Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2012, 12:02 PM   #1
MADY
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: ABIDJAN
My Country: COTE D'IVOIRE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 17
Post sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

when it starts, it stays on moin one minute and turns off. he does it restart only
MADY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 12:38 PM   #2
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,728
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

Do you have a camera... can you take pictures of the inside of your TV?

Notice you live in Cote D'iovre, so how easy will it be to get parts? Do you have many electronics shops/distributors?
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

64 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 21 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 7 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 6 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 13 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 18 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 09:30 PM   #3
hoadle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Nebraska
Posts: 129
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

"when it starts, it stays on moin one minute and turns off. he does it restart only" look like the digital mainboard is bad (its control on/off and TV function)
open the TV & take picture and pot this thread
hoadle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 03:38 AM   #4
MADY
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: ABIDJAN
My Country: COTE D'IVOIRE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 17
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

It is true that I am in Ivory Coast, but we have the possibility to have the parts. as you ask here are photos of the card. thank you
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMGP5768.JPG (359.5 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5769.JPG (344.4 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5770.JPG (380.2 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5771.JPG (298.0 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5772.JPG (243.4 KB, 14 views)
MADY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 07:14 AM   #5
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,369
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

Hi- Pictures need to be a bit sharper

Examples of what is needed
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1290283049

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...7&d=1280167246

It will be useful if you can say a bit about yourself - skills tools etc

Do you have a multimeter and can you use it?.
Can you do a picture of the inverter board - one down left side in pic 1
Do it in 2 halves - overlap

When you switch on does the screen light up then go off.

What do the LEDs do - stay on/ flash/ change colour

"he does it restart only" what do you mean? Does it try to restart after it goes off.


Service manual - here:
http://elektrotanya.com/sony_klv-26s.../download.html

Last edited by selldoor; 05-14-2012 at 07:25 AM.. Reason: add sm
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 03:43 AM   #6
MADY
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: ABIDJAN
My Country: COTE D'IVOIRE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 17
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

in fact I am a technician and I'm used to depanner.Mais it is now that I work on LCD, PLASMA. Also I have a multimeter that I know and use lots of other equipment. I want to distinguish from other technician here because they do nothing but tinker. Otherwise when you turn on the screen, it stays on for a miniute to moin and he died. and after two minutes, it turns back on then back off. no flashing LED to assert an error code. thank you
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMGP5793.jpg (392.9 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5794.jpg (352.5 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5795.jpg (324.5 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5791.jpg (432.7 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5792.jpg (419.5 KB, 4 views)
MADY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 03:52 AM   #7
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,369
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

Can you do a picture of the inverter board - one down left side in pic 1
Do it in 2 halves - overlap
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 07:23 AM   #8
MADY
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: ABIDJAN
My Country: COTE D'IVOIRE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 17
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

I'm not too bright in English so that I have a little trouble following you but thank you for help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMGP5796.JPG (187.8 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5797.JPG (203.9 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5798.JPG (198.8 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5799.JPG (188.1 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP5800.JPG (223.0 KB, 7 views)
MADY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:20 AM   #9
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Monrovia, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

I had a 40W4150 which restarted like three times and then it gave me a 10 blink code. I have reset to factory, did a firmware update and stopped doing that.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:40 AM   #10
MADY
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: ABIDJAN
My Country: COTE D'IVOIRE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 17
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

OK. thank for a suggestion
MADY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:26 AM   #11
milha
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Brno
My Country: Česko
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

Hi. I have LCD Sony Bravia KDL-40W5710 and the same problem. Can you tell me, please, how shall I do the reset to the fastory and the firmware update? There is no time. The TV turn after 3 seconds off. Thak you wery much! Miloš
milha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:46 AM   #12
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,369
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

@Mady - I think I was on holiday and missed following this up. On the inverter board
there is at least one fuse that I can see - did you test it?
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:58 AM   #13
milha
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Brno
My Country: Česko
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

I have no fuse on the inverter, bud the inverter is OK. I need to know, how can I do the reset and the firmware update. Do you know it? Miloš
milha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 04:04 AM   #14
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,728
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

It might be done with the USB port. Maybe Sony has firmware on their website.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 04:12 AM   #15
milha
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Brno
My Country: Česko
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

Bud the TV can't turn on! I need to do reset first! My question is: How to do? Miloš
milha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 04:12 AM   #16
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,369
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

@milha My post was directed at MADY but if you look at MADY's picture 3 there is a small white fuse just above the connector. It is at F4 which might suggest there are other fuses on that board. Do you have a different board?
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 05:20 AM   #17
milha
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Brno
My Country: Česko
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

@selldor Yes, I heve a different board and a different fault. I need to reset the TV. Miloš
milha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 08:24 PM   #18
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Monrovia, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

On the model that I have worked I had to hold the arrow up from the remote while I turned the TV on from the TV's power button and then let go the arrow up button.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 02:34 AM   #19
milha
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Brno
My Country: Česko
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

I am sorry, I didn't succeed to do reset bei the model LCD Sony Bravia KDL-40W5710 by this way. Good luck to you! Miloš
milha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 04:52 AM   #20
MADY
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: ABIDJAN
My Country: COTE D'IVOIRE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 17
Default Re: sony bravia lcd klv-37s400a restart

Seeldoor. thank you. but I gave the TV to the owner because he was too impatient.
MADY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?