Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-17-2011, 06:03 PM   #1
starmaxpc

City & State: Canada
Default Dell w4201c hd pdp hdtv plasma tv

picked this item up yesterday from a guy who was gonna toss thought id give it a shot.

i press the power button on, blue light come on, it stays on, clicking in the power relay switch area, plasma does not light up.

no signs of bad caps, the area looks good. im not a pro tech and i don't have the electrical knowledge but if led i can follow well enough. it has to be something simple im hoping. looks to be a really nice tv.

any thoughts or ideas. i will post pics if requested but i just didnt want to load a bunch up at the time. just thought id ask first and show later. thanks.
starmaxpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:37 PM   #2
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran

City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Default Re: Dell w4201c hd pdp hdtv plasma tv

Post one picture of the back of the set (with the cover removed). That will help identify who made the plasma panel, and give us the information to request more detailed pictures.

Attach it using 'Manage Attachments' - below the text entry area.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 07:59 AM   #3
rayrod81
Badcaps Veteran

City & State: Colorado

These are known for failures of two capacitors on the power supply. Most of the time they show no signs of failure. Coppell TV wrote an article about this problem here: http://blog.coppelltvrepair.com/2010...o-picture.html