzies" -- these weren't solid, but intermittent. The only way that happens is if you disconnect the address connector and plug it in while the set is running. BANG! goes the panel drivers, and suddenly half the screen doesn't work.

Last edited by tom66; 12-03-2012 at 05:43 PM..
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:43 PM   #5
MisterD
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Illinois
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 475
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

I forgot to ask, Is it just black vertical lines or any color? Thanks!
MisterD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:46 PM   #6
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Bellingham
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,728
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterD View Post
I forgot to ask, Is it just black vertical lines or any color? Thanks!
Any vertical lines
__________________
Buy quality, and you only cry once
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:48 PM   #7
tom66
Savin' for TSLA
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 29,246
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

Any vertical line. It means the driver IC for that area of the screen is fried. A single line is a fried output on the driver but the rest of the IC works. A black or white bar is a completely fried driver. And the drivers are bonded to the panel.

edit: Pentium beat me to it.

Last edited by tom66; 12-03-2012 at 05:53 PM..
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:23 PM   #8
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Bellingham
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,728
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

Yeah but you gave a thorough description of why
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:39 PM   #9
MisterD
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Illinois
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 475
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

I recently repaired a 42" Vizio LCD/LED Edge by replacing the T-CON Board, it had been working great for 2 weeks but on Thanksgiving Day it had been on for probably 12 hours when two faint black vertical lines about 2" apart appeared in the very middle of the screen, I had it on a cable channel, tried several channels and it was the same on all of them. Turned TV Off for a few minutes then back on, the lines disappeared and have not returned yet.
(keeping my fingered crossed) with the tv being on several hours at a time.
MisterD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:39 PM   #10
tom66
Savin' for TSLA
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 29,246
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

May just be bad tab bonds if they are transient.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:50 PM   #11
MisterD
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Illinois
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 475
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

Where are the Tab Bonds Located?
MisterD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:53 PM   #12
tom66
Savin' for TSLA
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 29,246
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqcqDQFqZHo&t=55s
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:00 PM   #13
MisterD
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Illinois
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 475
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

Awesome Video, Thanks!
MisterD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 07:09 PM   #14
johnpeg
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: N.J.
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 19
Default Re: Possible Purchase Vizio 42" VO420E Black Vertical Band

I have a vizio that almost looks the same as the first pic. The difference is it is the whole left side. When I leave it on for about 30 -45 mins. it works great. Is there a shot that it is the tcon board? I was wondering this because of it working fine when it runs for a while. Any ideas will be very helpful. Thank You in advance
johnpeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2015
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?