Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Battling the Bad Capacitors > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2012, 05:34 AM   #1
Neotheone
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: England
My Country: England
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default power problem? your knowledge needed..

Just a quick pointer - I have a 42" Alba just over 2yrs old and it was all fine working until my son tried changing the scart lead when it was powered on.
Now not a thing no lights standby or any other - on opening to check for bulging caps etc seen 2 I guess fuseable resistors cermeric type burnt out on this psu 17pw26-3 replaced and still no power and no obvious bad caps but I was just woundering would a power surge from adjusting the scart cause a fault on the main board thus blowing these resistors - limited in understanding but I will check the power from the psu is at the passover pins to the main board ?? any advice first if this power fail has been seen before thanks for any help..
Neotheone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 05:47 AM   #2
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 5,753
Default Re: power problem? your knowledge needed..

Starter for 10 - Fuse in mains lead good?
Is mains lead plug in type - try another lead - try this lead in something else
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:04 AM   #3
Neotheone
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: England
My Country: England
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: power problem? your knowledge needed..

Hi, yes changed fuse 5a and tested - removed power lead and power at pins fron mains to lead end ? thanks for the reply
Neotheone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:06 AM   #4
Neotheone
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: England
My Country: England
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: power problem? your knowledge needed..

The two burnt resistors are at location r829 and r830 on the 17pw26-3 psu
Neotheone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:12 AM   #5
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 5,753
Default Re: power problem? your knowledge needed..

There is probably a fuse on this board - near the mains lead - it is possibly a small cylinder shape doesnt look like a fuse - designated F800 F600 F100 will have some writing nearby saying 240v 2 A or whatever - did you find it/test it?
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:23 AM   #6
Neotheone
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: England
My Country: England
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: power problem? your knowledge needed..

yes I have found it F800 t 33.15A 250V -cannot test just yet multimeter is dead new one on order should be here monday.. thanks for you help.. would these r829 and r830 resistors cause this fault or is these caused by a fault in your opinion somewhere else.. or is it just a case of tracing the flow and testing. The resistors by the way are grey in colour and 1cm ish long r830 colour code orange - orange - silver - gold and r829 is yelloe - purple - silver - gold.. just for info what type are these .. thanks again..
Neotheone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 07:02 AM   #7
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 5,753
Default Re: power problem? your knowledge needed..

Not a clue - I dont have a background in electronics I am just picking up bits of information here and there and pass on when appropriate. If you look at this post www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=16911 you will see this series of power boards are a minefield.
If you need full help with your TV you will need to post pictures of the top and bottom of the boards. We need to be able to read the part numbers on the boards and they should be jpg no bigger than 2 mb and no bigger than 2000x 2000. Post them using manage attachments which is found by clicking on go advanced at the bottom of quick reply.
A bit of information about your abilities and the tools you have
helps - have a look at some other posts - use the search facility- you will soon see what info you need to provide to get the best help. Resistors- depends what you mean I can look up the values but guess you did that if you have replaced -wattage is based on physical size. The body colour varies with manufacturer.

By the way that fuse will be 3.15 amps 250v

Last edited by selldoor; 03-04-2012 at 07:19 AM.. Reason: fuse
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.