Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2010, 06:54 PM   #1
hoadle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Nebraska
Posts: 129
Default Samsung LN52A530

I had 52 inch Samsung LCD tv Model LN52A530
One day Picture shows only on half screen sometimes shows on the whole screen
maybe FHD60C4LV0.3, SAMSUNG T-CON go bad?

any one know what wrong my TV
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Samsung.jpg (5.4 KB, 106 views)
File Type: jpg P1010061.jpg (373.2 KB, 92 views)
File Type: jpg P1010062.jpg (352.0 KB, 76 views)
File Type: jpg P1010065.jpg (292.1 KB, 74 views)
File Type: jpg P1010066.jpg (386.2 KB, 72 views)
hoadle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:52 PM   #2
mbates14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 167
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

ive seen this as a trend lately. it went from a huge capacitor common failure point to t-cons being a common failure point.
mbates14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 06:35 PM   #3
hoadle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Nebraska
Posts: 129
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

what you mean huge capacitor common & location of huge capacitor common?
Thanks
hoadle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:34 PM   #4
mbates14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 167
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

huge capacitor common failure point is just a phrase i used. Basically it means the capacitor plague.
mbates14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 03:26 AM   #5
Dgtech
Junior Advisor
 
Dgtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Pittsburgh, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

Has anyone fixed this problem yet by replacing the T-con board? I will be helping someone fix a LN52A580 with similar issues. See pic below.
I have to travel to get to this person so I want a clear understanding of the direct cause before I get there. Although I hate to be a board swapper, in this case, it works best for me.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0220.jpg (403.5 KB, 61 views)
__________________
The strong-minded rise to the challenge of their goals,the weak-minded BECOME HATERS

Dgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 03:27 AM   #6
Dgtech
Junior Advisor
 
Dgtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Pittsburgh, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

Oh and yes, it does do this same thing with a signal applied.
Dgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 04:44 PM   #7
utdt06
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Cool Re: Samsung LN52A530

Bạn thay tụ hóa 5volt là ok.
utdt06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 05:49 PM   #8
Wizard
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,297
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

Hoadle, Replace T-CON.

Dgtech, iffy, try a T-CON, reason is Hoadle's is more clear-cut is it is split exact down the middle.

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:43 AM   #9
arkywolf99
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

so did you replace the tcon and did it work?
arkywolf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 03:52 AM   #10
Dgtech
Junior Advisor
 
Dgtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Pittsburgh, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

For me, the person never got back to me to fix the TV before I moved from Baltimore. I have fixed others with the same symptoms by changing TConn.
Dgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 01:49 PM   #11
arkywolf99
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

oh, well I had the exact some problem as the guy with the first post. the same side of the screen and everything. I replaced the tcon card and it was still having the same issue.
arkywolf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:27 AM   #12
curtisc306
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: SK
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

By 'reseating' the cables going into the tcon board this can sometimes fix this problem. My screen did this and reseating the cables fixed it sort of. What I was left with is a solid 6" vertical line but the rest of the tv pictue is fine. And afterwards I repaced the main board + tcon board which did not solve the 6" vertical line issue.

Last edited by curtisc306; 05-08-2012 at 11:33 AM..
curtisc306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:22 PM   #13
Azzouzze
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: NYC
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

Hi guys

I have the same issue with a samsung ln52a580p6fxza and I changed th tcon.
Be aware that if purchased before 2012 and other conditions, you are entitle to a free repair of the main board by samsung.

I will now have the repair change the main board and we ll see.

Any idea how to fix that ?
Azzouzze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:53 PM   #14
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12,858
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

Same bad image as shown on post 5.
Here is my fix:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=25371
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:58 AM   #15
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Monrovia, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,241
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

man, and I took one of these apart and dumped the screen in the garbage.
So those pads help with the temperature?
I have tried aluminum sheet metal pieces, but they didn't work, I guess the contact it wasn't perfect.
In my opinion this issue is most likely tab bonding problem and not T-con. Specially if it's not exactly at the center of the screen.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:29 AM   #16
Azzouzze
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: NYC
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

Guys,

I am still going to ask the repair guys to change the capacitor and the board ( don't remember which one is covered in the class action).
I really don't think the tcon was the problem. I changed it and still the lines are showing up.

I think ok the cable that links the tcon to the main board.

Any thought ?

Thank you
Azzouzze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:30 AM   #17
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,808
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

A bad capacitor wouldn't cause this.
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

64 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 23 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 8 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 6 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 18 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:36 PM   #18
Azzouzze
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: NYC
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

Tom66, would it be the cable that connects the tcon to the board ?
Azzouzze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:40 PM   #19
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,808
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

It's more than likely a bad LCD panel.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 01:33 PM   #20
Azzouzze
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: NYC
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: Samsung LN52A530

Tom66, after a couple of test with the cables, map, that link to the LCD, it is very likely that it is the issue of pressure on them.
Where can I found them ?

Thank you.
Azzouzze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?