Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2011, 12:42 AM   #21
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerg View Post
too much memory for a 32 bit os?

really i have nothing but time to keep guessing tonight...
it has the capability but no. keep in mind that anything socket a is 32 bit.
__________________


(Insert signature here)
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 12:47 AM   #22
gerg
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Sheboygan, Wisconsin
My Country: United States
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 273
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

socket a wanna water cool i could go through my junk pile and see if i still have my old dangerden setup maze 4 block and a z chipset block lol

I am running out of guesses
gerg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 12:49 AM   #23
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerg View Post
socket a wanna water cool i could go through my junk pile and see if i still have my old dangerden setup maze 4 block and a z chipset block lol

I am running out of guesses
I suggest you look up the wikipedia page on XP editions. there is a large hint there.
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 08:56 AM   #24
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

Dual CPUs?
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 03:57 PM   #25
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by lti View Post
Dual CPUs?
you have been awarded a virtual cookie.

you can now guess the brand, and model. the brand's name is also a term used in electronics.
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 05:46 PM   #26
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

crap. recapped the psu, still dead.



the manual tot he board says it needs at least a 400W psu, and my only other spare unit is a 300W delta.

suggestions?
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 06:09 PM   #27
shovenose
Powered by Bing
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,617
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

Use the Delta! Since when does a mobo have a wattage rating, lol!
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 06:31 PM   #28
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
Use the Delta! Since when does a mobo have a wattage rating, lol!
dualies tend to.

just like graphics cards do.

to prove the point, I i will reveal that the mobo is a Gigabyte GA-7DPXDW

manual attached.

off topic- the manual as a lot of engrish in it...

still looking for advice on the psu issue.

Attached Files
File Type: pdf networking_7dpxdw_1002.pdf (1.48 MB, 5 views)
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 07:39 PM   #29
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

FYI- the 400w bit isn't in the manual, but in the FAQ on GB's site:

http://www.gigabyte.com/support-down...id=466&pid=995

ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 08:30 PM   #30
shovenose
Powered by Bing
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,617
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

It's BS I think... how much amperage you got on the +12V, -12V, +5, and +3.3?
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 08:33 PM   #31
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

well, a datasheet on my psu:

http://www.delta.com.tw/product/ps/s...f/DPS300GB.pdf

the psu label says

12v 15A
5v 30A
3.3v 16A
-12v 0.8A
5vsb 2A
-5v 0.3A
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 08:45 PM   #32
shovenose
Powered by Bing
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,617
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

Meh just use it until you find a better one. It's a Delta, so it can probably do a little more than 300w anyway...
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:37 PM   #33
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 4,464
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

Very nice board there!

Like shovenose, I too have to raise the BS flag on the wattage rating that they gave on the FAQ, it's just unrealistic.


I see a AUX 12v connector on the motherboard, so that means the CPU VRM is powered from the 12v rail, which in turn means you need a PSU with a stronger 12v rail. Either way, you I'm sure you won't need a 400W PSU. Just look up the TDP or Maximum Power Dissipation rating of each CPU on cpuworld, then multiply that by 1.3 (assuming an unrealistically low 70% efficiency for the VRM) and then by 2 (since you have 2 CPUs). That will give you a rough estimate of the wattage you need on the 12v rail.

****
Okay, I just looked at all of the Athlon MP CPUs, and the highest Maximum Power Dissipitation I saw was 66 Watts. Using the numbers above, that gives you 171.6 Watts peak for the 12v rail just for the CPUs, which comes out to 14.3 Amps peak. And of course, that's only if your CPUs are the ones that use 66 Watts. The Athlon MP 2400+ are rated to dissipate 60W max, so that's 156W on the 12v rail, or 13A.

Last edited by momaka; 11-18-2011 at 10:54 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:37 PM   #34
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

i ran some calcs and in my initial single cpu setup, the 300W will work. for the final dual setup, I will need some more juice.

that assumes that i keep the graphics card, which is an nvidia geforce 5200fx.
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:52 PM   #35
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,287
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

It will struggle with a dual CPU. It has too much current on the 5v rail and not enough on the 12V rail. That board may be a socket A, but it does have an ATX12V connector. If you were in Aus, you could have my thermaltake TR2 Bronze 600W.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/XPS-700-710-...item35b6be0c53 looks like it would be goof for the money. It looks like it might be standard ATX but you never know with Dell

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Seasonic-550...item1c20d16c01 That one is a bit more expensive, but also looks good.

EDIT, your Delta may be OK for a single CPU.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 4x 250GB HDD (2 in RAID 1), 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:59 PM   #36
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

so i assume a hipro made 250W unit i have from a p4 based dell is a no either. I'll check the specs on it.

edit- aside form the the 300w, all my spare PSUs are 14A or less. damn.

Last edited by ratdude747; 11-18-2011 at 11:04 PM..
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 12:15 AM   #37
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions



fixed the 600W

noob over here had some primary side solder bridges (had to remove the primary HS to install a couple caps). fixed that, problem solved.

I feel so dumb right now...


Last edited by ratdude747; 11-19-2011 at 12:44 AM..
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 12:53 AM   #38
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

good news: I got the board and recapped it. haven't had time to test.

bad news: the ****ing board doesn't fit the case at all.. 1cm ish too long and the tall registered memory conflicts with the hdd cage...

any suggestions on good but cheap used case brands with front USB headers? I don't need a sound header, as my board has no such header... but it does have a frount usb header and forn usb acess would be nice.

on a side note, I have matched coolers... went to a university surplus store and found a bunch of NOS aluminum vantec socket a coolers for $5 a pop... I grabbed 2 and braided the fan cables... now all i need are a couple of athon MPs... and a case that fits
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 01:04 AM   #39
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
Since when does a mobo have a wattage rating, lol!
They do. - It's just impossible to find it.
.
All the traces on the board have amp limits.
That includes the ones going to the PSU connectors.
.
Also all the MOSFETs and IC's and so forth have TDP ratings - or something equivalent.
You -can- add it all up if you care to.
.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-

Last edited by PCBONEZ; 11-30-2011 at 01:10 AM..
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 01:12 AM   #40
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 12,804
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: old OC rig suggestions

BTW, the NOS coolers were theese:

http://www.vantecusa.com/gl/product/view_detail/135

they were new in box, never used. good deal for $5/cooler and no shipping?
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?