Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2011, 09:27 AM   #1
myxuyen
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Angry Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Hi ; i need help for my Toshiba 42rv530u , any help would be very appreciated , the tv amber light keep blinking 3 times then pause and so on , i did everything i can do including replace the power supply without any improved, i got most voltage as listed on the board except the voltage for : Stop-Fan , Pow-Lcd , 12v lcd .once again thanks million for any suggestion or help .
myxuyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 10:55 AM   #2
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Quote:
Originally Posted by myxuyen View Post
Hi ; i need help for my Toshiba 42rv530u , any help would be very appreciated , the tv amber light keep blinking 3 times then pause and so on , i did everything i can do including replace the power supply without any improved, i got most voltage as listed on the board except the voltage for : Stop-Fan , Pow-Lcd , 12v lcd .once again thanks million for any suggestion or help .
The service manual is here. It may have the blink codes.

PlainBill
__________________
For a number of reasons, both health and personal, I will no longer be active on this board. Any PMs asking for assistance will be ignored.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:05 PM   #3
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill View Post
The service manual is here. It may have the blink codes.

PlainBill
Can someone please explain in detail how to open this service manual from elektrotanya? Thank you very very much!
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 09:34 PM   #4
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 8,296
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Go there with all your adblock stuff disabled and wait 60 seconds. Eventually the words Get Manual will show up on the screen.
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 07:11 AM   #5
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Got it to work! Thank you Retiredcaps!
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:59 AM   #6
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

New problem now, Tv was working for ten to fifteen minutes or so. I entered into the service menu as per the manual just to see what was in there. I think I may have changed something by mistake. now all I get is the green light on front. I there a way to reset the factory presets with black screen? Thanks.
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 09:42 AM   #7
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,940
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Can you get the service menu back on following the manual and select reset from there?
You can try unplugging for a while and it may reset itself.

By the way are you talking about a Toshiba as per the heading in this
thread or are you talking about the tv in your other thread.

Last edited by selldoor; 03-26-2012 at 09:48 AM.. Reason: BTW
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 09:50 AM   #8
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Toshiba 42rv530u
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:02 AM   #9
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,940
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

ok, so what was the old problem - may have some bearing on why you have black screen?
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:51 AM   #10
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Picture would be perfect for ten to fifteen minutes the would start to change colors on the right side-slowly making its way to the left side. All inputs seemed to work. Almost like when a component heats up and starts to fail, Then once it cools it works temporarily again until it gets hot.
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:55 AM   #11
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

I've also tried downloading both revisions of the service manual from elekrotanya with no luck. Always some stupid software you have to buy to open those files!
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:03 AM   #12
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13,382
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

No software to buy, You can down load WINRAR, WINZIP, ETC for free from download.cnet.com

http://download.cnet.com/WinRAR-32-b...-10007677.html
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:06 AM   #13
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 6,940
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

All the elektrotanya files I have downloaded are pdf files.
And can be opened with Adobe PDF Reader - it is available free on many sites and from adobe here:http://get.adobe.com/uk/reader/

Untick the box or you will get Mcafee!!
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:09 PM   #14
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

They are "DWF" files. Only Autodesk can open them.
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:14 PM   #15
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13,382
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

I just went to ELEKTROTANYA and type in the search box, I see 1 pdf file and 2 zipped files, where did you see the DWF?
http://elektrotanya.com/?q=showresul...oria=&kat2=all

By the way, you can get free DWF Viewer for free.
http://download.cnet.com/Autodesk-DW...-10276414.html

I use AUTOCAD, Solidworks, and Altium for CAD design.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Toshiba.jpg (283.5 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by budm; 03-26-2012 at 12:29 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:30 PM   #16
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
I just went to ELEKTROTANYA and type in the search box, I see 1 pdf file and 2 zipped files, where did you see the DWF?
http://elektrotanya.com/?q=showresul...oria=&kat2=all
When I unzipped the file there were DWF files. I am trying to get a schematic for the power supply. I've exceded my 2 manuals per day-
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:24 PM   #17
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
I just went to ELEKTROTANYA and type in the search box, I see 1 pdf file and 2 zipped files, where did you see the DWF?
http://elektrotanya.com/?q=showresul...oria=&kat2=all

By the way, you can get free DWF Viewer for free.
http://download.cnet.com/Autodesk-DW...-10276414.html

I use AUTOCAD, Solidworks, and Altium for CAD design.
I downloaded the free software, The image appears for three seconds to tease me then goes away!
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:36 PM   #18
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Monrovia, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,304
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

After clicking on the link, you have to wait and at the bottom right corner will apear a Get Manual link.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:18 PM   #19
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
After clicking on the link, you have to wait and at the bottom right corner will apear a Get Manual link.
It's getting the files to open, You cannot download the file more than twice in the same day.
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 08:13 PM   #20
kueberco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: bethel, mn
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Toshiba 42rv530u Blinking 3 times

Quote:
Originally Posted by selldoor View Post
Can you get the service menu back on following the manual and select reset from there?
You can try unplugging for a while and it may reset itself.

By the way are you talking about a Toshiba as per the heading in this
thread or are you talking about the tv in your other thread.
Anyone have an idea to get the factory settings back to where they were? Seems like the set is in standby mode? I have all the voltages present when in standby mode. I don't have the two twelve volt on connector p810b
Any ideas? Thanks
kueberco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?