Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2012, 05:09 PM   #1
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Proview 3200 no backlights

Even though I don't have the time or the space, my wife volunteered me to repair a Proview 3200 LCD TV.

After disassembling it (wow, what a pain) it looks to be fairly good quality.
I was hoping for a few bloated Samxon GFs, but no such luck.

Very few markings on the connectors, though the rear of the inverter board has markings for the connectors.
I have 5v at BL-On 7.6v at VBL. Tracing the connections back, all the VBL red wires go to the 24v out on the power supply. Unplugging the inverter board gives 24v at the power supply connector, and it stays at 24v when powering 2 1157 bulbs in series. So the power supply seems capable.

So, something shorted on the inverter board? Fuses are all good, so it's not drawing much current, and none of the components feel warm to the touch.
Measured 7.6v on one side, 0v on the other of all the obvious bypass caps, so not one of those.
It's a very busy board with lots of small surface mount components. Could be fun finding it...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4537a.jpg (1.45 MB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4539a.jpg (3.45 MB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4544a.jpg (1.01 MB, 28 views)
__________________
36 Monitors, 3 TVs, 4 Laptops, 1 motherboard, 1 Printer, 1 iMac, 2 hard drive docks and one IP Phone repaired so far....
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 05:42 PM   #2
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,687
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Plainbill had encountered a PSU before which worked under light load, but dropped out under heavy load.

1157 is only about 2 amps, an inverter draws around 6 amps at 24V. Is there any way to test it at a higher output current?

BTW, if there is a short circuit or high load on that board, and it is 7.6V at say 7A (more than 6A limit), then it would be dissipating 53W in one shorted component, which would be very obvious very quickly (smoke, flames, melted board.)
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

64 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 20 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 7 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 6 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 8 LG LCD/Plasma, 13 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 18 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 06:35 PM   #3
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 8,275
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Quote:
Originally Posted by smason View Post
Even though I don't have the time or the space, my wife volunteered me to repair a Proview 3200 LCD TV.
Wow, Rubycon caps on the power supply.
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 06:51 PM   #4
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,765
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Check that small black fuse that looks like a resistor by the inverter connector to the right, it should have 15 or 20 printed on the top. Common failure for this board.
It looks something like this:
http://s807.photobucket.com/albums/y...ps27a023ac.jpg
You can use 0.22, .33, or 0.47 Ohms 1/4 Watt through hole resistor, one of its leg is connected to the 24VDC input, it is used to supply the power to the PWM IC.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg REDLINED.JPG (13.0 KB, 33 views)
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 10-28-2012 at 06:55 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 07:06 PM   #5
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom66 View Post
Plainbill had encountered a PSU before which worked under light load, but dropped out under heavy load.

1157 is only about 2 amps, an inverter draws around 6 amps at 24V. Is there any way to test it at a higher output current?
Good point. It has been in the back of my mind. I'll see what I can throw together to draw 5 or 6 amps.

I will also measure the current being drawn, I agree you'd think dropping 24v to 7.6 would generate some heat
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 07:09 PM   #6
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredcaps View Post
Wow, Rubycon caps on the power supply.
Yeah, I was surprised. And the mains cap is a Nichi.
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 08:41 PM   #7
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Interesting. I reconfigured the light bulbs to use both filaments on each. Brighter and 24v still stable. Then I switched the meter to measure current, and the bulbs were dim.

THought it was a bad connection or a faulty jumper lead, but nope. Now the 24v output is 7.6 with or without load.
Will troubleshoot the power supply maybe tomorrow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Check that small black fuse that looks like a resistor by the inverter connector to the right, it should have 15 or 20 printed on the top. Common failure for this board.
Yup, it's open! Once I get the power supply fixed I'll replace it and see what happens.
Thanks for the tip!
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 09:03 PM   #8
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,765
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

I think your power supply is OK, you only had the bad fuse.
When you parallel the lamps (Both HI and Low filaments), the cold resistance will be around 2 Ohms, which will have VERY HIGH inrush current for the 24V power supply to handle, I hope the 24V power supply is not damaged.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:17 AM   #9
mu2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 108
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Hi,

Since you have the unit open you might want to check the caps mentioned in this article on the main board.
http://blog.coppelltvrepair.com/2011...-power-on.html
I worked on one of these sets and wouldn't want to open it up again for another repair.

Mike
mu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:52 AM   #10
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
I think your power supply is OK, you only had the bad fuse.
When you parallel the lamps (Both HI and Low filaments), the cold resistance will be around 2 Ohms, which will have VERY HIGH inrush current for the 24V power supply to handle, I hope the 24V power supply is not damaged.
If it was just the fuse, how would you explain the 7.6v?

It's 2 1157s, each bulb with filaments in parallel, but the bulbs in series, shouldn't be too bad. I really think the PS had issues before I did this.

More tonight hopefully...
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 02:58 PM   #11
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,765
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

You were getting 24v before and able to light up the lamps. Please check the cold resistance of that lamps setup you used last and see what it is.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 04:28 PM   #12
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
You were getting 24v before and able to light up the lamps. Please check the cold resistance of that lamps setup you used last and see what it is.
You're right the cold resistance is around 1 ohm. that's a bit over the top

Current draw on those lamps with an external 24v supply (after initial inrush) is 2.5 amps. Guess I should really come up with a good load for 24v.

Today the supply does output 24v again. More testing later.
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 04:40 PM   #13
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,765
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

It may have gone into protection shutdown mode. I used the 1157 low filament for testing power supply all the time, since the cold resistance is not too low, if the power supply cannot handle the cold resistance of the low filament, then I would suspect bad power supply. But using both filaments are too much for cold start, 1 Ohm with 24V, that is a lot of inrush current!
If you want to load the power supply to the max current rating, then use resistor instead.
You need to use meter that has fast capture response time in milli-second range to capture the reading, it will be at least 24A.
24v @ 4A, you will need 6 Ohms resistor rated at least 100 Watts, smaller if you can have 24vdc fan blowing on it.
http://s807.photobucket.com/albums/y...ply%20testing/

Last edited by budm; 10-29-2012 at 04:48 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:23 PM   #14
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,765
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Or make sure the cold resistance is about 5~6 Ohms.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 02:46 AM   #15
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,687
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

7.6V across 1 ohm is 7.6A so more than likely it was limiting current at that point.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:42 PM   #16
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

OK this is beginning to tick me off.
I replaced the fuse, same problem. I lifted the + leg of each of the 220UF caps on the inverter board, and checked, all are within a few uf of each other and ESR is fine.

The 24v output of the PS is still flakey, sometimes it's 7.6v even without the inverter board plugged in, I'm leaning back to it as my prime suspect. I'm going to remove the supply, and check the resistors and caps on the 24v section if I get more time later tonight.
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:46 PM   #17
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,765
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

I think the power supply is damaged, at 7.6V output, sounds like the MOSFETs in the driver side is not driving it correctly. I am sure if you get the 24v back and with that black fuse in place, it should be OK again.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:49 PM   #18
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,687
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

I think it is OK but there is a problem with feedback or startup caps. Failed MOSFETs would cause zero output and blown fuse, usually.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:58 PM   #19
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,765
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Well, it looks like it uses Half -bridge drive setup, if the bottom half of the two Mosfet has blown source resistor, this resistor is used for current sensing feedback, so when he draws too much current the resistor may have gone open, the drive will not be fully function. Also check and see if you still get 400VDC on the large cap just to make sure the PFC booster is still working.

Last edited by budm; 10-30-2012 at 07:00 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:22 PM   #20
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Proview 3200 no backlights

Just to clarify, the 12V is fine, and the 24v is intermittent. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. When it does work it can supply a few amps to light 2 1157 bulbs in series. When it doesn't work it's at 7.6V output.
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?