Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2012, 09:36 AM   #1
stevo1210
FD Civic Driver
 
stevo1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Eastern coast
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 3,880
Send a message via AIM to stevo1210 Send a message via MSN to stevo1210 Send a message via Yahoo to stevo1210 Send a message via Skype™ to stevo1210
Default Testing computers

How do you guys test computers and laptops for stability issues etc? As in what method or burn in software do you use?
I personally just pop memtest86+ overnight and if it doesn't crash I'll call it a day... Open to suggestions.
__________________
Don't find love, let love find you. That's why its called falling in love, because you don't force yourself to fall, you just fall. - Anonymous

...You're speaking to a Honda enthusiast.
stevo1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:14 AM   #2
Koda
Badcaps Veteran
 
Koda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
City & State: Prilep
My Country: Macedonia
Line Voltage: 220v AC
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 282
Default Re: Testing computers

If system is suspected to have stability issues or a mobo is recapped I usually run prime95 for 36 hours, if memory is suspected memtest for 36 hours and if gpu is suspected furmark for 6-10 hours. That's only for extreme cases. If other non critical work is being done on the system 5 hours of testing.
__________________
Guns don't solve problems. I'll take 12
Koda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:58 AM   #3
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 13,191
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: Testing computers

memtest86.
__________________


(Insert signature here)
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 04:13 PM   #4
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,495
Default Re: Testing computers

Memtest86+ for 24 hours, followed by IntelBurnTest for 24 hours.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 4x 250GB HDD (2 in RAID 1), 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:25 PM   #5
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,373
Send a message via ICQ to Topcat Send a message via AIM to Topcat
Default Re: Testing computers

a program called 'the troubleshooter' and/or memtest
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Owner & Forum Administrator!!

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 11:41 PM   #6
stevo1210
FD Civic Driver
 
stevo1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Eastern coast
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 3,880
Send a message via AIM to stevo1210 Send a message via MSN to stevo1210 Send a message via Yahoo to stevo1210 Send a message via Skype™ to stevo1210
Default Re: Testing computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
a program called 'the troubleshooter' and/or memtest
I use the troubleshooter sometimes. Only issue is that it doesn't work on laptops like IBM Thinkpads? or did I get a screwed up CD?

Last edited by stevo1210; 05-29-2012 at 12:36 AM..
stevo1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:07 AM   #7
Th3_uN1Qu3
I work for Beer
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,262
Send a message via Yahoo to Th3_uN1Qu3
Default Re: Testing computers

The Troubleshooter is an old piece of software, it won't work with everything nowadays. IntelBurnTest and Furmark, and Victoria (a russian software, from Hiren's Boot CD) for the HDD.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
A working TV? How boring!
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 01:16 PM   #8
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,619
Default Re: Testing computers

Toshiba tests computers by starting Windows, opening Internet Explorer, and then shutting the computer off as soon as the home page loads.
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:08 PM   #9
ncovert
Badcaps Veteran
 
ncovert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
City & State: Pennsylvania
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz 200A
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 260
Default Re: Testing computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by lti View Post
Toshiba tests computers by starting Windows, opening Internet Explorer, and then shutting the computer off as soon as the home page loads.
LOL. How do you know that, or did you make it up?

As for testing, usually Memtest86+ or Prime95. I also test the PSU voltages with a DMM and make sure everything else works.
ncovert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:46 PM   #10
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,619
Default Re: Testing computers

I saw the event logs and browser history on my laptop after it was returned from its first two warranty repairs. They actually do run testing software when they first receive the computer, but I don't think they perform any tests to see if the part they replaced fixed the problem.
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:47 PM   #11
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,495
Default Re: Testing computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by lti View Post
Toshiba tests computers by starting Windows, opening Internet Explorer, and then shutting the computer off as soon as the home page loads.
Really? I've had nothing but good experiences with Toshiba support.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 12:27 AM   #12
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 897
Default Re: Testing computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by lti View Post
I saw the event logs and browser history on my laptop after it was returned from its first two warranty repairs. They actually do run testing software when they first receive the computer, but I don't think they perform any tests to see if the part they replaced fixed the problem.
Was that Toshiba factory service or a local independent authorized repair center? Because I've heard the latter vary widely in quality, but the one in NW Phoenix, AZ is decent. Also Toshiba factory tech support for software seems good, but hardware tech support is among the worst I've experienced:

1st level tech: knows nothing about computers (What's the maximum memory capacity of model XYZ? "One-six-zero-G.B."), just types your inquiries into the same Ask Iris search engine that the public has to use.

2nd level tech: knows the very basics of computers in general, still has no access to non-public information.

3rd level tech: may understand specifics of Toshiba computers, can access non-public information. May be crabby and not let you speak to a supervisor or manager ("I'm the top of the top, baby!").
larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:38 AM   #13
Krendoshazin
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: London
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13
Default Re: Testing computers

  1. Memtest86 is good for testing the stability of the CPU, RAM, and any components related to that system.
  2. I use a DOS version of Hard Disk Sentinel for testing hard drives in a system; this allows me to see if there are any problems with the disk itself, or with communication between the disk and the controller.
  3. I have a device for testing power supplies that checks all of the voltage rails and tells me if any of them are out of spec. However, this doesn't test the supply under stress and I'll figure out how to test it under a load at some point.
  4. I have Slax on a USB drive with a few tools loaded on it. One of these is 'System Stability Tester' which makes the system run at 100% by calculating pi to a specified amount of places (the more digits, the more resource intensive). If it can handle a full load for several hours, then I consider it stable.
That pretty much covers my toolkit.
Krendoshazin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 12:41 PM   #14
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,619
Default Re: Testing computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by larrymoencurly View Post
Was that Toshiba factory service or a local independent authorized repair center? Because I've heard the latter vary widely in quality, but the one in NW Phoenix, AZ is decent.
This computer went to Louisville, Kentucky.
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?