Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Other Devices with Bad Capacitors
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2011, 03:14 AM   #1
AdamDaze
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

Hi all!

First time poster here, was referred to you by the Whirlpool internet/broadband forums. Must say, it seems like an excellent resource!

I've been running dual 460 cards in SLI for a while, seems one of them was a little loose in it's slot and the heatsink was resting on another cards cap, which exploded. I'm hoping theres no collateral damage.

However, I'm having trouble identifying where to get a replacement cap!

Cap was at the rear (right) of the card, marked PMCE1 on the board. There's two other caps on the board of the same size... PMCE2 and PCE1.

PCE 1 says on its top
5KQ08
270
16v

PMCE2 says
5KQ08 (may be 6, the last digits slightly rubbed off)
270
16v

Heres a shitty iphone gallery showing closeups of the missing cap and other remaining ones. The missing cap did not launch into the stratosphere, I removed it. http://imgur.com/a/ng3Ck
AdamDaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 04:14 AM   #2
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,443
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

Those caps are Apaq polymers. Little is known about them as to their reliability, but I've always had a sneaking suspicion that they are junk (and maybe I'm right). I'm assumming that the failed one is a 270uF 16V (like the other two). In that case, use something like http://search.digikey.com/au/en/prod...018-ND/1136108 (assumming you're located in the US). Replace the other two similar ones as well.

You could also replace the smaller ones as well, although I can't tell the capacitance and voltage from that picture.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 4x 250GB HDD (2 in RAID 1), 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 03:40 PM   #3
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,443
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

Wait a minute, whirlpool forums. That's here in Australia. In that case, use http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-Fujitsu...item43a489e58c - digikey's shipping as quite high. If I need something badcaps.net doesn't have, I get them from him.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:51 AM   #4
AdamDaze
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

Cheap! Good. At that price theres no reason not to "try" the card's repair in a junk box.

You think I should replace all the APAQ's I can find then?

Yeah. this is an asus card. only had a 1 year warranty :/ vs most 460's 3.
AdamDaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 03:06 AM   #5
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,443
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

I would replace them all, just to be sure none of the others fail in the future (and because caps are cheap). I'm assumming the others are 820uF 2.5v, in which case the markings would be something like:

xxxxx
820
2.5v

If so, http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-Sanyo-S...item45ee5efb4e would do nicely as replacments.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:40 AM   #6
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

APAC has a site but no mention of that [5KQ] series at all.
The 08 [or 06] is just a date or batch code.

.
Moved PIC to here.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg K6mAV.jpg (53.6 KB, 47 views)
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-

Last edited by PCBONEZ; 11-06-2011 at 09:51 AM..
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 04:12 PM   #7
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,443
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

^^ um... is it Apac or Apaq?

EDIT: Apaq
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 04:44 PM   #8
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
Posts: 7,380
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

looks torn off rather than blown.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 04:57 PM   #9
seanc
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

I have a PNY GTX460 in my PC if there's anything I can cross-reference for you.
seanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 06:18 PM   #10
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_hegge View Post
^^ um... is it Apac or Apaq?

EDIT: Apaq
http://www.apaq.com.tw/products/ap_conarea01_en.htm
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 08:39 PM   #11
AdamDaze
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu View Post
looks torn off rather than blown.
Yes, I twisted the bugger off to get a better look at it on-the-spot as I didn't have my usual tools in the office.
AdamDaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 08:40 PM   #12
AdamDaze
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: Blown Cap on GTX 460 GFX card. Halp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanc View Post
I have a PNY GTX460 in my PC if there's anything I can cross-reference for you.
Thanks, but if replacing caps doesn't fix the issue I'm writing it off, with the new gfx cards coming out (allegedly) in Jan there's nothing else so value-for-money compared to my old sli rig
AdamDaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?