Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2011, 05:57 AM   #1
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,256
Default Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

Will a Hot air rework station work to reflow a BGA chip?

I have a laptop motherboard that needs the southbridge chip reflowed. I can not deside if I should just buy a new motherboard for $50. Buy a hot air rework station for $100 and try and reflow it myself.

I cant see paying $100+ for a reball/reflow when I can get a new board for $50. And I cant see paying $50 for a reflow when I can get a new board for $50. But maybe paying $100 for the hot air rework station and fixing the board I have. Then maybe I could pay off the station doing a few more reflows?

Looking for suggestions please.
brethin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 06:04 AM   #2
Th3_uN1Qu3
On my level
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 3,780
Send a message via Yahoo to Th3_uN1Qu3
Default Re: Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

Yes, it works. Use a lot of flux and you'll be fine. In fact the only trick for a lasting reflow is that you'll need a special tip for your hot air station to make the flux go under the chip.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
A working TV? How boring!
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 07:22 AM   #3
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

Ok maybe this is a dumb question but how do i get the flux under the chip. Should I heat it untill I can remove it with the suction arm then add flux and place it back on the board? Or is there flux I can somehow get under the chip before I heat it so I dont have to move the chip and risk it being moved and not making proper contact.
brethin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 12:22 PM   #4
Th3_uN1Qu3
On my level
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 3,780
Send a message via Yahoo to Th3_uN1Qu3
Default Re: Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by brethin View Post
Ok maybe this is a dumb question but how do i get the flux under the chip.
That's the point. You can buy a special angled tip that you use to get the flux under the chip.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 02:25 PM   #5
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

Ok so I never have to move the chip just add flux around the edges and use the proper tip on the hot air gun? What type of flux should I use?
brethin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 02:57 PM   #6
Th3_uN1Qu3
On my level
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 3,780
Send a message via Yahoo to Th3_uN1Qu3
Default Re: Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

Obviously the "no clean" type because it's gonna STAY in there.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 06:43 PM   #7
Toasty
Badcaps Veteran
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
City & State: East Coast, USA
Line Voltage: 220-221
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,999
Send a message via Yahoo to Toasty
Default Re: Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

There's a seller on eBay that has liquid flux from Kester. Sells it in 1.25 ounce bottles with buy 2 get one free deal. Fast ship.

It's Kester type 951 and is crystal clear and like alcohol in its flow characteristics. The solvent flashes off and leaves the flux in place. Just tip the board and let it flow under the chip, then do the same to the next side. It should run out the adjacent side both times.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=130498007259


seller: joelouis2600

.
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 06:00 PM   #8
ecking767
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Sunny Florida
Posts: 256
Default Re: Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by brethin View Post
Will a Hot air rework station work to reflow a BGA chip?

I have a laptop motherboard that needs the southbridge chip reflowed. I can not deside if I should just buy a new motherboard for $50. Buy a hot air rework station for $100 and try and reflow it myself.

I cant see paying $100+ for a reball/reflow when I can get a new board for $50. And I cant see paying $50 for a reflow when I can get a new board for $50. But maybe paying $100 for the hot air rework station and fixing the board I have. Then maybe I could pay off the station doing a few more reflows?

Looking for suggestions please.
That depend on the size of the BGA chip. I will say no to using a Hot air station on a BGA CHIP that size. you will most likely damage the board or the BGA chip in the process. Assuming you buy a strong enough Hot air station

Last edited by ecking767; 07-15-2011 at 06:22 PM..
ecking767 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 06:11 PM   #9
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

I thought the idea behind reflow was not to remove the chip but just reflow the solder. Reballing would require removing the chip but that requires much more than a hotair rework station. The chip isnt that big and there are nozzles that are the proper size, I think its a safe bet to give it a try.
brethin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 11:13 AM   #10
Joun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Stavros,Thessaloniki
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 154
Default Re: Hot air rework station to reflow a BGA chip

Just have in mind that a hot air station might not be enough..You will need a preheater to heat the board from the bottom,so when you apply heat to the chip with the hot air station it is much easier to melt the solder(with enough solder flux of course)..
The flux Toasty linked is very low quality it probably will not do the job..The right flux for the job is in a gel like form,not liquid..
It also is much more expensive than $3 .. Just a result I found on Google: http://www.mgchemicals.com/products/8341.html
In my opinion don't try it just for one board..

Last edited by Joun; 07-27-2011 at 11:21 AM..
Joun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.