Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting Laptops & Portable Devices
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2012, 12:39 AM   #1
pctek
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: athens
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 41
Default HP pavilion dv7

It powers on , fan spins but after a few seconds restarts and caps/num lock flash 1 time with 3 seconds interval . Could it be cpu as hp says or vga/southbridge ? Anyone has experience with this model and error ?
Thanks
pctek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 04:33 PM   #2
fddizon
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Forbidden
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220v 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 358
Send a message via Yahoo to fddizon
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

Quote:
Originally Posted by pctek View Post
It powers on , fan spins but after a few seconds restarts and caps/num lock flash 1 time with 3 seconds interval . Could it be cpu as hp says or vga/southbridge ? Anyone has experience with this model and error ?
Thanks
try replacing cpu
fddizon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:39 AM   #3
thesloc
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Seattle
Posts: 589
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

Quote:
Originally Posted by pctek View Post
It powers on , fan spins but after a few seconds restarts and caps/num lock flash 1 time with 3 seconds interval . Could it be cpu as hp says or vga/southbridge ? Anyone has experience with this model and error ?
Thanks
GPU is out. Reflow GPU and SouthBridge to be sure.

Could also signify bad ram port.
thesloc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:50 AM   #4
lucco85
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Rijeka
My Country: Hrvatska
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 19
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

I have most of them repaired
Each platform has its own fault.
Your platform is?
CPU?
Gpu?
lucco85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 08:31 AM   #5
pctek
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: athens
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 41
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

exact model is 1030ev . I don't have any spare cpu to test so I will try reflowing gpu and see what happens .
pctek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 12:03 PM   #6
lucco85
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Rijeka
My Country: Hrvatska
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 19
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

Likely GPU (G96-630)
Try to see if you have on the external monitor picture
lucco85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:10 PM   #7
pctek
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: athens
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 41
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

Reflowed but the same happens. Starts up , fan spins for a second and then caps/num flashes one time every 3-4 seconds.
pctek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:52 AM   #8
pctek
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: athens
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 41
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

I found a similar proccessor and tried it but the same error. I'll try reflowing northbridge and then I'll give up .
pctek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 07:37 AM   #9
VaNDAL_UK
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Birmingham
My Country: United Kingdom
Line Voltage: 240V
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 46
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

Have you tryed the "Blind" Bios recovery proceedure?

I'm guessing a corrupt bios.
VaNDAL_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 05:26 AM   #10
pctek
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: athens
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 41
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

Unfortunately I don't have it any more to try . Thanks for the suggestion
pctek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 08:59 PM   #11
gabik111
ORD spotter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Chicago O'Hare
My Country: USA / Poland
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz & 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 117
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

I think best way to make it work is replace GPU or reball it with leaded balls. But if you reflew it and it still does not work rather I can say GPU needs to be replaced . Soldering pads separeted from GPU like it happened in this faulty series and reflow does not work.
After you replace it remeber to reflow GPU RAM chips because you can get artifacts.
__________________
Laptops and computers repair.
gabik111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:46 PM   #12
fddizon
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Forbidden
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220v 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 358
Send a message via Yahoo to fddizon
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

if 3 seconds interval, try replacing memory

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...t=3860630#N215

its what hp says

Quote:
Originally Posted by pctek View Post
It powers on , fan spins but after a few seconds restarts and caps/num lock flash 1 time with 3 seconds interval . Could it be cpu as hp says or vga/southbridge ? Anyone has experience with this model and error ?
Thanks
fddizon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 01:52 PM   #13
it.vendor
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: sialkot
My Country: pakistan
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

did anybody have bios of hp pavilion dv7-6858sf ...beats audio.
__________________
M.Ajmal Sohail
IT Vendor SKT
0333-8676 343
it.vendor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 11:44 AM   #14
Ramee
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
City & State: Israel
My Country: Israel
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: HP pavilion dv7

Quote:
Originally Posted by pctek View Post
Reflowed but the same happens. Starts up , fan spins for a second and then caps/num flashes one time every 3-4 seconds.
Did you melt the balls from under? Light reflow won't work, reflow it, but melt the balls. If you know how to reball, it would be better, but do not use heat gun, use the proper machine.
Ramee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?