Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2012, 11:02 AM   #1
timwebb22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: memphis.tn
My Country: united states
Line Voltage: 120ac 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 29
Default dual rectifier

im looking for the data sheet for this part. part name is en220a it is from a ps to power the inverter.
timwebb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 11:21 AM   #2
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,953
Default Re: dual rectifier

Did you try typing en220a into google - is it one of those parts. Sorry if you tried that
already - can you post a pic of it.
Please also can you update your profile with country and mains voltage.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 11:22 AM   #3
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,597
Default Re: dual rectifier

Do you have a picture of the part, and the area of the PSU it comes from?

If the device is failed (usually shorted), then it may be possible to use an alternative compatible device.
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

65 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 24 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 8 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 19 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 02:17 PM   #4
timwebb22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: memphis.tn
My Country: united states
Line Voltage: 120ac 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 29
Default Re: dual rectifier

the part go right behind the yellow and black transformer. it traces back to the plugs for the inverter. it reads 1.83 in diode check. and 70k in ohms. which seems very low.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20120525_150524.jpg (405.7 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20120525_150702.jpg (411.9 KB, 26 views)
timwebb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 02:41 PM   #5
multimeter
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: devon
My Country: united kingdom
Line Voltage: 230v 50hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 699
Default Re: dual rectifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by timwebb22 View Post
the part go right behind the yellow and black transformer. it traces back to the plugs for the inverter. it reads 1.83 in diode check. and 70k in ohms. which seems very low.
are they not dual shottky diodes?
multimeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 02:43 PM   #6
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,597
Default Re: dual rectifier

That sounds fine, but to confirm -

Number pins 1-3 left to right.

Labelled (pos/red) (neg/black) respectively (use diode test.)

Test 1-2 should read ~150 - 700.

Test 2-1 should read single "1" or "OL".

Test 2-3 should read single "1" or "OL".

Test 3-2 should read ~150 - 700.

Test 1-3 should read single "1" or "OL".

That looks a lot like a Toshiba PSU.

The power module clamped to the heatsink (the one with lots of pins) can sometimes go faulty, though this usually blows the fuse.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 02:44 PM   #7
multimeter
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: devon
My Country: united kingdom
Line Voltage: 230v 50hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 699
Default Re: dual rectifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by multimeter View Post
are they not dual shottky diodes?
set your meter if dmm to 200 ohm,or 10k ohm anologue, pin 1 and 2 should show reading one way ,pins 2 and 3 should show reading one way
multimeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 02:52 PM   #8
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 8,318
Default Re: dual rectifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by timwebb22 View Post
im looking for the data sheet for this part. part name is en220a it is from a ps to power the inverter.
"en220a rectifier" leads to

http://www.sanken-ele.co.jp/en/prod/...fmen-220ae.pdf
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 02:55 PM   #9
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,953
Default Re: dual rectifier

Data sheet?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf data_fmen-220ae.pdf (311.7 KB, 7 views)
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 03:35 PM   #10
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13,833
Default Re: dual rectifier

Common Cathode with Isolated tab, we ran into this problem before with the person did not order the Isolated tab version.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 04:14 PM   #11
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,953
Default Re: dual rectifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Common Cathode with Isolated tab, we ran into this problem before with the person did not order the Isolated tab version.
I remember that its here http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...987#post237987.

But the datasheet retiredcaps and I have given is for the TO-220F package
which is fully insulated, though it doesnt say so in the sheet other than by the package type.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 04:26 PM   #12
timwebb22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: memphis.tn
My Country: united states
Line Voltage: 120ac 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 29
Default Re: dual rectifier

i normally repair audio amps and such. im trying tv's now. different ball game now.
i tried google but didnt come up with anything. i did the steps they are good.
i found a bad zener diode over by the big ic now the relay click.

the problem was it was in a pawn shop on display and they left it on all the time until it went out if it helps any.
timwebb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 04:38 PM   #13
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,597
Default Re: dual rectifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by timwebb22 View Post
i normally repair audio amps and such. im trying tv's now. different ball game now.
i tried google but didnt come up with anything. i did the steps they are good.
i found a bad zener diode over by the big ic now the relay click.

the problem was it was in a pawn shop on display and they left it on all the time until it went out if it helps any.
Yeah, sounds like it just wore out.

Zeners are difficult to test with a meter, but they most commonly fail shorted or open. If you test one way and get a reading around 500mV, it is probably okay. But if you test nearly zero or open both ways then it's failed.

Are you getting any power indication from the TV? Any LED?

Do you have a multimeter?

If so:

- Is the mains fuse OK?
- Does it give a standby voltage (usually 5V)?
- If it turns on does 12/24V come up?
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 07:03 PM   #14
timwebb22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: memphis.tn
My Country: united states
Line Voltage: 120ac 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 29
Default Re: dual rectifier

yeah i have a fluke 75 and a leader 15mhz scope.

these are the voltages
12v- 11.68
6v- 6.4
24v-0
5v-5
power sig 3.28

Last edited by timwebb22; 05-25-2012 at 08:08 PM..
timwebb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 09:49 PM   #15
timwebb22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: memphis.tn
My Country: united states
Line Voltage: 120ac 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 29
Default Re: dual rectifier

ok i was trying different grounding points while testing. i used the heatsink on the big ic as a grounding point and i see 28v on the 12-24v pin for the inverter and i get 19.6 volts on the pins on the inverter.
timwebb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:31 AM   #16
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,597
Default Re: dual rectifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by timwebb22 View Post
ok i was trying different grounding points while testing. i used the heatsink on the big ic as a grounding point and i see 28v on the 12-24v pin for the inverter and i get 19.6 volts on the pins on the inverter.
You should use the metal case for ground, not the primary side.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:15 AM   #17
timwebb22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: memphis.tn
My Country: united states
Line Voltage: 120ac 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 29
Default Re: dual rectifier

ok. it looks like im missing the 12-24v for the inverter.
timwebb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:27 AM   #18
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,597
Default Re: dual rectifier

Can you post a top-down picture of the PSU?
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 07:12 AM   #19
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,953
Default Re: dual rectifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by timwebb22 View Post
ok. it looks like im missing the 12-24v for the inverter.
Was the main board connected when testing?
and please can we have a picture of the bottom of the board.

Also can you state the make and model of the TV.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 05:12 PM   #20
timwebb22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: memphis.tn
My Country: united states
Line Voltage: 120ac 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 29
Default Re: dual rectifier

that dark spot must be from the factory. i seen it a few other power supplies online.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20120527_180324.jpg (388.3 KB, 7 views)
timwebb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?