Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2012, 03:27 PM   #1
eqtitan
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Southgate, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Ok, so I traded a laptop (only paid $50 for, worth $300) for an Emerson 32" LCD TV the guy powered it on via an inverter in his car which I thought was a bad idea. None the less it powered up after the power light blinked RED. Took it home all excited plugged it in to a cable line (COAX) and plugged in the power turned on the TV and heard buzzing coming from the back left it on for a minute when it started to smoke. Took the back cover off and found the issue, it was a capacitor with a bulging top got so hot it melted the shrink material that was wrapped around it.

Model: LC320EM2F

The capacitor is labeled as (HEC) 390uf 200wv neg20 85 C but i am unable to find this exact capacitor online or Ebay. I'd like a good quality capacitor replacement.

It's about as around as a 50cent piece and about 1in in height. I can get pictures later tonight when I get home if needed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20120625_180106.jpg (268.5 KB, 123 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20120625_180114.jpg (259.9 KB, 118 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20120625_180210.jpg (269.3 KB, 101 views)

Last edited by eqtitan; 06-25-2012 at 04:41 PM..
eqtitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:30 PM   #2
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,342
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Just checking you definitely used 115V AC (did he?) Very rare for a primary capacitor like that to go bad unless something else is bad on the power board.
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

65 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 24 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 8 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 19 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:34 PM   #3
eqtitan
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Southgate, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom66 View Post
Just checking you definitely used 115V AC (did he?) Very rare for a primary capacitor like that to go bad unless something else is bad on the power board.
Everything else checked out good on the board visually. Not sure what type or output he used when he used the inverter it was plugged into a power out in has escalade.
eqtitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:47 PM   #4
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,952
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Did you see an actual picture on the set in his car or just the screen lit up white.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:48 PM   #5
eqtitan
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Southgate, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Quote:
Originally Posted by selldoor View Post
Did you see an actual picture on the set in his car or just the screen lit up white.
The start up screen that was searching for a signal (Search for Digital Signal) was displayed in lower right corner.
eqtitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:50 PM   #6
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,952
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

You will need to post pictures as follows.
Welcome to the forum-
We can help a lot more if you please post good clear pictures of the whole chassis, and then pictures of each board, front and back and close up of connectors, (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) using the manage attachments button, which is found by clicking "go advanced" under quick reply.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

Examples of what is needed
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1290283049

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...7&d=1280167246

It will be useful if you can say what the supposed fault was and a bit about yourself - skills tools etc.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:52 PM   #7
eqtitan
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Southgate, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Quote:
Originally Posted by selldoor View Post
You will need to post pictures as follows.
Welcome to the forum-
We can help a lot more if you please post good clear pictures of the whole chassis, and then pictures of each board, front and back and close up of connectors, (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) using the manage attachments button, which is found by clicking "go advanced" under quick reply.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

Examples of what is needed
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1290283049

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...7&d=1280167246

It will be useful if you can say what the supposed fault was and a bit about yourself - skills tools etc.
Pictures added to OP
__________________
"Whatever you are, be a good one" - Abraham Lincoln

Last edited by eqtitan; 06-25-2012 at 04:42 PM..
eqtitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 04:42 PM   #8
eqtitan
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Southgate, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

*
eqtitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 04:46 AM   #9
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,952
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Pictures are not clear enough for troubleshooting. need them to be square on
and in focus and one of the bottom of the board.
It there any evidence that the leads to the cap could have touched something under the board.
One of these should do you id get a 105 deg one.
http://www.digikey.sg/scripts/dksear...f+200v&stock=1
We have had similar boards recently where it has been thought that a diode may have blown if you can check them for shorts.
What is the part number of the board- looks like they may be available at a reasonable price.
Can we assume there is no way the guy could have switched sets on you?
as Tom says Big Cap blowing is not something we often see aprt from one
pc monitor that keeps cropping up.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 10:37 AM   #10
eqtitan
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Southgate, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Quote:
Originally Posted by selldoor View Post
Pictures are not clear enough for troubleshooting. need them to be square on
and in focus and one of the bottom of the board.
It there any evidence that the leads to the cap could have touched something under the board.
One of these should do you id get a 105 deg one.
http://www.digikey.sg/scripts/dksear...f+200v&stock=1
We have had similar boards recently where it has been thought that a diode may have blown if you can check them for shorts.
What is the part number of the board- looks like they may be available at a reasonable price.
Can we assume there is no way the guy could have switched sets on you?
as Tom says Big Cap blowing is not something we often see aprt from one
pc monitor that keeps cropping up.
No leads did not touch anything under board the frame it attached to was plastic and non conductive. I looked up the part number for the board and checked Ebay the cheapest replacement board was $81 shipped.

None of these look the correct size of the one they are replacing....is digi-key located in the USA?

Last edited by eqtitan; 06-26-2012 at 10:42 AM..
eqtitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 10:51 AM   #11
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,952
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Hi - its international - dont know how I got the singapore page just type in digikey.com into your browser and search for 390uf 200v then narrow it down by size. Can you tell US the board number and redo the pics.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 03:17 PM   #12
Mario R Morales
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: san antonio,texas
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Need parts list 4 d610 (1zb36) orignal part# 4 lc320em2f emerson and d1208 (1m200z) orignal part# 4 emerson lc401em24
Mario R Morales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 01:38 PM   #13
Terryfictv
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
City & State: Vista,Ca
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Hi !
I am working on the same model...this is my list =

Blown fuse
Shorted Q600 = TK10A50D
Shorted D610 = 1ZB36 ( 36V 1 watt zener )
Shorted D640 = SK2B ( SMD on bottom of board )
Open R608 = .19 ohm

Update ASAP

T.
Terryfictv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:19 PM   #14
mu2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 118
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

I also need some information. Working on the same model and my power supply board is BA17F1F0102 3 and the number on the sticker is A17FDMPW.
I've already replaced about 5 parts - mosfet, zeners, resistor, etc.
I now have two burned resistors and can't identify the values.
The reference numbers are R635 and R636. They are located on the bottom right side of the board, above the fuse and to the right of the optocoupler.
Would really appreciate the values. I can't make out the color codes from the pictures that have been posted.
Does anyone have a link to the schematic of the power supply?

Thanks in advance
mu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 02:30 PM   #15
carjo3000
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

Quote:
Originally Posted by mu2 View Post
I also need some information. Working on the same model and my power supply board is BA17F1F0102 3 and the number on the sticker is A17FDMPW.
I've already replaced about 5 parts - mosfet, zeners, resistor, etc.
I now have two burned resistors and can't identify the values.
The reference numbers are R635 and R636. They are located on the bottom right side of the board, above the fuse and to the right of the optocoupler.
Would really appreciate the values. I can't make out the color codes from the pictures that have been posted.
Does anyone have a link to the schematic of the power supply?

Thanks in advance
Hello, I just started to work on the same board. I've tried replacing the fuse but it keeps blowing out so now I'm checking all the components that have been listed on this thread.

The values for R635 and R636 are 120ohm 5%.

You mentioned replacing 5 parts so far, can you please list the reference numbers? Has replacing them solved the problem?

thanks
carjo3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:52 AM   #16
mu2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 118
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

The tv isn't working yet, haven't had much time lately.
The parts that I have replaced are:
R608, D604, D645, D648, Q600 and D640 on the bottom of the board.
Also replaced the two 120 ohm resistors I mentioned before - but that fault wasn't related to the original problem.
Right now the transformer is squealing when the set is connected to power. I haven't left it on long enough for fear of more damage.
Check out this thread. I think this set uses the same power board.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...light=lc320ss2
The writer lists some digikey part numbers.

Mike
mu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 08:29 AM   #17
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
Posts: 7,203
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

change the opto and the 2 zeners after the rectifiers on the secondary side.the opto dies with the chopper and caused an overshoot.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 12:42 PM   #18
microvibe
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: steinbach,mb
My Country: canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 28
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

i have this same tv and problem with power supply , replaced parts and tested others i still dont have power , there is no clicks or nothing when pluged in. i have power at the zenner d604 not sure where it stop after that trying to follow the circuits still
microvibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:08 AM   #19
buymytvpleez
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: ny
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

D611 is the part that needs replacement. Problem is, I can;t find ANYWHERE to purchase it.

go to youtube and type in the Emerson LC320EM2F repair. There is a repair video (in spanish) that shows you the part that you need. Can anyone help me find the D611 part for purchase?

Johnny
buymytvpleez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 04:36 PM   #20
Dmaltz
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: Grants Pass Oregon
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Need help with a Emerson 32" TV LC320EM2F

The schematic I have only has a part number for D611 which is 12B220-YBB. I'm guessing it's a 220 volt zener based on the numbers it has.
Dmaltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?