Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2012, 06:34 AM   #61
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

This uses the Philips EJ3.OU LA chassis. The service manual is available from Elektrotanya under that chassis number.

I've attached the error code section of the service manual, error code 8 indicates a problem with the DC-DC converter on the Small Signal Board. It's a common problem with many Philips SSBs. By memory you will have to replace several dual FET switches, the controller, and since 12V is present momentarily, a fuse. This is documented in the service manual. The repair parts were available from Digi-Key for about $10 the last time I did this repair. NOTE: Do not use the part numbers on the schematic, use the part numbers in the parts list - they show upgraded parts.

PlainBill
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EJ3.OU.jpg (85.9 KB, 52 views)
__________________
For a number of reasons, both health and personal, I will no longer be active on this board. Any PMs asking for assistance will be ignored.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 10:26 AM   #62
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Thanks Plainbill, that is perfect! I'll look over the SSB and see if anything is faulted. If only there was that level of detail for the power supply!

I looked over the 5v rail, and nothing appeared be shorted. I did start probing the other controller, and it is either shorted or has pins connected internally. The number on the top is very difficult to read, but it looks like TEA1601. Now putting that into google gives me little of use, so I may have the number wrong. My next thought is just plugging in the power supply and either touching the controller chips or using an infrared thermometer to see if I can find anything that's heating up which may give a clue.

I did find that there was quite a bit of flux left on the board from resoldering. I tried to remove it with rubbing alcohol pads, but as soon as the rubbing alcohol evaporated it was sticky again.
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:12 AM   #63
bbjunkie
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: N.W. UK
Posts: 272
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpgruss View Post
I did find that there was quite a bit of flux left on the board from resoldering. I tried to remove it with rubbing alcohol pads, but as soon as the rubbing alcohol evaporated it was sticky again.
I find IPA and a toothbrush is good for this
bbjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:33 PM   #64
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

I'm back for another round. I've been banging my head all night trying to find the source of the burning. Everything on the 5v rail checks out, no shorts or anything.

I don't know how reliable it is, but I started using my nose. It reeks of burnt electronics near the bridge rectifier. Looking at it, it looks like a replacement. Could something be wrong with it, or should I be looking elsewhere?
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:56 PM   #65
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 8,282
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpgruss View Post
It reeks of burnt electronics near the bridge rectifier.
Before you found the open 1 ohm resistor, the bridge rectifier has been working the entire time. Otherwise you would not get 166V DC across the big cap this entire time.

Is it possible that the burning smell is left over from the previous owner's experience? Just something that takes time to go away?
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:59 PM   #66
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

I suppose it is possible, but it definitely smells burn-y when I turn the power on, and it dissipates when I disconnect mains power. I thought I saw a wisp of smoke, but it could have been my imagination playing tricks on me.
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:14 PM   #67
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

I decided to go for broke and plug it in, with my finger on the surge strip button. It is the bridge rectifier arcing, I actually saw a little spark this time! I re-reflowed the connections, and cleaned up the flux with alcohol and q-tips. No more burning! Turns out there was a bit of flux left from when the previous owner installed the rectifier, I thought (wrongly) I had burned it all off reflowing the joints, and it conducted when exposed to 120 volts. Now on to finding the main board faults...
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:19 PM   #68
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 8,282
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpgruss View Post
It is the bridge rectifier arcing, I actually saw a little spark this time!
Good job.

Please post pictures of the SSB board so we know what components are on there.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:41 PM   #69
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Attached are pictures of the SSB.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ssb front.jpg (453.1 KB, 58 views)
File Type: jpg ssb back.jpg (437.9 KB, 38 views)
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:08 PM   #70
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpgruss View Post
Attached are pictures of the SSB.
On front:

Yellow circle - fuse, check if it is open.

Red circles - power FETs - check for shorts.

On Back:

Red circle - dual DC-DC controller - replace if FETs are shorted.

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:20 PM   #71
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Bill, I don't see your picture, but I checked fuse 1UO1 and fets 7UO1 and 7UO3 which are discussed in the manual, I did not find any shorts and the fuse is good. I'm going to plug the board back in and see if any of the voltages are present so I can follow the troubleshooting steps in the manual.

Last edited by rpgruss; 01-28-2012 at 09:42 PM..
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:38 AM   #72
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Duh!!

Note to myself - don't assume similar problems have a identical cause. It could be a problem 'downstream' in the 1.2 Volt supply, or even an excessive load.

PlainBill
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 32PFL5322D-37_ssb front-1.jpg (834.8 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg 32PFL5322D-37 ssb back-1.jpg (808.3 KB, 23 views)

Last edited by PlainBill; 01-29-2012 at 07:44 AM..
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 07:54 AM   #73
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Trying to read the service manual, and for some reason I can't figure out where I'm supposed to read 1v2, 3v3, etc. on the board. All the manual says is check to see if they are present even for a short time, with no indication that I can see on where to read them from.

However, I went and retested the FETs that Plainbill circled. Before I tested off the datasheet looking for shorts. I'm assuming it is each one is basically 2 FETs in one? Anyway, I went did just a pin-by-pin check, and sure enough, the lower one is shorted between the lower left and the upper right pins.

I am going to start an order, but before I press ship I wanted to make sure there isn't something else I should be checking.
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 07:56 AM   #74
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

I also have a moderator-type question: this thread has now moved beyond what I asked about in the beginning (repairing the power supply). Should I keep this thread going or start a new one? I don't want to clog up the board with unnecessary threads but I was also wondering if a new title and OP would bring in people who may be avoiding this thread.
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:02 AM   #75
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,871
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpgruss View Post
Trying to read the service manual, and for some reason I can't figure out where I'm supposed to read 1v2, 3v3, etc. on the board. All the manual says is check to see if they are present even for a short time, with no indication that I can see on where to read them from.
You can test the voltages across the grey/beige ceramic caps.

Looks like you found the short, though.
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

64 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 23 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 8 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 6 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 18 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 01:38 PM   #76
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 8,282
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpgruss View Post
Should I keep this thread going or start a new one? I don't want to clog up the board with unnecessary threads but I was also wondering if a new title and OP would bring in people who may be avoiding this thread.
Keep going. Starting a new thread will only confuse us because if we need to see a picture we have to jump back to the old thread. And if there is another problem on the PS and you started a new thread, then what do you do?

There are only a handful of contributing regulars and most of us are already helping you out.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 08:56 PM   #77
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Another status update! I got the two FETs and controller in the mail today, so I put them in. No joy Power light still blinks 8 times.

I measured the voltages across the 4 capacitors around 7UO1 and 7UO3, 3 of them had essentially 0 volts (around 0.03v), but the lower left cap had 0.21v. Any ideas?
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 10:24 PM   #78
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 8,282
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpgruss View Post
I got the two FETs and controller in the mail today, so I put them in. No joy
1) Do the new components still test shorted?

2) Are there any voltages on the connectors (plural)?

Last edited by retiredcaps; 02-02-2012 at 10:29 PM..
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 06:08 AM   #79
rpgruss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Columbus, OH
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 119
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Yes, there is continuity between the same pins as before (pin 1 and 5 of 7U03). This was present even with the FETs removed just checking between the pads, if there is a fault it is farther upstream.

The only voltages I can find in the manual are for the main power connector. 5vsb is always present, when I first plug in mains power 12v is present for less than a second then drops off to 0 volts.

I have been going through the service manual, trying to make sense of it. I guess I don't have enough training on this chassis, lots of the things I can't make heads or tails of. Check voltage on pin 9? Which pin 9? Anyway, I digress.

I did find one thing that may be out of place: it says to read the voltage drop across 3U22, which is a 10 ohm resistor. I haven't checked it in circuit yet as it is on the backside of the board, but I did measure it off and I read 527 ohms, which according to the schematic reads like it is backfeeding through a nearby transistor, meaning the resistance is too high which could set off the protection circuit. Would it help if I posted the relevant pages of the manual?
rpgruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 06:17 AM   #80
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Philips 32PFL5322D/37 power supply repair

Posting the relevant pages would help, or just post the page number and the grid location.

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?