Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Battling the Bad Capacitors > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2006, 10:18 AM   #1
gonzo0815
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
City & State: Germany
Posts: 1,595
Default How bad are Ost caps realy?

Hi all,
i am building a System for office puposes for a friend from spare parts. It is an K7s5a pro with Ost caps and Duron700. The caps are all fine (from shape) and the board doesn`t have any problems. But i won`t get this system back wit fried mosfet or eny other problems in the next 12 Months. In my experience, this Ost caps aren`t that bad, i mean they last long if your don`t ocvercklock them to far. Now, theDuron isn`t that a big power sucker.
What is the opinion on that here? Should i replace some or all caps to be safe or let em go? At the moment i not going to replace the caps...

Next thing is a system build with new parts, it is an NFORCE4-A939 Board loaded with finest Ost, an MSI GF6600GT and a 550w LC-Power.
This system has an flaky vcore since it comes. I have realy big troubles with it, due to eratic hangs during heavy 3d gaming (e.g. Doom, CSS).
I tampered it a litle bit using the beta driver for the gf6600gt and removing the bad Nvidia lan manager.
For now i have played with that rig several hours, and it seems stable. Bu anyway sometimes it crashes (especially if it is connected to a cable modem via lan cable, not when connected to a switch using a DSL conection)

So i thought about that ost caps and recaping, but i doubt that those are that bad, as they are new....
gonzo0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 10:59 AM   #2
MD Willington
Badcaps Veteran
 
MD Willington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
City & State: WA, USA.
Posts: 702
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

My PCChips, M848 (aka ECS 748-a, L7S7A2) has the same OST in it, the board was purchased a month or so before this: http://p199.ezboard.com/fk7s5amother...cID=1654.topic

Making it around 16 months old, the OST appear okay for now, running stock with good air circulation.

I'm not holding my breath though for it holding out much longer, the onboard NIC is now dead...

MD
__________________
Ya'll think us folk from the country's real funny-like, dontcha?

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of BADCAPS.NET or any of their affiliates.
MD Willington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 11:32 AM   #3
Rainbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Slovakia
Posts: 1,080
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

I've seen OST caps on newer K7S5A versions, older have G-Luxons. OST seems better than G-Luxon - in fact, I've never had bulged OST.
Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 12:05 PM   #4
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,012
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

depends really. i have ost on some 815 boards and still ok. I can pull a few references from the forum which werent so good though.

ASUS P5GDC-V DELUXE LGA775
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...hlight=p5gdc-v
Shuttle MS50N s478
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...ighlight=ms50n
MSI MS-6741 s754
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...&highlight=ost
Matsonic MS8318E s462
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...&highlight=rlx
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 06:13 AM   #5
Neo2_000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Broome, Western Australia
Posts: 157
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

In my experience, I view OSTs as middle of the road.

They are not a premium quality cap the likes of Rubicon but they are not complete crap like chhsi or Lelons either. You will see them blow on some Mobos but not as often as complete crap caps.

If you want to play it safe, replace them. Otherwise test them with an ESR meter if you have one just to make sure they are OK to return to service.

Just recapped an AZZA 815EX the other night. 18 DS crap caps. About half 2200 x 6.3 and the rest 1000 x 10V.

Replaced the 1000s with brand new Rubicons. The 2200s were replaced with recycled Sacons (have only ever seen one bad Sacon and hold these in esteem).

Ususally would not bother on a board with that many caps (I like to pick my battles these days) but it seemed in such pristine condition apart from the obvious that I thought it worthwhile.

Booted up and runs sweet, hopefully for a long time to come.
Neo2_000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 07:47 AM   #6
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
Posts: 7,380
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

i see plenty of bad ost.
many just go open and make the mobo act possesed.
if it is stable just run it if you wish.but if it goes buggy the ost's are the prime suspect.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 10:18 AM   #7
tiresias
Badcaps Veteran
 
tiresias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
City & State: Netherlands
Posts: 486
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo0815
Hi all,
Next thing is a system build with new parts, it is an NFORCE4-A939 Board loaded with finest Ost, an MSI GF6600GT and a 550w LC-Power.
This system has an flaky vcore since it comes. I have realy big troubles with it, due to eratic hangs during heavy 3d gaming (e.g. Doom, CSS).
Prime suspect, in my opinion, would be the Deer-manufactured LC-Power PSU.

Have you checked with a multimeter after the CPU's VRM whether the Vcore really is 'flaky'? After all, motherboard voltage sensors tend to be about as reliable as Chhsi caps after they've been shot with an airgun.
tiresias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 10:27 AM   #8
yanz
Badcaps Veteran
 
yanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
City & State: Dago, Bandung, Indonesia
Posts: 833
Send a message via Yahoo to yanz
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

i have just checked my mobo (ecs k7som) and i see one bad ost. wait till i get the pics tomorrow when i can borrow a camera..

Quote:
Next thing is a system build with new parts, it is an NFORCE4-A939 Board loaded with finest Ost
well i found some ecs mobo (nforce3-a) with full of panasonic fj caps, but some others (the same series) with "TK" caps. i bet there are exist some nforce4-a boards with fj caps out there. it seems ecs cant make up its mind wether they will use good (japan) caps or taiwan caps..
yanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 02:28 PM   #9
MD Willington
Badcaps Veteran
 
MD Willington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
City & State: WA, USA.
Posts: 702
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

Quote:
i see plenty of bad ost.
many just go open and make the mobo act possesed.
if it is stable just run it if you wish.but if it goes buggy the ost's are the prime suspect.
Agree, my PCChips board is running on borrowed time.

Quote:
well i found some ecs mobo (nforce3-a) with full of panasonic fj caps, but some others (the same series) with "TK" caps. i bet there are exist some nforce4-a boards with fj caps out there. it seems ecs cant make up its mind wether they will use good (japan) caps or taiwan caps..
Were the boards part of the ECS "Extreme" series, ECS are trying to get into this segment and may have seen that adding Japanese capacitors may help them enter this arena, though bios support is castrated.
MD Willington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 04:23 AM   #10
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via ICQ to Topcat Send a message via AIM to Topcat
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

Asus P4C800 Deluxe to add to the shoddy OST list:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1640
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Owner & Forum Administrator!!

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:33 AM   #11
Pyrotech
New Member
 
Pyrotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainbow
I've seen OST caps on newer K7S5A versions, older have G-Luxons. OST seems better than G-Luxon - in fact, I've never had bulged OST.

Well I got a Shuttle SD31P here for repair, no power, was resetting and turning off irratically. Good chance a bad capacitor. It turned out all are OST and 1 OST 1000uf 10V is bulging but not leaking. There are 21 OST caps 1000uf or higher on this board. Looks like two hour job. So OST do bulge.
Pyrotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 12:09 PM   #12
seanc
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

I have two Shuttle machines with OST caps on the motherboard. One had physically failed caps, due to *all* of the caps in the power supply also having failed.

The second has network issues, the fan headers don't work. I'm suspecting they've degraded and just lost capacitance.


Antec EarthWatts 380w was dead. Removed OST caps, 1000uf 10v had lost capacitance but were visibly fine. Performed full recap, PSU is alive again.

The sad part is that the power supplies in both Shuttles (including a new one that had been sat on the shelf for years) are all full of OST caps too so will probably need a recap.
seanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 12:43 PM   #13
Pyrotech
New Member
 
Pyrotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrotech
Well I got a Shuttle SD31P here for repair, no power, was resetting and turning off irratically. Good chance a bad capacitor. It turned out all are OST and 1 OST 1000uf 10V is bulging but not leaking. There are 21 OST caps 1000uf or higher on this board. Looks like two hour job. So OST do bulge.
I removed the one bulging OST and the motherboard started working but I see some ac ripple of .4 on 12VDC supply and it drops down to 11.25VDC. Its in specs but I think I will recap it all. Critical business computer.
Pyrotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 01:30 PM   #14
kaniki
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: City of Idiots, Pennsylvania
Posts: 512
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yanz
well i found some ecs mobo (nforce3-a) with full of panasonic fj caps, but some others (the same series) with "TK" caps. i bet there are exist some nforce4-a boards with fj caps out there. it seems ecs cant make up its mind wether they will use good (japan) caps or taiwan caps..
My moms PC has an albatron motherboard. they had most GSC brand caps on that board except for 6, all the same size and just below the processor. Those 6 were all Panasonic's.. not one bad panny, but 6 bad 1000 6.3 GSC's and 3 bad 3300 10v GSC's. Same thing there.. why not just make the whole board in either GSC's or panny's?? actual, im glad they were not all GSC's. that was 6 less that i had to replace..

The funny thing is, i looked at that PC a couple months ago and nothing looked bad, and then suddenly they all went bad.. Its amazing on how fast that they can blow..
kaniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 06:49 PM   #15
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 881
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

I've had 2-4 OSTs fail on ECS mobos, a GeForce6100SM-M and Nforce6M-A, all in the voltage regulator for the memory slots. All were bulging, and the other identical OSTs all measured OK for ESR.
larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 04:09 AM   #16
felix
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: Athens, Hellas
Posts: 19
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

I got a call from a friend yesterday, his ASUS K8V Deluxe started acting weird and shows an error message at boot "System failed due to CPU over-clocking" etc.

i opened the case and saw 4 out of 6 caps of CPU VRM with bulged tops...a quick google search returned this :

Quote:
It has been discovered recently that the nine electrolytic capacitors CE18, CE19, CE20, CE21, CE22, CE25 , CE38, CE39, CE45 (see Figure1, used at power stabilization circuitry) may expand and fracture. This problem has been confirmed to result from quality control of RLZ 0333 capacitors, and proven to happen only on a small number of such capacitors which can be easily distinguished from the RLZ 0333 marking (see Figure 2) on them.

If you need further support after finding RLZ 0333 capacitors at these nine locations, or experiencing symptom as described above on K8V Deluxe motherboards, please kindly contact your place of purchase, supplier, or the nearest ASUS service centre for immediate follow-up.
After close inspection, it was confirmed that the caps are OST RLZ 6.3V 1500uF 0333 (When i get back to him i'll try to take some macro photos to show the problem.)
There are also 3 caps in the Memory VRM that are the same, but with no signs of damage.

The board is still working , but the error message appears in random time.

So, since i could not find a spec sheet for the OST RLZ, i think i'll just replace them with Rubycon MBZ's 1800uf... You think its ok ?
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 11:04 PM   #17
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,440
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

OST are pathetic (although not as bad as GSC/Sacon and Fuhjyyu). They will often go bad with no visible signs.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 4x 250GB HDD (2 in RAID 1), 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 09:52 PM   #18
rugger
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

I have a fairly young ECS AM2 board here (Geforce6100SM-M V:1.0) with OST RLZ capacitors

Dispite, being right in the CPU fans airflow, ALL OF THESE caps have gone bad on this motherboard, including the ones near the memory and empty PCI-E slots.

Definitely stay away from these caps. Very bad news indeed.

(I can post a photo sometime if anyone is interested!)
rugger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 12:29 AM   #19
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,440
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

Just thought of what OST might be an acronym for. Only Some Trash!
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 07:29 AM   #20
felix
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: Athens, Hellas
Posts: 19
Default Re: How bad are Ost caps realy?

Update :

Replaced all the OST with Rubycon MBZ 1500uF 6.3V. They run very cool compared to the OST (4/6 of OST were with bulged tops).

Random POST error messages for "CPU Overclock Failed" stopped at once, system is more stable and i'm glad the whole recapping process succeeded.
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?