Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2012, 06:46 PM   #1
philips
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Unhappy 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Hi!

Recently after a thunderstorm my Philips plasma television has stopped working. When I plug in the TV, there is no red standby light and no standby mode it seems. When I turn on the TV, a blue light appears in the front, along with sound, but no picture! It's also worth noting that there are 4 visible green lights inside the panel. (attached)

I replaced the capacitors for this TV over two years ago, so I opened up the panel and tried testing out the voltages for every board. I did not notice any burnt capacitors, although I can provide more pictures if needed. Attached is a photo of the TV along with the voltages I tried to test.

Searching this forum, some other users had the same problem, but solved it by replacing burnt capacitors. Would replacing the power supply board fix the problem? Also, I'm afraid the problem isn't the capacitors but one of the main boards and I might resort to trashing the television for parts if it costs more than $200 to repair.

Thank you!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg samsung.jpg (542.2 KB, 89 views)

Last edited by philips; 09-01-2012 at 06:48 PM..
philips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 10:30 PM   #2
drpj23
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Columbia, SC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 484
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

The main power supply sounds good but meter all the voltages out to check (voltages look to be above the p/s on the right hand side). The main (input) board would be the one controlling standby and "on" but also could be due to a stuck relay. Does it click when you plug it in?

Since you did say you checked voltages, I would check fuses especially in the y section of the tv (but also check the x). I can't see if there are any or know particularly about this tv, but check for the smd and most likely ceramic type.

Oh, and where were the capacitors that you replaced?
drpj23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 12:57 PM   #3
philips
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drpj23 View Post
The main power supply sounds good but meter all the voltages out to check (voltages look to be above the p/s on the right hand side). The main (input) board would be the one controlling standby and "on" but also could be due to a stuck relay. Does it click when you plug it in?

Since you did say you checked voltages, I would check fuses especially in the y section of the tv (but also check the x). I can't see if there are any or know particularly about this tv, but check for the smd and most likely ceramic type.

Oh, and where were the capacitors that you replaced?
Thanks for the the response! I'm not sure how to read the voltage chart (attached) but I don't think I'm getting the correct voltage readings. When I plug in the TV, it clicks once and the green indicator lights turn on.

All the fuses seem to be normal and don't appear to be burnt out. Although, I found some capacitors that MAY appear to be abnormal (attached). The capacitors that were replaced 2 years ago were on the main power supply (also attached).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg zboard.jpg (229.0 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg yboard.jpg (183.8 KB, 64 views)
File Type: jpg voltages.jpg (203.1 KB, 54 views)
File Type: jpg powersupp.jpg (204.6 KB, 64 views)

Last edited by philips; 09-02-2012 at 01:01 PM..
philips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 01:02 PM   #4
Mr Bill
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Northeast Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 589
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

can you post a top down picture of the caps on the power supply?

**EDIT**
The green caps on the sustains "appear" normal looking.

Last edited by Mr Bill; 09-02-2012 at 01:17 PM..
Mr Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 01:18 PM   #5
philips
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
can you post a top down picture of the caps on the power supply?
Sure thing.

Would it be worth it to replace each capacitor on the power supply board to see if it fixes the problem?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg power.jpg (242.7 KB, 65 views)
philips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 01:24 PM   #6
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,972
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

The replaced caps are Panasonic, which is good, but they are NHG series - unsuited for a power supply application. Who replaced them? They could fail, but they would normally bulge (for a good brand.)
__________________
Please do not PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

65 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 25 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 9 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 19 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 01:37 PM   #7
philips
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom66 View Post
The replaced caps are Panasonic, which is good, but they are NHG series - unsuited for a power supply application. Who replaced them? They could fail, but they would normally bulge (for a good brand.)
They were replaced by a local TV repair shop a while back (I lost their number) however I found the same capacitors online for $15 total to replace.

I think this may be the culprit of a failed capacitor (tell me if I'm wrong), but there is not much/if any visible bulging. Also, the 2 capacitors in the top right also seem abnormal.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg badcap.jpg (212.7 KB, 81 views)

Last edited by philips; 09-02-2012 at 01:39 PM..
philips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 01:53 PM   #8
Mr Bill
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Northeast Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 589
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Those caps look normal but it's hard to tell without the board being in front of me. What is the panel model? The 4 green led's you mentioned in post #1, do all 4 stay lit up when you turn the tv on?
Mr Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:12 PM   #9
philips
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
Those caps look normal but it's hard to tell without the board being in front of me. What is the panel model? The 4 green led's you mentioned in post #1, do all 4 stay lit up when you turn the tv on?
There are 6 actual LEDs that light up as soon as the TV is plugged in. When I turn off the TV via power button, all the LEDs turn off except for the one on the power supply board.

When I plug in the TV it clicks once and turns on, instead of initiating standby mode. It seems the standby mode isn't working as the front indicator light on the TV always stays blue.

The panel is a Samsung PDP Module (Model: 50HW-YB02)

I tried using this troubleshooting guide but couldn't really follow it: http://www.scribd.com/doc/94596083/S...2hd-Mustang-Sm (page 41)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg logiclight.jpg (88.5 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg mlight.jpg (143.7 KB, 41 views)
File Type: jpg plight.jpg (109.8 KB, 45 views)

Last edited by philips; 09-02-2012 at 02:21 PM..
philips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:30 PM   #10
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,972
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

I -really- don't like how those caps are done; it looks like instead of sourcing the right caps, they have bodged several together. Consider removing the power supply and checking their solder quality.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:40 PM   #11
Mr Bill
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Northeast Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 589
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Have you looked at this file in your searches?
Mr Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:12 PM   #12
Steelhack
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Newcomerstown Ohio
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

I have a few questions about this same model TV. I picked it up "broken" for $30.....Owner said it was getting some blink code...I didn't even check it for that....I just took it apart....It was obviously from a smoking home...smelled and was just filthy inside.

So I used air compressor to clean out and I took off the power board first...and checked all the caps with my 88a. All looked ok. Checked the 4 or 5 fuses on all the boards....and one came back dead....the first time I checked it...but when I decided to check one more time my meter beeped an all is well.....

So I decided to put it all back together...and check the blink code.

When I did...It fired right up.

Its been running for 2 days now....and about 4 movies worth.

Could it have simply been overheating due to the crude covering its insides? Should I check anything else or just be happy with it and forget the problems it was having?

and what do you think the selling price point for this set should be at this time?


HACK
Steelhack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 08:50 PM   #13
drpj23
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Columbia, SC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 484
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Steelhack, my guess is that the crude coverings were not per se the actual issue but because of it, you had A LOT of dust right? Which may have made a connection unintended (seen it (well with computers not with a tv yet)). The fact that it would not come on (assuming) afterwards kinda makes me disagree with the heat thing (unless the heat affected something but it's working so.... lol) .....but resale would be in my opinion between $3-400. But keep checking to be sure
drpj23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 09:29 PM   #14
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 8,352
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drpj23 View Post
but resale would be in my opinion between $3-400.
Some observations.

At my local Canadian Bestbuy, I can get a 50 inch LCD 1080p TV for $500 with a one year warranty.

In addition, with Black Friday coming up soon in the USA, and Boxing Day in Canada, I expect to see even more price drops in the 50 inch TV space.

Costco also provides a 2 year standard warranty on TVs and some credit card companies will double the warranty up to 1 year.
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---

Last edited by retiredcaps; 09-03-2012 at 10:44 PM..
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:22 PM   #15
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,972
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

I had a 42" LG plasma to repair which was brought down by dust, symptom no picture good sound. Cause a nice flash-over on one of the components. Cleaned it out and it worked perfectly... well apart from another fault (got it to show a picture but with the common "sparklies" issue) but the dust was a definite problem.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:25 PM   #16
mrdetroit
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: southfield
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

hello all noob here. here is my situation. i have the 50". a few months ago im watching tv and all of a sudden my tv looses picture and sound. So I hop on the internet, do some research and find out this is a common problem for this philips model. Next, I find the service manual online and use that to open the back of the tv. Once I do that, I call shopjimmy. shopjimmy sales alot of parts for this particular model. I call them and one of the techs for 45 mins helps me diagnose my tv. After doing alot of voltage testing, it is confirmed that the y board is bad. So i order the new y board, then install it. Once I install it, I got my sound and picture back. Well sorta. The picture for some reason is coming in real snowy. anyhow, I put the tv service alignment mode(SAM)(062596+info). Once I did this is was able to read the error codes. I only had one error code which was 046. 046 error code review description is Pacific 3 which results in standby. Pacific 3(Pac 3) is located on the AL Inter-connect board. The inter-connect board is for picture enhancement. So I ordered this to and replaced it. After I got the new inter-connect board and installed it, the picture was still snowy. So then I called shopjimmy back again and talked to another tech. I told him what the problem was and he suggested that it sounded like the y board I ordered may be defective althoug it was a new board. So, I sent the board back and they sent me another new y board. I installed it and STILL the same snowy picture. And thats where im stuck at now. Anyone know what it could be? Do i have to recallibrate the tv after installation of the new boards? Also, I have attached a couple pictures of the snowy picture im getting. I have a gut feeling it something small and simple. Thanks in advance guys!!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0075.jpg (1.70 MB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0076.jpg (1.79 MB, 21 views)
mrdetroit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:41 PM   #17
tw2005
Badcaps Veteran
 
tw2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
City & State: NT
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 2,833
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdetroit View Post
hello all noob here. here is my situation. i have the 50". a few months ago im watching tv and all of a sudden my tv looses picture and sound. So I hop on the internet, do some research and find out this is a common problem for this philips model. Next, I find the service manual online and use that to open the back of the tv. Once I do that, I call shopjimmy. shopjimmy sales alot of parts for this particular model. I call them and one of the techs for 45 mins helps me diagnose my tv. After doing alot of voltage testing, it is confirmed that the y board is bad. So i order the new y board, then install it. Once I install it, I got my sound and picture back. Well sorta. The picture for some reason is coming in real snowy. anyhow, I put the tv service alignment mode(SAM)(062596+info). Once I did this is was able to read the error codes. I only had one error code which was 046. 046 error code review description is Pacific 3 which results in standby. Pacific 3(Pac 3) is located on the AL Inter-connect board. The inter-connect board is for picture enhancement. So I ordered this to and replaced it. After I got the new inter-connect board and installed it, the picture was still snowy. So then I called shopjimmy back again and talked to another tech. I told him what the problem was and he suggested that it sounded like the y board I ordered may be defective althoug it was a new board. So, I sent the board back and they sent me another new y board. I installed it and STILL the same snowy picture. And thats where im stuck at now. Anyone know what it could be? Do i have to recallibrate the tv after installation of the new boards? Also, I have attached a couple pictures of the snowy picture im getting. I have a gut feeling it something small and simple. Thanks in advance guys!!!
Samsung Panel and boards. The most common failure is YSUS and upper buffer. It's the buffer that usually takes out the Y. Pretty brave replacing just a dead YSUS without the buffers.

Did the Shopjimmy dude get you to test the buffer boards as part of the fault finding?
tw2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:43 AM   #18
mrdetroit
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: southfield
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

No the BOTH techs did not but I swear i thought the same thing and im not even a tech. lol. because I saw the upper buffers are connected to the ysus i just replaced and it looks like thats connected to the lcd display to give it the picture. So let me ask this, how I test to see which buffer board is bad? or should I just replace both?

Thanks sooooo much for your quick response friend!
mrdetroit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:49 AM   #19
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,972
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

You are looking at an X-main failure there I think. It's the board opposite the Y-main.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:35 AM   #20
mrdetroit
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: southfield
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Re: 50" Philips 50PFP5332D/37 Plasma No Picture, Has Sound?

tom66,

I dont think its the x-main board because the shop jimmy guy walked me through doing voltage testing on the board. It seemed to be fine but I could test it again to be sure. Any suggestions as to what areas I should test?

Thanks!
mrdetroit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?