Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2012, 11:18 AM   #21
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

The one that doesnt work goes out of range.

I have attached a couple of pics of the working one measure for capacitance and resistance. I would imagine swapping them both at the same time would make sense.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Cap Reading.jpg (536.0 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg Cap Reading 2.jpg (546.9 KB, 15 views)
__________________
Fixed so far : 1 Home cinema system, 16 LCD Monitors, 4 LCD TV's

How to resize your pictures guide click HERE
Retiredcaps Ideal post example click HERE
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 11:37 AM   #22
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13,844
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

That will be good way to go. I always test those tuning caps, a must, when I work on the inverter section. Resistance reading should be infinite since cap is an open circuit device. If the meter which runs on 9V batteries can show the resistance reading, just imagine what happen when the cap is exposed to a couple hundred volts of pulses.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:30 AM   #23
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

Ordered some new tuning caps and transistors for this one. Looks like i'm going to spend more more money on this than its worth but im keen to get it up and running. Bit should be here tomorrow so I will keep you posted.
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:14 AM   #24
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

Tuning caps arrived today and new Transistors.

All cleaned up and then fitted. Just tried it for an hour and its working fine.

Cheers for the tip Budm...
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 10:19 AM   #25
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13,844
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

Great, thanks for the good news.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:51 AM   #26
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

No Probs,

Another lesson learnt there!

It's not all good news though unfortunately as I have now ran out of things to fix! Well apart from the Barco.
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:58 AM   #27
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13,844
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

That BARCO is a tough one.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 12:09 PM   #28
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

But once its fixed it will be even more satisfying!

Only got to get the 18v line up and running then it will become easier.

I am off next week so I will have lots of time to look at it.
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:14 PM   #29
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 8,321
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasgriff View Post
Tuning caps arrived today and new Transistors.
Hmm, this is the first case that I can remember that the tuning caps are at fault.

I certianly would have NOT figured this one out.
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:34 PM   #30
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13,844
Default Re: GNR TS700 2 seconds to black

I have repaired many Dell and ACER with these bad tuning caps used in the Royer oscillator setup in the inverter output circuits, most of the new monitors do not use the Royer Osc any more.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?