Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2012, 09:21 AM   #1
Markw959
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: round rock / Texas
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Smile Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

I am looking at my brothers TV he has a Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 it has no sound or picture. When the power button is depressed the light located under the panel turns green. I removed the back and immediately checked the power supply for bad caps. There were none. I then proceeded to check all of the output voltages on the power supply. They were not perfect, but very close to nominal.

I then removed CON3 from the power supply which connects to the main board and the back light illuminated. I think there might be a problem with the main board. I have checked to just try to purchase a main board (48.71H01.31), there are none to be found. I assume this must be a huge problem for this model.

If you have any ideas on where I should start troubleshooting on the main board I would like to hear them.

I'm looking for my digital camera once I find it I will take better pictures of the boards that in question.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0344.jpg (512.3 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0343.jpg (587.1 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0352.jpg (559.8 KB, 28 views)
Markw959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 12:00 PM   #2
randtek
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
City & State: US Midwest
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz (allegedly)
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 270
Default Re: Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

The part number for the main board for this model is 185722711. I did find a few available but they are horribly expensive. (One site listed it for over $800.00 USD.) So the board replacement option is probably out.
randtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 02:01 PM   #3
Markw959
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: round rock / Texas
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Angry Re: Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

Yeah I have even found the set for sale used for $900.00-$1200.00 which is what they were probably going to do is buy it and sell the board for $800.00
Markw959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 06:01 PM   #4
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13,804
Default Re: Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

Did you check the voltage and the surface mounted fuse on the T-CON board yet? This model may use error signal from T-CON board to shutdown (BL_ON) if the T-CON is dead.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf SONY_LCD_TV_TCON_Troubleshooting.pdf (1.52 MB, 113 views)
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 12-02-2012 at 06:05 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 02:37 AM   #5
bumbling808
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Hawaii
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

I know this is an old post, but I have the exact same problem. I even changed out the motherboard with no improvement. Did you ever find the problem?
bumbling808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 02:52 AM   #6
capkid
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
City & State: Federal Way,WA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by bumbling808 View Post
I know this is an old post, but I have the exact same problem. I even changed out the motherboard with no improvement. Did you ever find the problem?
When you say "motherboard", do you mean the power supply or the main board with all the inputs?
capkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:08 AM   #7
bumbling808
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Hawaii
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

I mean the main board. In desperation, I went ahead and ordered a replacement tcon board. Still same problem. I didn't think I needed to replace the power supply because the relay was still working during initial power up and the backlight would go on if I unplugged one of the wires that go to the main board. Should I go ahead an get a replacement power supply board now?
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (843.2 KB, 90 views)
bumbling808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:23 AM   #8
capkid
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
City & State: Federal Way,WA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

You could have gotten a faulty replacement main board. When it comes to these Sony main boards, I prefer to have them repaired if possible rather than replacing them, or I'd buy from a highly reputable seller who offers a warranty. There are a lot of faulty main boards out there for Sonys. Where did you get the main board?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-857-227-11...item27d34a8e85

Last edited by capkid; 07-26-2013 at 12:27 AM..
capkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:29 AM   #9
bumbling808
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Hawaii
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

Yes on ebay, but not that listing. Here's the one I bought. Got the tcon board from the same guy. ebay listing

How can I verify which board is the problem?
bumbling808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:42 AM   #10
capkid
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
City & State: Federal Way,WA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Sony Bravia KDL-52S4100 No picture or Sound

The link I provided was for a repair service. I had a KDL-46S4100 that did the exact same thing - no backlight until I unplugged the connector. My issue was a bad main board. I don't know of many Sonys that suffer from power supply issues. If your part numbers match and you're still within the time window for returns, you may want to consider returning the main board and using that repair service. It's a bit expensive, but people have had good results using that seller.

Edit: I actually bought my main board from Tristate Module, but it doesn't appear to be in stock for your TV: http://www.tristatemodule.com/p-2556...l-52s4100.aspx

Last edited by capkid; 07-26-2013 at 01:42 AM..
capkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?