Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting Laptops & Portable Devices
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011, 12:26 AM   #1
masud
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Dhaka
My Country: Bangladesh
Line Voltage: 220VAC
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 215
Default compaq cq40 light blinks no display.

i have a compaq cq40 that does not display. the lan port light and the wireless lan light start blink after 15 seconds.

what to do, advice please.
masud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 01:37 AM   #2
ravitc
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: compaq cq40 light blinks no display.

I'm just new on this board.Maybe its too late for the owner but this information is just for others who do have the same problem. First you have to notice how many times it blink.
1= CPU problem
4= Display

for other blink please search HP website they do have more information on other blink
ravitc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 02:38 AM   #3
fardhan_rajab56
Paklar
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: sulawesi tenggara
My Country: INDONESIA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to fardhan_rajab56
Default Re: compaq cq40 light blinks no display.

This is also the same problem I
the screen does not display images and flashing LED lights per second
fardhan_rajab56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:00 AM   #4
YasminKomputer
New Member
 
YasminKomputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Pemalang, Central Java
My Country: Indonesia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: compaq cq40 light blinks no display.

i also have same problem..ligh blinking ones per second...
is there any solution?
i try to measure all voltage to processor (in all capasitors near processor), and there is 0,9V in one capasitors other is 1,05V, is that corect?
YasminKomputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:45 AM   #5
somisa8v
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: compaq cq40 light blinks no display.

hi all ,
CQ40 ( with AMD Turion64) have a well known " series " of faults.
first the LCD gose dark with no display at all without any blinking on
the CAPS LOCK KEY ( some times with ), solution is replacing the LCD panel.
then same will happens again after some time ( 3 to 8 months in most cases),
this time a reflow of the GPU will fix that.
then keep reflowing as needed ( max 3-4 times ) then reball.
finaly : sell all the parts u can, keep the mainboard for spare parts ( caps, mos, seristors ).



problem is in the GPU not in LCD.

forgot to mention battery dieing in the first 8-12 months

if u have INTEL version , ignore all that ( never seen this fault in intel's one)

good luck

Last edited by somisa8v; 12-06-2012 at 08:48 AM..
somisa8v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 11:18 AM   #6
lord
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Zagreb
My Country: Croatia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 296
Default Re: compaq cq40 light blinks no display.

lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:01 AM   #7
sasser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Malaysia
My Country: Malaysia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 162
Default Re: compaq cq40 light blinks no display.

the problem is GPU not LCD i hav face with this problem many time. reflow just temporary solution longer solution is replace new ATI 216-0674026 chipset.
sasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?