Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Power Supply Design and Troubleshooting
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 08:53 PM   #1
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,388
Default Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

I suggested this power supply to a friend (Corsair Builder Series CX430 V2 430W) after reading reviews online and being aware that it uses non japanese capacitors, for example Teapo and Samxon. I am ok with those brands, they rarely fail. But, as you can see from the photos I took without voiding the warranty, there is at least 1 Capxon inside...

Well, at least it offers a 3 year warranty... Let's see if it will be needed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (413.7 KB, 74 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (423.5 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (475.3 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (634.2 KB, 94 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (330.1 KB, 127 views)
File Type: jpg 6.jpg (247.1 KB, 122 views)
File Type: jpg 7.jpg (231.3 KB, 121 views)
File Type: jpg 8.jpg (243.9 KB, 132 views)
File Type: jpg 9.jpg (279.2 KB, 117 views)
File Type: jpg 10.jpg (290.2 KB, 117 views)
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:59 AM   #2
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
Posts: 7,374
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

a friend brought one of those in a while back when the system acted up.
wasnt the problem(bad hdd) but noted the crapxons.we know whats coming.curious to see how long it takes.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:38 AM   #3
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,425
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Corsair should indeed be ashamed!!

Bear in mind that the samxons used in the CX430 are GF series, which are defective.

I just took a Delta PSU from an Acer PC home. The caps were mostly Aishi and LTEC, but the one capxon (on the 5v rail) was vented.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 4x 250GB HDD (2 in RAID 1), 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro

Last edited by c_hegge; 08-30-2012 at 02:41 AM..
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 08:59 AM   #4
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Seattle
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,486
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

nooooooo that poor PSU. Hopefully it stays cool and doesn't die within the hour
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 09:14 AM   #5
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Channel well technology sucks! First, they used fuhjyyu, especially in Antec branded psus.

Now they use Capxon. Will they ever learn??
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:01 AM   #6
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch View Post
Well, at least it offers a 3 year warranty... Let's see if it will be needed.
You bet!
Or if not, it will probably last just a day over the warranty.

Looks like that green CapXon (GL series??) is on the 5VSB rail. Great! So it's being under constant "stress" as long as the PSU is plugged in.

I also saw that some of the other green caps had "GF" written on them. Samxon probably?

Yes, I have a feeling we will be seeing these units back in for repair again. Corsair should be ashamed, indeed.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:14 AM   #7
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

This power supply costs 48euros. For that price I was expecting better...
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:23 PM   #8
rogfanther
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
City & State: Curitiba
My Country: Brazil
Line Voltage: 127VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 232
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

I will open another thread later, with inside pictures, but after I researched a little, after a bunch of Corsair CXs entered the shop, at least around here seems people are not liking them. Too much RMAs, some work for a few months then die, some will only work with some moderate to big load ( that is, will not work with a too lightweight computer ) , and the like.

All Samxon caps, from what I saw.
rogfanther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:59 PM   #9
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,088
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch View Post
Channel well technology sucks! First, they used fuhjyyu, especially in Antec branded psus.

Now they use Capxon. Will they ever learn??
CWT most likely has nothing to do with it. They're OEM, they will use the parts the buyer asks them to use, to bring the price down.

If you were the boss of CWT, would you give up on a 10k+ units contract just to stick to your capacitor selection?

Blame Corsair for deciding to save money on capacitor selection INSTEAD of cheapening out on input filtering and cables.

Other than this, the CX are only rated for 40C, not 45-50 as most power supplies. Personally, I didn't hear them failing due to capacitors but I did hear people complaining about coil whining.
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:13 PM   #10
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariushm View Post
CWT most likely has nothing to do with it. They're OEM, they will use the parts the buyer asks them to use, to bring the price down.

If you were the boss of CWT, would you give up on a 10k+ units contract just to stick to your capacitor selection?

Blame Corsair for deciding to save money on capacitor selection INSTEAD of cheapening out on input filtering and cables.

Other than this, the CX are only rated for 40C, not 45-50 as most power supplies. Personally, I didn't hear them failing due to capacitors but I did hear people complaining about coil whining.
I blame both! What is the cost difference between Ltec/OST/Teapo and Capxon? I don't think it is worth it..

Actually it's 30C:
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story&reid=239
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:24 PM   #11
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,990
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

I thought OST was crap too. Teapo, I've pulled a couple of them. Ltec - no experience myself, but I've seen the occasional one in monitors bulged on these forums.
__________________
Please do not PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

65 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 25 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 9 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 19 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:39 PM   #12
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom66 View Post
I thought OST was crap too. Teapo, I've pulled a couple of them. Ltec - no experience myself, but I've seen the occasional one in monitors bulged on these forums.
They are all bad compared to Japanese aluminum capacitors, but still better than Capxon. I see them failing everywhere.
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:45 PM   #13
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,990
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

The number of CapXon I have pulled... I mean WHY do manufacturers still insist on using these? They are really terrible caps!
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:14 PM   #14
Wester547
Badcaps member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: CA.
My Country: USA.
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 593
Send a message via Skype™ to Wester547
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

I always thought Fuhjyyu, Rulycon, and Evercon were the worst, though I suppose it's all anecdotal. I've heard people say that PSU companies like Delta have ways of making even Capxon capacitors last a while. I've also heard people say Capxon have improved over the years, though, in saying that, bad capacitors will always be bad capacitors, period. No exceptions.

Capxon will definitely fail when under stress (or in hot locations, right next to a heatsink, right next to a diode, on the 5VSB rail, etc), especially if 5VSB is always kept on. If not, they'll probably last longer, though how much is a debatable of sorts. And yes, efficiency also has to do with it, though low efficiency can also kill not only underpar capacitors but underpar components otherwise even quicker. What's scarier is that Capxon is also found as the choice of input capacitors, which means there's more of a potential for sparks, smoke, and explosions...

Last edited by Wester547; 08-30-2012 at 02:18 PM..
Wester547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:50 PM   #15
Th3_uN1Qu3
On my level
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,184
Send a message via Yahoo to Th3_uN1Qu3
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Rulycon caps don't exist no more. And i've seen Fuhjyyu last more than CapXon. TV repair shops here like to use CapXon because they guarantee that the TV will be back in an year or two.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
A working TV? How boring!
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:03 PM   #16
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,990
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
Rulycon caps don't exist no more. And i've seen Fuhjyyu last more than CapXon. TV repair shops here like to use CapXon because they guarantee that the TV will be back in an year or two.
I suspect planned obsolescence is one part of the problem. Just like the Samsung LCD TVs which were lasting 1-2 months past the warranty due to bad Samwhas. It seems too consistent to be accidental.

I suppose that's why buying stuff broken and fixing it is so much more attractive for me. Then you can pretty much guarantee it will last a long while, a lot more than buying stuff retail. Almost everything I've got now has been bought as faulty and repaired, there are a few exceptions like my scope but those are hard to get faulty (they go for high prices due to high demand.)
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 04:30 PM   #17
Rulycat
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: North England
My Country: United Kingdom
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 640
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

And after my Corsair USB 3.0 memory stick has started occasionally wiping itself (it's going back!) I think we can safely say that Corsair is off my "recommended brands" list.
Rulycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 04:38 PM   #18
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,990
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Many of these companies don't engineer their own products any more. This is a big problem, because they rely on the test data of the OEM who produces it. In China, a lot of this test data is, well... modified to suit the manufacturer. It is common practice to do so. I wish more products were consumer engineered in the UK and US, it would be nice to make them in the same countries too but that might be asking too much, but when everything nowadays is re-badged, this is what happens...
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:16 AM   #19
tleu8472
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 27
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Any idea if the Corsair CX500 V2 is any better?
tleu8472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 02:07 PM   #20
proofinlife
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Default Re: Shame on you Corsair! (Capxon)

Just a heads up to anyone buying the CX-430 :

I ordered one late last year, I had it sitting in the box in the plastic for over 4 months. I installed it in a clients computer, and in less than an hour the psu failed, all rails but the 12v, nothing.

I sent it in for RMA, they sent me a new one. I had it in a clients computer for no less than 6 hours, and the EXACT same problem occured. I have not RMA'd this one because corsair refuses to give me the option to upgrade to a different series.

My workbench has a cyberpower UPS, so no dirty power can be the culprit. Antec's, Bestec's, LiteON's, etc have all been through here and not one issue.

This leads me to believe corsair is putting pure filth in their builder series power supplies.
proofinlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?